We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Labonte

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Labonte
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Douglas
Egypt
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dirty!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I know that this is a historic hotel & is currently undergoing rennovations, but this doesn't compensate for how dirty it is. The carpets in the corriders are full of stains & there is a bad smell everywhere. The room itself is large as well as the bathroom, but there are stains on the bed sheets, cover, carpet & towels (basically everywhere) this in addition to moulds in both the sink & the shower.
I can't comment on the restaurant and the bar as I only spent one night & was very eager to get out of this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mobz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is an old historic hotel but it has not been renovated. If you like to stay in a hotel were maybe Buffalo Bill stayed then this is you place. If not then seek accommodations elsewhere. On the plus side it has a pretty good restaurant as far as the food and the service goes.

Room Tip: There are not any "good" rooms that I could determine. Historic value only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobCatTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Still the quaint, turn of the century hotel. Lots of renovations and improvements made since our last trip through WY almost 2 years ago. Bar/lounge still has the western motif and had great live music - country western singer/guitar player the night we were there...a very relaxing evening spent in the lounge. The event room was a work in progress and is now in use with doors that open out to a courtyard patio. It was too cold when we stayed but I'd love to use it sometime. The restaurant has opened and they serve delicious food with generous servings and reasonable prices - a wonderful addition to the hotel. This is a fun place to visit that isn't 'just like every other hotel'.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 316tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Hotel is being nicely updated but it is a work in progress. Rooms have an old-fashioned charm. Staff is very accomodating to young children. We often stay in places with a pool (higher price tag too), and the kids didn't even miss it here-they were too busy exploring the hotel asking questions about the place which staff took time to answer. Shower is awesome and the linens clean and fresh. It's not modern, but we give it a thumbs up if you're looking for something that goes beyond a common "cookie cutter" hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester nh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

i did cable for a few months in douglas an i can say that the stay at the labonte was great,clean rooms,the staff was great to all of us cable guys. i confess it was 13 or 14 years ago but i cant wait to go back. id move there if i had a chance to.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldrydah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canossa, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

Reading and trusting other member reviews and getting to Douglas late in the evening moving from Denver to Gillette, I quickly chose this hotel to stay for just one night. I think the right word to define the hotel and the room we had is: decaying. As it seems it is very old and they've never done any renewing works on it.
The price is really cheap but didn't worth the stay. Fleble lightbulbs gives to the room an even worst look than in the morning light, dirty room, I even found a 5 cents coin in the corner of the forniture and they weren't mine!! Last but not least, yellow stains on the bed sheet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMOK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

The bar service is friendly. The rooms are clean, bright and very comfortable while reminding you that you are in a hotel nearly 100 years old.

The restaurant had recently re-opened. The tomato bisque soup and home-made pie were fantastic. Portions are generous.

Need more places to hang out reading or visting in the beautiful old lobby and courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danceswtihbeages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Douglas
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
First Interstate Inn
First Interstate Inn
#6 of 10 in Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Labonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Labonte

Property: Hotel Labonte
Address: 206 E. Walnut Street, Douglas, WY 82633
Location: United States > Wyoming > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Labonte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel LaBonte is located in downtown Douglas. Listed on the National Historic Register, we offer a bit of Wyoming history along with a comfortable stay. Our accommodations consist of double queen rooms, single queen rooms & one bedroom suites with full kitchens; offered at reasonable rates. Under new ownership as of Fall of 2014, the remodeled building is both clean & charming. We are working constantly to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible. The LB Bar is on the ground floor & is open daily. The Yard, an extension of LB Bar has pool, darts & arcade games & offers family friendly hours. The entire building is non-smoking. The Restaurant is being renovated & planned to open in the fall of 2015. We'll meetcha at the LaBonte! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Labonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing