We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and affordable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
First Interstate Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Douglas
Newcastle, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and affordable!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed here for about 2 months, and loved it. Not only where the rooms clean but they where very affordable to. They have nice new flat screen HD tvs, mini fridge and microwaves in the room. Staff was very friendly, and helpful if I had questions or concerns. Which it seems like you don't get that very often any more. Also I really liked the fact that the motel was located just right off the interstate, and across the street from a truck stop that serves good food! All in all I was very pleased with my stay here and plan on coming back time and time again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stayoverguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
7
7
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lovell, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It has been bitterly cold the last two times we have stayed at this motel! We have walked into a room that is already warm and oh, my, what a treat that is! The beds, covers and pillows are out of this world..TV could be a bit better but no biggie for we seldom have time to watch much of it and they only can get what is available at a decent price.
We have stayed at this motel for about 14 years when in the area and need a place..shampoo leaves the hair just beautiful and the soap is good for the skin. We had a fridge that kept things cool and nice and a microwave but the latter did not work for whatever reason.

I do believe that they could do a better job on the bathtub...just would take a little elbows grease and some Lemon Soft Scrub to do it up beautifully, wipe out the window ledge. They could sanitize the whole place, such nice, large rooms, just by using white vinegar and water to shine up the chrome and take away the build up of the water; then do the mirrors, they would clean up so much faster and this procedure SANITIZES as it goes...must leave 20 minutes in the commode however...but overall, we will keep going back...fair prices to and caring people always!!!!

Room Tip: There is o fitness center nor pool, but if weather is agreeable, there is a nice hike available just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Shelly who manages the 1st Interstate is very accommodating and a pleasure to deal with The rooms are clean and everything works. I have stayed here several times, as long as I am working in this area I will continue to stay here

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roundup, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were traveling from Texas to Montana. Our stay in Douglas was terrible. All motels were sold out except for this one. So, we paid way too much for an unfit room. All we can say is that the linens and towels were clean. Everything else was either broken or dirty. We even felt bad letting the dog sleep on the carpet. There was only 1 working lamp out of three - the other 2 were broken. There was a tile missing on the bathroom floor. The toilet ran off and on. The fridge had ice build-up, so what was in it got frozen. We are motel managers, and try to give the little non-chain motels a chance. Drive on 50 more miles to Sheridan. Pay a little more to get a better room that is not across the street from a truck stop. Might explain the condom in the parking lot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njmgrneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Scottsbluff, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had the pleasure to spend several nights at this motel. Shelly and her staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and beds were comfy. I'm glad that I stayed and will definitely stay again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank non_haff_blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have stayed at this motel several times, and because of my last experience I will never stay here again. I chose this location because it is so much cheaper than the other hotels, besides it is the only hotel that has rooms available. (that right there should be a sign that it is far under par as far as conditions) I had gotten to know several members of the staff since this was my home at least 7 days a month. After my last visit I witnessed something that no guest should ever have to see. After seeing a very severe altercation between manager and another employee I was not only upset that it had happened but disgusted that the manager (Shelley I believe her name is) was proud about getting in such a bad fight with one of her employees.
The place is far from clean, needs lots of work, and obviously needs a new manager.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeanWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

As a high school graduation gift for my 17 year old son, we were planning a hunting trip
near Douglas, Wyoming. Not knowing the area, we began researching and came across the First Interstate Inn. After reading some reviews, we decided to contact the Inn and spoke with Shelly. We requested a non-smoking room and found it to be so. What a treat to get to know Shelly. I'm sure she sees all kinds and she immediately made us feel welcome. All we really needed was a place to sleep. However, a good sleep has become more important to me over the years. The beds were very comfortable... more so than many "chain" hotels I've stayed in over the years. The pillows were thick and comfortable, the water was nice and hot, Even when we told Shelly we were going to pick up some plastic bags to put our dirty hunting clothes in, we came back a little later and found several large plastic bags on the bed for our use. We had a great time, Thanks Shelly!

Room Tip: If you tell Shelly what you are trying to accomplish, she will help you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Labonte
Hotel Labonte
#4 of 9 in Douglas
35 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Douglas
101 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Douglas
Show Prices

Been to First Interstate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Interstate Inn

Property: First Interstate Inn
Address: 2349 E Richards St, Douglas, WY 82633-8920
Location: United States > Wyoming > Douglas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — First Interstate Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your First Interstate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing