We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Western Vintage Charm”
Review of The Trail's End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Trail's End
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
Reviewed August 23, 2013

For the money, has to be the best place to stay in Dubois---after relaxing on the outside decks overlooking the Wind River, we retreated to our spotlessly clean room with beautiful knotty pine walls and tasteful western decor. Beds/linens were comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. We enjoyed chatting with the owners ---The Trail's End reflects their extreme pride of ownership.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail95658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 138 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here one night on our trip from Yellowstone to Casper, I had called 4 different places and they had the best price. We were very pleased with our stay the couple that owns it was very helpful to us for everything we ask for. They were very friendly too. The lady even got bug spray for us when we were sitting on deck and she was very busy running around cleaning things.The room was very clean(spotless) had a Rustic look and the bathroom was very clean also had a microwave, frig and dish tv. It sits on the Wind River and has 2 decks in back along river, we sat out on the deck in the evening, very peaceful. We were traveling for 21 days and this is the best and cleanest motel we stayed at. I would recommend anyone needing a place to stay in Dubois to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalcin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent 2 weeks there for work, the rooms had everything you needed microwave, refrigerator, and were spotless. The staff there makes every effort to make your stay a memorable one, if you need something or just need a question answered, just go to the front desk and they will take care of it for you! .Great place to stay

Room Tip: If you can, get one of the rooms on the Wind river! Great patio area overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmad110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spent one night on a quick trip through Dubois. We arrived early and a special effort was made to get our room cleaned ASAP so we could check in. We stayed in a King room overlooking the Wind River. Yes the rooms are small (or as mentioned in an earlier review, "intimate"), but if you are looking for a relaxing and spotless place to sleep, then this is the place. The bathroom was also small, but more than adequate with a very tall shower head (no tub). There was a flat-screen TV and DISH Satellite. We saw no need for AC as we slept with the windows open with the overnight temps dropping to the low 40's. There are two large decks with a lot of wood furniture at the back of the property overlooking the river. Extremely peaceful and relaxing. Scott and Tammy Bushnell do an excellent job with this property and make you feel right at home. Tammy seemed to be working non-stop during our stay from running the office, to helping clean rooms, to watering the beautiful flowers, to hosing down the parking lot. You can tell they take a lot of pride in their property. Dubois is a pleasant little western town to visit. Several traditional western cafes for eating, quaint little shops to visit while strolling the downtown are on wooden plank-log walkways, nice little 9-hole golf course with two sets of tees to get in a legit 18 holes (a bit pricey though, $50.00 with cart for 18). To top it off there is a giant Jackalope for a phot op at the Conoco station. If staying in Dubois, I recommend the Trails End Motel as your place to stay and relax!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parforthecourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A couple of things keep me from giving this a better review. This was a nice place on the Wind River. Our room was very tiny but also very clean and had everything you might need. However, there was no AC and it was a hot day. We did ask for a fan and was given one with no problem. The other drawback was getting coffee in the morning. The gentleman who checked us in was all "business" giving us the don't do this or that spiel, not really pleasant. He did say a continental breakfast would be served in the office. When we went to get something the next morning a sign said the office would not open until 8 am. Huh? We ended up leaving not too impressed with the customer service aspect of our stay. So if you want clean and updated, this was OK but lacked that friendly touch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alaska0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Yes, the rooms are small...let's call them intimate instead. Clean, reasonable and service that can't be beat. The hand stitched quilt on the bed was the clincher. The decks overlook the river, which is beautiful. Quit and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Trails End is one of several small properties in this town of "971" (might I add, "and no stop lights"). The past 2 trips to Dubois, I've used the TE for a simple, overnight stay. We had a 2B/1BTH unit (#12/14) located right up next to the Wind River. Comfortable. Cozy. Western feel. We were greeted promptly at the front desk by the lady who oversees the property and all information needed, was given. The TE now has satellite TV (although, all channels are not turned on).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubois hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#5 of 9 in Dubois
190 reviews
0 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#4 of 9 in Dubois
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#2 of 9 in Dubois
440 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
1.1 mi away
Chinook Winds Motel
Chinook Winds Motel
#8 of 9 in Dubois
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trail's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trail's End

Address: 511 W. Ramshorn, Dubois, WY 82513
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
Price Range: $155 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Trail's End 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Trail's End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trails End Dubois
Trails End Hotel Dubois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing