We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supreme quality - absolutely divine!”
Review of Paya Deli - CLOSED

Paya Deli
Price range: $7 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Since 2007 we have made a commitment to provide quality food, a relaxed open friendly atmosphere, and an honest effort to be the best that we can be. We pride ourselves on the use of fresh ingredients with all of our products, including pizza's and sandwiches. We concentrate on being aware of special dietary needs, including gluten intolerance, lactose and casein sensitivity, vegetarian and vegan needs. We believe in being as green as is we can, and use disposables that are green in nature, from our cups to take out containers and bags. We enjoy our work and the people who come in. Paya's is more than a restaurant or deli, we want it to be a place where you can spend time with friends and family, where you might spend a couple hours working on paper work, or reading a book. Surf the internet or read a newspaper of magazine. Borrow a copy of Cooks illustrated or just be.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Supreme quality - absolutely divine!”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The food was so delicious and the beer so cold. Lots of selection and top quality ingredients cooked to perfection. I don't know if I've ever had a pizza this yummy. I ate it at the serene outdoor picnic tables. The reason for 4 stars vs 5 - the owner/chef can be slightly crabby at times, but when you're this good, maybe you can afford to be. Don't miss this spot.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCnNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    2
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful pizza and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We ate at Paya's during a recent (july 2011) trip to Dubois. We loved the place . The pizza and salad was exceptional. The owner brought us our food and he seemed quite nice.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glm38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, CO
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Something Truly Lucious for Everyone at Payas!”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This cafe/deli with relaxed atmosphere has something for everyone. The wood oven
fired pizzas are wonderfully unique and made with fresh ingredients. The help yourself
salad bar (priced by weight) is the best around. Deli sandwiches are delectable. And
when the Steam Table entree is available at Lunch (e.g., fresh chicken pot pie, beef
stroganoff, pork chow mein, real mac and cheese w/or w/out sausage to name a few
recent offerings) it is the bargain of the day. The homemade desserts (e.g., cheesecake
w/raspberry sauce, rich chocolate cake, lemon squares, pistachio chocolate chip cookies) are awesome! Because this place is often busy, guests can help smooth the
stand-in-line ordering process by grabbing a laminated menu and making decisions
before announcing selections. When things are really busy, smile and say "Greetings,
Chefs" to Patrick, Barbara, or Kim but DON'T try to start an extended conversation!
I've spent nearly a thousand dollars here (combined) the past three summers and its
worth every penny! Visit Payas and delight (Closed Mondays/Tuesdays).

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza in Wyoming!”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Driving from Jackson to Lander, we always make a point to stop at Paya Deli! The pizza is unique and features a delicious, rich crust you would expect at an upscale bakery rather than a pizzeria in Wyoming. Patrick does a great job of taking care of his guests. The salad bar is a great value too! If only they would move to Lander ;-)

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_from_Lander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubois, WY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else...”
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Truthfully, the owner is so full of himself it'll make you sick to your stomach, eat their pizza - yum, yum. Hope like hell the owner doesn't talk to you, it's quite the interesting contrast. Most locals stay away from here - because of Patrick's past history of telling people 'oh, you're not worth cooking for', 'I just cleaned the grill and you want me to cook for you'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Okietransplant69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing