We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Douglas
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed December 4, 2009

The staff was very friendly and helpful! The room was large and very clean, you can tell their
housekeeping staff takes
pride in their work. While I usually don't travel with my dog, I found this Holiday Inn Express to be VERY pet friendly. They welcome your pet as part of your family and DO NOT charge any extra fees for the pet. I was able to see the front desk clerk in action
with another guest's
dog - the dog knew there was going to be a treat involved with his journey through the looby. I love to find people who love their pets as much as I love mine!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiggyPie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
23
3
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2009

Desk cleark was not willing to give us direction to any restaurant in the town but asking us to order a pizza. After so many attempts she gave direction to one hotel but not clear. Later another staff member told me desk cleark gets a free pizza if ten customer orders a pizza.
An old lady working in breakfast area was very cheap and mean. Seeing "non-white" person next to my table with two plates of breakfast, she told him, "Do you find enough food in this room"? "Do you want to eat more food"? That was a nasty comment. If she has a problem guest eating too much breakfast then she should send her complaint to Holiday Inn express company. Hope this old lady learn quickly to keep her mouth shut other wise she may get into trouble.
Overall I do not recommend to stay in this hotel and sour your trip experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamIllinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braehead26, owner/Manager at Holiday Inn Express Douglas, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
you for your review. As owners of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Douglas, WY it is important for us to be aware of negative experiences our guests might have had at our hotel. We are not aware of any programs where we can earn a free pizza after ordering 10. We have asked our entire front desk staff about this and no one seems to be aware of a program like this, either. Due to the limited dining options in town, her suggestion may have been the best for at the time you were seeking a place to eat. Our breakfast bar staff are trained to make sure that the breakfast bar is well stocked. We want to ensure that our guests find enough to eat. Holiday Inn Express breakfast bar employees are trained to ask this question to be helpful to our guests. The breakfast bar host was simply trying follow protocol. We have a diverse staff at our property and racism is strictly not tolerated. We have never received a complaint of this kind and want to assure you, we do not accept prejudice behaviors in our workplace. We are sorry that you didn't have a more than satisfactory experience and we hope to make it up to you should you stay with us again. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Plus bedding, large rooms, mini fridge, microwave, free breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub. Friendly staff made check-in/out easy and quick. The new look to the Holiday Inn Express chain is very nice--dark woods, extra pillows, large showers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingonabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

This is a good HIE with large, clean, comfortable rooms. It is in good condition with the exception of the carpet in the elevator, which needs to be replaced. The breakfast was good and the attendant kept everything well stocked and made everyone feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed at the HIX in Douglas this past weekend (3 rooms/3 nights). One of the rooms was a king/kid suite which was reserved and paid in advance in January 2009. On the day of arrival, my sister and her husband were given their keys, but the room was not the room they had reserved and paid for. When they approached the desk agent they were told that there was no manager on duty for the entire weekend and that their room type had been changed just that morning and given away to another guest. The desk agent was very nice and a bit embarrased by this and even called the AGM, Veronica, on the phone. Veronica told her she wouldn't be there until Monday and there was nothing she could do. When the agent told Veronica that the room change was done under her code, she insisted that she had not done it and wouldn't be there to do anything until Monday. The desk agent also asked about the room rate that my sister had prepaid for the suite, and once again Veronica said she would do nothing until Monday (the day we were checking out and driving back to Denver to catch our flight out). The next morning, I spoke with another desk agent (Trish) about the situation. I asked Trish if they were sold out that weekend, and she told me no. I then asked Trish if she would call her GM, which she declined to do, but said she would call her AGM. I asked if perhaps it mightn't be best to offer a 2nd standard room, at no charge, to compensate for the mix-up with the rooms. She agreed to ask her AGM, who said that she would not do that. This situation was handled very poorly. Douglas is a small town and they have a captive audience, but that is no reason for poor guest service. The AGM was incompetant, inconsiderate and very short-sighted, as she had no idea whether or not we might have reason to return to Wyoming in the future (we do). Will we stay at the HIX in Douglas again? Unlikely. Will we talk about this experience? Very likely. Our other two rooms were fine, the rest of the staff were very nice, efficient, polite, with the sole exception being the manager who was inhospitable and would not even come out to speak with my brother-in-law on the morning of our departure, didn't even offer an apology or recompense and frankly I don't think she would have refunded the difference in the room rate if we had not kept insisting. So my brother-in-law and my sister had an uncomfortable weekend sleeping in the same room with their adult son. I was especially dismayed when I read the hospitality promise in the room and realized that this Holiday Inn Express does not honor their promise. A sincere apology and explanation, along with perhaps a complimentary night or the use of another room so that they could all be comfortable during our combined 9 room night stay would have gone a long way to fix this at the time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zabetvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braehead26, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Douglas, responded to this review, May 28, 2009
Thank you for your review. As the owners of the Holiday Inn Express in Duglas we constantly aim to offer impeccable customer service. As you can see from our prior reviews that our guests are generally pleased with their stay at our hotel. However, in order to ensure our staff is keeping up to our standards it is important to us to hear complaints like yours. We assure you that our entire team is aware of your experience and that another guest doesn't leave displeased. We are deeply sorry for the actions by the staff members you mentioned in your review and would like to discuss the situation directly with you in order to learn more about your experience. Our goal is to rectify the situation with you and with hopes that you will change your feelings about our property. Please call our hotel and ask to speak with the GM. We look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
The staff at Holiday Inn Express Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2008

After having stayed at quite a few HIXs this is one of the better ones. Clean and quiet. Great staff and above average breakfast bar.
Hotel is becoming a little worn but the staff more than makes up for a few rough edges.
I spent two months there in August and October and it couldn't have been more pleasant.

  • Liked — The staff and the Breakfast Bar. Brenda I miss you!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wolley_segap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

We stopped at Douglas for a night en route from Denver CO to Custer State Park SD. We had pre-booked, as we knew we would be getting there in the early evening and didn't want to spend time in looking for a place to stay. We're glad we picked the Holiday Inn Express, as the room was comfortable with all of the amenities we'd expect (fridge, ironing board/iron, etc.). Even though they were building a new road outside the hotel, we heard little in the way of noise. The hotel has an indoor pool of a reasonable standard. The breakfast was better than we'd been expecting, with some hot dishes, pancakes, etc.

The only 'down side' is that the hotel is situated a little way from any decent restaurants - we'd recommend Clementine's Cattle Company, even though it is at the other end of town.

  • Liked — Value for money and above average comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grumEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Douglas
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Labonte
Hotel Labonte
#4 of 9 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
First Interstate Inn
First Interstate Inn
#6 of 9 in Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Douglas

Property: Holiday Inn Express Douglas
Address: 900 W Yellowstone Hwy, Douglas, WY 82633-2367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Douglas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Douglas, Wyoming is located just one half mile off Interstate 25 at exit 140. One of the newest hotels close to the heart of downtown Douglas, sitting along the bank of the North Platte River with a beautiful scenic walking path and a pristine view of Laramie Peak. We are located directly across from the Army National Guard Armory. Also within walking distance are the Wyoming State Fair Park, Wyoming Pioneer Museum, and the Douglas Railroad Interpretive Center. Memorial Hospital of Converse County, Douglas Water Park located within Washington Park, and the Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy are a short distance away. Douglas is off the I- 25 corridor between Casper and Cheyenne, Ayres Natural Bridge, and Glendo Reservoir and along with many of the Mines and Railroad are all just a short drive away.This hotel will help you to relax in your own elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including microwave, refrigerator, HSIA, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. We can help maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our spa. Catch up on work in our business center. We even have the right space for your professional meeting. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast, and an elevator for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Douglas Hotel Douglas
Holiday Inn Douglas
Douglas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing