We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowmobile Vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubois
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crooked Creek Guest Ranch
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Dubois
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Three buddies and I stayed at Crooked Creek for a sled vaca. It's in a good location. Can go north or what's better is, go south on the sleds since the people from Lava Mtn and Togawotee are on the north end. Less traffic that way. The cabins don't have televisions, which stinks. But the food was very good in the restuarant/bar. The mechanics were very helpful there when we needed them. The staff was super awesome. We very much enjoyned Davina Trujillo, who cooked there and was super friendly. Leah and Kate were awesome as well. I'd NOT recommend going down to the Line Shack, which is next door to Crooked Creek. We ate there one night and the service and food were bad. Heading into town is a little drive, but nice if you need a few things.

Room Tip: I'd suggest not getting the 'hotel' rooms. very small, but you get what you pay for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 50 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Crooked Creek for 8 nights. For snowmobilers, location is good. Fuel, lodging, food all right there. We stayed in a two story cabin. There were 5 of us. Two couples and a single guy. The first floor was a small living room with a couch, few chairs and a very small fridge and even smaller microwave. There was also a coffee pot, which we didn't use. The bathroom and one bedroom (queen bed)was downstairs as well. Both were typical sized. Upstairs were 2 bedrooms with queen beds. Beds were pretty comfortable, which was nice after a hard day of riding. Our toilet leaked all week. We had somebody out twice to try to fix it. The housekeeping was awful!! There was a sign on the bathroom door that said towels would be changed out every other day. Reasonable. Except when you toss your used towels on the floor, to find nobody came for service! All week, we had to continually ask for toilet paper, new towels and for trash to be removed from our cabin. The cabin had a nice deck out front where a garbage can sat, but the dogs at Crooked Creek would help themselves to the trash.
The bar/restaurant was ok. Food seemed a bit high in price for the quality and quantity. But, without many options around, it was fine.
Overall, our stay was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Looking4Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our crew spent three days and four nights at the Crooked Creek Guest Ranch, and I must say it was a grand experience! The people were friendly, courteous, and best of all down to earth.
The food was excellent, breakfast lunch and dinner all great quality fair prices and generous portions. My sir loin steak was top notch by the way!
The snowmobile rentals were very reasonably priced and the units were in great shape. The staff helped us find the good powder each day, what a blast we had!
Our lodging was very appropriate, rustic log cabins with all the creature comforts you would ever need. The beds were even cozy!
The views are serial, very refreshing waking up to such a grand mountain view.
My favorite part of the stay even above and beyond the great powder and excellent accommodations, was the staff. It's nice when you can set and visit with the owners just like you have been neighbors for years. The wait staff was always willing to visit and make you feel rite at home.
I will be returning to Crooked Creek in the future for more great mountain riding and maybe even some summer excursions. Defiantly my kind of place and my kind of people!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIFARMBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I were married at Crooked Creek in March of 1999. It was one of the most wonderful lodge experiences ever. It has gone way downhill.

We stayed there this weekend as a get-away, just for fun. We were very disappointed. What was once a beautiful great-room lodge where you could kick back and relax in front of a gorgeous fire is now a big, smoky bar. Yuck. The food used to be 5 star. Now it was passable, but nothing to write home about. The atmosphere was loud and drunk, not kicked back and casual like it once was.

So we went to our cabin. First thing we found was the headboard of the bed wasn't attached...not to the wall, not to the bed, nothing. It was just sandwiched between the wall and the bed, free-floating in space. The water was very sulfurous (not much they can do about that, I suppose.) The towels were extremely thin, almost thread bare. Worst of all, when we left the next day to go explore the winter fun, we came back to a cabin that had not been touched: bed not made, towels not replaced, nothing. For $125/night, NOT including meals, that was the final straw.

What was once the best lodging experience we'd ever had has slid downhill to be a lodge we will likely never stay at again. While the new owners and staff were friendly, the quality just isn't there. Very disappointing, given that Union Pass doesn't have many options to choose from.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

While on a 2 week trip covering Montana and Wyoming we had reservations at Crooked Creek for a couple of nights. We love to stay off the beaten path, and, from the looks of their internet site this totally fit the bill. We love hiking, photography, the outdoors...this place should be perfect! Off the beaten path...yes. Cabin? Disappointing, very disappointing. The cabin was no more than a VERY small room with a bed. Period. No chairs, no nothing. There was nowhere to walk with our luggage on the floor. At least there was a bathroom. We had a front porch with a view of the meadow...no chairs to sit in, though. We tried to get something larger (for an additional $75/night) but ultimately we decided to leave. We felt like this couldn't have been the place we were so excited about; we felt misled. Once we got home I emailed Crooked Creek with these same complaints but never got a response. Even a partial refund would have been nice, not to mention a response to my email. I know there are policies regarding refunds but there should also be something one can do when the property misrepresents itself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jakesaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Went for dinner Saturday. We had some of the best Prime Rib we have had in a long time. We have a cabin very close by and enjoy being able to have a nice dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank scm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

What an awesome place to stay for snowmobiling! We just returned to Michigan. The New Yorkers beat me to the review-glad you made it home safely, too.

Everyone there was so friendly and accommodating, especially Nick and Leah. The moose and mule deer were everywhere, including right outside our cabin door!

Rented sleds that were very well cared for. All rates were very fair. Breakfasts and dinners were plentiful and varied.

I can't say enough. Only about 50 guests there this week, but they came from all across the country. If your wanting to sled Wyoming, don't miss the Crooked Creek Guest Ranch.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skidooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubois hotels
8.7 mi away
Lava Mountain Lodge
Lava Mountain Lodge
#11 of 13 in Dubois
42 reviews
10.1 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#2 of 9 in Dubois
437 reviews
10 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#5 of 9 in Dubois
188 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
9.8 mi away
Branding Iron Inn
Branding Iron Inn
#2 of 3 in Dubois
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Creek Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Creek Guest Ranch

Address: 76 Fir Rd, Dubois, WY 82513-9702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Dubois
Price Range: $75 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Crooked Creek Guest Ranch Hotel Dubois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing