We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highlight”
Review of Branding Iron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Branding Iron Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Dubois B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My daughter and I traveled two lane from Indy to Portland in a weeks time, this was the highlight overnight stay of the week.rooms were clean and spacious, had free wifi, fridge and pet friendly.Really cute cabins, clean rooms big toels. I would recomend this place to everyone. Best price of all overnight stays we had.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Kent,
Thank you for your kind words! We are so glad your stay was enjoyable. We have a new motto, "5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price," and the Branding Iron Inn is under new ownership, since your stay. We hope that new improvements will make your next stay even more enjoyable, the next time you come to stay with us! The new owner takes a special interest in our guests, and will look forward to having you visit again. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 61 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

pretty cool parking your snowmobile in front of your motel room. nice, clean rooms. plenty of heat. large breakfast area w/decent free breakfast each morning, including eggs, biscuits/gravy, fruit, cereal, danish, coffee, juices.

easy access to numerous trails. will stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Thanks for coming! Snowmobile season is just around the corner... Come back and stay with us again soon!
Kim, Manager
Branding Iron Inn
"Home of 5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Cute little log rooms. People running the place are very nice. Dog friendly (no pet charge!) and absolutely make one feel like pets are welcome. If you want really "upscale" lodging, there are plenty of options in Jackson. But this place is cute, clean, friendly, inexpensive and nice. Fridges in rooms, coffee pot and free ice across the road. Free wi-fi. Guest will be asked to be quiet after ~9:30 (common area is somewhat confined and noise travels right to the rooms). Wyoming folks tend to go to bed early, so that is just polite (I much appreciate it, personally). If a crowd is noisy, you will definitely hear them. In response to another guest's comments, I highly doubt anywhere in Dubios has air conditioning (?) - it is Wyoming mountain country after all. If you are lucky enough to be there on hot days, open the windows and door in the cool evening. The cabin-like room will cool very quickly. Bathrooms are not fancy, but clean, nice towels, and blasting water pressure. One true complaint is the beds are really very uncomfortable in some rooms. The rooms with two queens are much larger and more comfy than the smaller rooms with one bed.

We live in Wyoming and have been to Dubois multiple times. People have been extremely friendly. There are several restaurants with good food and fantastic fishing.

Room Tip: Room 10 is very nice. Room 40 has an uncomfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FroggyGoneFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The new owner has been improving the cabins since your post, and we think the problem with the bed in cabin 40 has been corrected. Come back and stay with us again soon!
Kim
Manager, Branding Iron Inn
"Home of 5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Nice motel clean and accepts pets. Would recommed this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelers201168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind words! We are especially fond of our guests who choose to bring their horses, dogs, or who are "road weary." Come stay with us again soon... so you can experience our "5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price"... We will try to make you feel right at home. Responded 10/14/2014.
Kim,
Manager, Branding Iron Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

My husband and I needed a place to stay after he started to feel unwell. We didn't want to continue our travels that evening after stopping in Dubois, WY to fill up. Problem was we were traveling with our 85lb German Shepard. After the gas station attendent recommended the Branding Iron for a "pet friendly" place to stay, we went there and were very pleasantly surprised! When we walked in, I noticed a cute little poem about dogs and staying at their inn, which ended with "If your dog will vouch for you, you are welcome to stay" :-)
Although an older place, the room was large and comfortable, and EXTREMELY clean. It had everything we needed (refridgerator, microwave, coffee pot, tv, free wireless). Price was great, too.
While checking in, I also discovered they offer free corrals for those traveling with their horses, which is always welcome in the horse world.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

So glad we were able to take care of your needs when you were "road weary" and not feeling well. You, your dogs... and horses, if you have them are welcome, anytime! Your horses may even get an apple or carrot from us... and your dog will get a scratch behind the ears! Come back and see us again soon! (Responded 10/14/2014)
Kim
Manager
Branding Iron Inn, Dubois, WY
"Home of 5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stopped in Dubois on our way through to Yellowstone. The rooms were not good. The carpet was at least from the mid 60's and did not go all the way to the walls. Under the carpet were asbestos tiles, some of which were missing. This was exposed only because the carpet didn't go all the way to the walls. The shower was disgusting and can only be described by looking at photos which I will post soon. We did not learn until we returned to the room after a long day in the heat and mountains that the room did not have AC. While the other commenter was correct that it cools down at night, we didn't notice a cool down in our room until at least 1:00 am due to the highly insulated log walls. It was HOT HOT HOT in our room to the point that our family was taking turns in our car to sit in the AC. We are from Nebraska, accustomed to 100 degree days, so we are not temperature wimps. We ate dinner at a local restaurant which was disgusting, and the people in town were so incredibly rude. Don't just avoid this motel, avoid the entire town! It was the worst destination we have ever stopped on a road trip. For a guys trip of hunting and fishing it may be different, but definately not for your average middle class family looking to enjoy nature and the environment. Wifi did not work.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayco1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

I am so very sorry that you had an unpleasant stay. We have been under new ownership in recent months, and promise to do our best to make sure that all our guests feel comfortable, in clean, safe, accommodating cabins that meet, and even exceed all their expectations. The new owner has worked very hard to make necessary cabin improvements, and if you will choose to stay with us again, we will treat you to the new owner's policy of "5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price" in one of our cabins... with new decor and improvements. Please come back, stay with us since the new owner has made improvements, and we think you will love it! (Posted 10/14/2014)
Kim
Manager
The Branding Iron Inn, Dubois, WY
"Home of 5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This is a great surprise! Individual cabins that are up-to-date, clean and spacious. The bathroom (a bugaboo with me) is very nice and comfortable. Staff has been very accomodating so far (I check out in the morning). No AC BUT don't need it. This is over 6500ft. above sea level and evenings are quite cool. Only comments are could use hair dryers in rooms. Recommend to anyone passing this way.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paull2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post positive comments! We will do our best to make your next stay just as enjoyable as the first! Ask for a hairdryer at the front desk... we have some to loan out now, since we are under new ownership. (Posted 10/14/2014)
Kim
Manager,
Branding Iron Inn
"Home of 5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubois hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#5 of 9 in Dubois
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#2 of 9 in Dubois
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#4 of 9 in Dubois
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trail's End
The Trail's End
#7 of 9 in Dubois
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Branding Iron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branding Iron Inn

Address: 401 W Ramshorn, Dubois, WY 82513
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dubois
Price Range: $55 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Branding Iron Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Branding Iron Inn is a Dubois Wyoming original and providing travelers a comfortable place to stay ever since! Hand built in 1945. The walls are actual logs, and not a fake front! We have refrigerators, microwaves, WiFi,and satellite in every room! We even have indoor plumbing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Branding Iron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing