We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation in Cowboy Country!”
Review of The Trail's End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Trail's End
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great accommodation in Cowboy Country!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here last month, mainly on the recommendation of other Tripadvisor users, and were not disappointed. Scott and Tammy are the kindest and friendliest hosts, and went out of their way to find us the best unit for our needs at a very reasonable rate. (We were a party of three and they found us a suite with two rooms sharing a bathroom). The motel is conveniently situated within easy, level walking distance of the town centre, and, although presenting a characterful "pioneering" appearance, offers very comfortable accommodation.

Dubois is, in any case, a great place to stop over, about a day's drive southeast of Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, and all the people we met made us feel very welcome. We attended the weekly summertime rodeo, which was great fun, and delayed our departure to visit the local dog show, "Strut your Mutt", where we were invited to judge two classes! If looking for food, try the Cowboy Cafe in the town centre (but be prepared for a wait at busy times - it's extremely popular)!

Altogether a truly hospitable town and accommodation - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end by the river offer the most interesting views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    33
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
33
59
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I can't say enough about Tammy Bushnell, one of the owners of the The Trail's End! She made our stay in Dubios! The facilities are clean and rustic, and the deck over looking the river is killer. This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Loved it here and would definitely stay again. We had the room in the back right corner, their best :) The room, including the bathroom, was very clean. I really liked how they layer sheet, blanket, sheet on the comfy beds. The deck out back was very inviting and the scenery made you want to stay outside. The owners thought of everything from tiny mending kits, to menus for various restaurants in town. Thank you Tammy and Scott for a comfortable overnight stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Traveling To Yellowstone? Spend the night here before entering either Yellowstone or Grand Tetons National Park...Relax from the long drive and enjoy the Wind River Region. Comfortable beds, clean rooms great old cowboy town. The family that has owned this quiet place have been in the business of caring for weary travelers a long time! I came here 5 years ago also to go on a horse packing trip in the Wind River Region and had the time of my life! Highly recommend this place to you travelers out there - uniquely enjoyable and right on the river!

Room Tip: Rooms on the river are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Dubois is a great area for the outdoorsman and Trail's End is a nice, clean, quiet, motel on the river. The room was spotless and it had a fridge. Our room had a door that was right on the deck overlooking the river. I don't know what else you could ask for.

Room Tip: Room 9 is the room we stayed in. 2 queen beds and a door on the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Very clean room! For the price, they can't be beat. My husband first noticed this lodging on our way into Grand Teton National Par; it's hard to miss the bright neon display. After four days of camping, we made our way back out of Wyoming and decided to stop here. The owner, Scott, is a considerate, polite man who, if you're willing, will entertain you with story after story about hunts he has been on. The decor throughout the hotel is outdoors-inspired. Unfortunately, we arrived too late to enjoy the outdoor patio by the river, but we were able to check our emails on high-speed internet, and there was coffee and breakfast bars in the lobby for our early check out. If you are on the road coming in or out of the Teton/Yellowstone area, my husband and I highly recommend this locally-owned business!

Room Tip: Arrive earlier in the evening or reserve a room in advance to acquire a king-sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our room was clean although dark. It's only window faced a cinder block wall. The beds were too firm.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubois hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
0.0 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#4 of 9 in Dubois
69 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#6 of 9 in Dubois
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Dubois
374 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
1.1 mi away
Chinook Winds Motel
Chinook Winds Motel
#8 of 9 in Dubois
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trail's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trail's End

Property: The Trail's End
Address: 511 W. Ramshorn, Dubois, WY 82513
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Trail's End 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Trail's End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trails End Dubois
Trails End Hotel Dubois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing