We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality second to none!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Bear Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hospitality second to none!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Liz and Micah made us feel like we were staying with family! Kids had so much fun on the river and with campfires we are booking a room for next summer! Liz gave us tubes so the kids could tube down the river. Campfire every night. Great picnic area right on the river. Short walk every where, grocery store, laundry mat, downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks so much! Was great to have you, come see us again. ;0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
17
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinedale, Wyoming, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Thank-you Liz for a wonderful stay at the Black Bear. Your hospitality was beyond compare.
If you are looking for a cozy place with a warm family feel the Black Bear is it. It is right on the Wind River and there are picinic tables and a campfire on the river where you are invited down for a good ole campfire and smores. She even invited us for a float down the river with her and shared info on places to see and things to do.
Love you Liz. Will definetely stay again when in Dubois.
Michael and Lynda McChesney

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks so much! Was fun having you, come see us again! ;0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is by far the most welcoming motel we've ever walked into! We were welcomed not only by Liz, but also by teddy bears on the quilt-covered beds. Liz gave us a great rate, restaurant recommendations, and a campfire with s'mores by the river.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowergirl1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at this motel because it was the only one in town with vacancy, this usually means that a motel is bad. But not in this case, the black bear in is one of the nicest old motels I have stayed at. Not only where the rooms clean, but there was no smoking, or mold. Another great thing was the free smores that the manager makes for guests upon request. there are also teddy bears in every room, and all of the rooms have microwaves and mini fridges. unfortunately there is no cable, but the office is stocked with about every movie known to man.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoove99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

My family stayed here off and on for over two weeks, and we absolutely LOVED it!! The rooms were charming and extremely clean. It's a quiet place that allowed us to all get a great nights sleep. The setting was perfect, right by the WInd River. There is an area set up by the river with grills, picnic tables, campfire set up, etc. The owner, LIz, supplied us with free S'more fixings every night. She was so helpful, friendly and good to us that we would never consider staying anywhere else when we go back. She even did my dishes for me while we were out working! While the other places to stay in Dubois are very expensive Liz offers a clean, comfortable place to stay that is quite reasonable. This place is home away from home. Great job Liz! Thank you for taking such great care of us!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

This place is disgusting. Don't recommend. Bed broken, mice feces. Gross!!

  • Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRS82401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
The Black Bear was under hired management for several years due to health issues of our parents. Dave, Liz & family have taken it back over. We have been working very diligently to update,
fix up and make staying at the Black Bear a FUN experience for everyone who crosses our threshold. This review made us very SAD as Mel and Muff our parents prided themselves on the cleanliness and terrific service they provided in the 20+ years they ran the motel. Mel stayed up till all hours and was the travel guide expert in the whole town. We miss him much as he went home to Glory in 2005.
Come visit us at the Black Bear. S'mores down by the river nightly and we have 10 rooms fixed back up and ready to rent. :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2004

Wasn't as nice as we hoped but clean. Needs LOTS of updating. Don't think I would stay there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubois hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#5 of 9 in Dubois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
0.1 mi away
Branding Iron Inn
Branding Iron Inn
#2 of 3 in Dubois
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chinook Winds Motel
Chinook Winds Motel
#8 of 9 in Dubois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn

Property: Black Bear Inn
Address: 505 West Ramshorn, P.O. Box 1333, Dubois, WY 82513
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN JUNE-SEPTEMBER, the Black Bear Inn is a comfortable motel in Dubois, Wyoming, located in the heart of Wind River Country, minutes from Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, known worldwide for unsurpassed beauty and unequaled recreational opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Dubois
Dubois Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing