We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not worth the stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Winds Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Winds Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Douglas
vlaanderen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not worth the stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

we reserved a room here because we read some good reviews about the place. i don't understand?! it is certainly overpriced. the room is fairly clean, but very outdated and absolutely not nicely decorated. i think the walls are made out of paper aswell. we were glad it was just for one night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reismeisjevlaanderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
10
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at the Four Winds on the first night of our move to Texas. The place is privately owned and operated by a family that lives on premises. There was plenty of room for the Uhaul and trailer along the side of the hotel. The rooms are all a bit different from each other. Not a lot of frills but comfortable. We stayed in the room next to the office and could hear the TV in the family's living room. No big deal since they didn't stay up too late. They took care of all requests and were very friendly. If you want luxury, you will be disappointed. If you want a good, clean, comfortable room at a great price that may be a little dated, then you can stay here and be happy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I reserved a night at the 4 Winds Motel based on the good reviews here on TripAdvisor. It is a well kept, clean motel. Nothing fancy but for the rate I paid this is what I expected. My son and I had driven 10+ hours from south central Minnesota and needed a place to sleep as we worked our way to the Grand Tetons. Wi-fi was good. Refrigerator and microwave in the room was nice to have.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MouseChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Maybe my attitude made the hospitality less alluring to me when I showed up. The strange man stumbling in the parking lot who "lived here" was worrisome. No one was rude, but I did seem to change the pattern of something that was going on outside.??

The rooms are big, decor is old, plug ins are odd. TV small. Price is great.

My wife threatened to sleep on top of me, so she would not have to sleep on the bed. I was fine, and so was she. The beds were clean, room clean. Kids slept like rocks.

The place was full, and I did not hear a single noise from the other travelers. We left in the morning prior to the oil field workers, so they had a nightcap the night before, and offered us beverages. Great people staying there, just a bad taste in the mouth as to the safety and cleanliness.

My wife would not stay there ever again, threatened to make me go get another room at the Holiday Inn Express. If the need arises, and I am in the area, I know this place will be perfect, minus my family. OR maybe just the wife?

The worrying thing is the bathroom on the wall over the sink, and in the shower had H and C over them, on the sides traditionally associated with hot and cold. Maybe it is a strange requirement in this town, or state, but was the least appealing thing to my wife. could have been helpful to idiots?

No frills, no fuss, clean beds, Window Unit AC, motor inn decor, nice shower head. small TV, but I was there to sleep and keep traveling.

Room Tip: any room, probably the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NursCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ont.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We went to Douglas to be with our camping friends, we dont have a trailer anymore so look for a Motel. This met all our expectations. Fridge, Microwave, coffee maker and very comfortable beds. Ice cubes available in the office and very friendly owners. The price was also reasonable. We also liked being able to drive up to our room, we are seniors, so dont want to have to climb stairs. The ice cream shop across the road has so many different flavors, had to try a few. Dont hesitate to stop at this Motel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrammaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
272 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Last week my car blew her engine outside of Douglas. The entire town was over-run with oil field workers and the Motel 8 had one room for 80+ dollars. The tow truck drive made a call and found me a room at The Four Winds for less than half that price.

The owners are friendly and helpful. My phone charger was still in my car, so the owner lent me one for my stay. I will admit the decor and style screams 1950, but for the price the room was clean, the water was abundant and hot, the AC blew ice cold, and the wireless internet worked great and was free. Each room was occupied and yet it was quiet and peaceful. I didn't even hear the tv through the walls from the next room.

The only downside is it was a mile walk to a selection of diners. The distance wasn't a problem, but the lack of sidewalks or crosswalks was a drag. Also, the sign with a steaming cup of hot coffee and the words " The Gathering Place" about a block away is not (as one would think) a coffee shop. It's a church.

If I ever am broken down in Douglas again I would stay at the Four Winds.

Room Tip: Ask nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piercedlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Four Winds based on the number one rating on Trip Advisor. It is fall back to the 1950s or so. It has comfortable beds, very clean, nice size room and refrigerator and a microwave. You feel very safe when you stay there. It is not a fancy hotel, but a place where Grandma and Grandpa would have felt comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funseeker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Douglas
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Labonte
Hotel Labonte
#4 of 10 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Douglas
1.9 mi away
First Interstate Inn
First Interstate Inn
#6 of 10 in Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Winds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Winds Motel

Property: Four Winds Motel
Address: 615 East Richards Street, Douglas, WY 82633
Location: United States > Wyoming > Douglas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing