We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black Bear Inn Takes Care of Their Guest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Bear Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
1 review
“Black Bear Inn Takes Care of Their Guest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Liz makes sure each guest is very well taken care of at her Inn. She takes the extra steps and always offers to assist and help in any way. Liz makes friends and not just as "customer" but as a true guest in her summer home. Thank you Ms. Liz...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WyoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Wow! Aren't you guys nice? Thanks so much, we love having you. So blessed to have your family here. You make it S'MORE fun! ;0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
17
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed only for one night during a recent road-trip. The room was clean, comfortable and charmingly decorated with teddy bears, rubber ducks and other homey touches. LOVED the towels (thick and fluffy, not your usual industrial types). The young man who checked me in was friendly and helpful, and the price was right. Would definitely stay here again.

Two small things to note - the room did not have air-conditioning, and it was very warm (high 90s/low 100s) when I was passing through. Luckily, the windows created a cross breeze and it cooled down enough for a decent night's sleep. However, if temperature is an issue, you may want to consider another motel with a/c. Also, there is Christian literature prominently featured in the room. Not an issue for me, but others may find it uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for the review Mary!
We appreciate it. Sorry about the temp. Only one motel in Dubois has A/C as we don't usually need it. Fans and windows are usually all that is needed, but we have had a couple hot days this summer, sorry you landed here on one of those. I will show my son what you said about him. :0)
Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Myself, my boys and my Mom stayed in the beginning of June 2012. I think we might have been the first customers of the season. There were a few things that we had issues with. When we told Liz, she jumped right to it to make everything fabulous. It was an incredible stay. Liz is the most wonderful hostess. Liz gave us tourist tips and made us feel like family. My boys loved her dog Temo. We loved the bonfire and smores. Where else to you go and have fresh sheets put on your bed that were hung outside in the fresh air. I just emailed Liz to let her know the wonderful time we had. Months later and we are still excited we stayed there. We are planning on going back in 2014 and The Black Bear Inn is where we will be staying. I feel like driving back there right now! Liz seems more like a friend than a motel owner. Christine H and family. Green Bay, WI GO PACK GO

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks so much Christine and Family! We look forward to seeing you next summer. LORD willing.
But I would wait 'till the summer. Fall is gorgeous in Dubois but winter...brrr! Unless you are a "snowmobiler". Hugs!
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiram, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

First off we love Wyoming!! We had a family trip with brothers, sister-in-laws and nieces and nephews. After backpacking we all stayed at the Black Bear Inn!! What a great place!! Our room was very clean and comfortable.The best part was how welcome we felt by Liz and her family. Liz kept us filled with fresh water each day because she was concerned that we may get altitude sickness since we are all from low altitude Ohio. She also shared the most amazing peaches that we enjoyed on our long drive home. The stay was just wonderful. We used it as a base camp while we visited Yellowstone and Jackson. We could have spent more time in Dubois. It was a neat town that was not too touristy and we could have spent more time fishing too. When we come back we will defiantly plan to stay at the Black Bear Inn!! Thanks Liz!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trilabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks! We loved having you. Definitely come back and fish in and around Dubois. Micah caught a big one with his bare hands in August while inner tubing down the river.(See pic on our Facebook page ;0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We enjoyed our overnight stay at the Black Bear Inn. Liz was SO warm and welcoming upon our arrival. We had a nice dinner at a local restaurant, walked around the town of Dubois a bit, and then enjoyed s'mores down by the river. What a GREAT PLACE to stop - Everything was clean and really down to earth - Liz even placed a welcome note w/all of our names (along w/a candy bar for each of the kids!) in the lap of one of the welcome bears. It was a fun experience and we'd certainly stay there again if we're ever in the neighborhood. Great "doodle" named Temo who was also part of the welcome wagon! Simply a nice place to stop.....

Room Tip: Ask about the hot water situation....we were close to the apartment and had some issues with hot wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edieungar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks so much! We loved having you! Come see us again! ;0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Liz and Micah made us feel like we were staying with family! Kids had so much fun on the river and with campfires we are booking a room for next summer! Liz gave us tubes so the kids could tube down the river. Campfire every night. Great picnic area right on the river. Short walk every where, grocery store, laundry mat, downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks so much! Was great to have you, come see us again. ;0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinedale, Wyoming, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Thank-you Liz for a wonderful stay at the Black Bear. Your hospitality was beyond compare.
If you are looking for a cozy place with a warm family feel the Black Bear is it. It is right on the Wind River and there are picinic tables and a campfire on the river where you are invited down for a good ole campfire and smores. She even invited us for a float down the river with her and shared info on places to see and things to do.
Love you Liz. Will definetely stay again when in Dubois.
Michael and Lynda McChesney

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks so much! Was fun having you, come see us again! ;0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubois hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#5 of 9 in Dubois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Trail's End
The Trail's End
#7 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
0.1 mi away
Branding Iron Inn
Branding Iron Inn
#2 of 3 in Dubois
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn

Property: Black Bear Inn
Address: 505 West Ramshorn, P.O. Box 1333, Dubois, WY 82513
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN JUNE-SEPTEMBER, the Black Bear Inn is a comfortable motel in Dubois, Wyoming, located in the heart of Wind River Country, minutes from Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, known worldwide for unsurpassed beauty and unequaled recreational opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Dubois
Dubois Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing