We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Douglas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Douglas
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Levi did a good job handling my reservations and rates. Very happy with the service and the quality of the hotel. The hotel has been renovated which makes it a nice place to stay. The Breakfast is excellent. If you need a good hotel this is it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell34550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braehead26, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Russell34550,

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and hotel. We have to agree that we have the best breakfast around! Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again in the future at the Holiday Inn Express Douglas Wyoming!

Paula Fenton
GM
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Douglas, WY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Early in January, I made reservations for April 8-9. At the end of March, I made reservations for May 8-9. Travel plans changed and at the beginning of April, I called to cancel the May 8-9 stay using the confirmation number I was given.
On April 8 my five traveling companions and I arrived to find that the reservation for our 3 rooms had been cancelled, but we still had a reservation for May 8-9. Since the hotel was full that night, we had no place to stay. The clerk did call other hotels and motels in Douglas to find one with rooms, but that did not make up for the inconvenience or for the fact that the place we ended up staying didn't have breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braehead26, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Jan T,
I apologize for the wrong reservations being cancelled and understand your frustration about having to locate another hotel to stay for the evening. I’m sorry our staff didn’t extend our breakfast to you and your colleagues for the following morning. I ask you to contact me directly at 307-358-4500 if you would like to discuss this matter further. Again I am truly sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced.
Paula Fenton
GM
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Douglas Wyoming

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Nice place to stay. Used this as a stop off point on my way from SD to Salt Lake City. Nice,big and clean rooms, Very convinient bike parking out front. Good advice from the front desk about places to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bikerrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

It was a nice place to stay at. The person working that nite was helpful for sure. Only thing I don't like is I don't get breakfast when I get up. It won't happen tell 6:30 am. I have to leave at 4:30am. Best part to do is get breakfast before you go. Oooo well I guess

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braehead26, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Eddie114,
Thank you for sharing about your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Douglas Wyoming. We love hearing your feedback in regards to your stay. We don't want to ever send you on way way without something to eat - on your next stay with us just stop by the Front Desk and our staff will get you a breakfast snack from our pantry. Hope to see you again soon!
Paula Fenton
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Douglas, WY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Used this as a stop off point between Denver and Rapid City (Mount Rushmore). Check-in was quick and efficient. Rooms were we large (we booked a suite). Used IHG points for the first time because this was a monthly special and was only 5,000 points. The rooms were clean. It was new. Parking was plentiful. It is right next to the Sleep Inn, similarly new it seems, as this whole area seems to be the typical new builds off the interstate developement - generic Americana, if it weren't for the Platte River park next door. You can walk/run down by the river for a long distance. If you're a runner of just enjoy the outdoors this is a great location. The "downtown" area is more of a drive (too far to walk). The HVAC was through-the-wall, so not altogether quiet, but OK, and did the job.

Front desk was helpful in recommending a couple of places for dinner, we chose the Depot, with a train line out back and al fresco dining out front. It was OK.
Free breakfast at the hotel was just OK. The pancake machine was a first and added an interesting twist to the typical free hotel breakfast.

I think this or the Sleep Inn are your choices in Douglas

Room Tip: I'd imagine the rooms at the rear of the hotel might be a bit quieter, however our room facing t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Good Things--For a small town in a fairly remote area, we were surprised. This hotel is terrific for the average traveler. The hotel is fairly new, and the rooms are large and very clean, with a refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was fine. We would definitely recommend this hotel from a quality standpoint.

The Bad Things--it's expensive. From the Colorado border to Douglas, there is really no good place stay--the area is sparsely populated. And so, the hotels in Douglas know they have a "captive audience." Hotel prices are inordinately high and unreasonable. We stayed in comparable hotel rooms in more populated areas during our trip and paid 40 percent less than what we paid in Douglas. But, unless one wants to drive 40 more miles to Casper (which was out of our way to go to Mount Rushmore) or about 90 minutes more into Nebraska, one pays through the nose.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustaHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This property is being repaired. It isn't a major disruptive remodeling, but there are some inconveniences.

The staff is excellent...very attentive and responsive.

The room was clean and large enough.

Hot breakfast items were fresh.

The price is out of line for the quality of the property. The same person owns this hotel and the Sleep Inn across the parking lot. Rates are very different.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear wwsharp,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am happy to know you found our staff to be excellent and the breakfast served lived up to standards. However, I'd like to apologize that the ambiance of the property inconvenienced you. We are excited to show you what we have done and I sincerely hope the next time you are in the area you give us another chance of hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Douglas
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Douglas
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Labonte
Hotel Labonte
#4 of 9 in Douglas
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
First Interstate Inn
First Interstate Inn
#7 of 9 in Douglas
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Douglas
Super 8 Douglas
#5 of 9 in Douglas
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Douglas

Address: 900 W Yellowstone Hwy, Douglas, WY 82633-2367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: $117 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Douglas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Douglas, Wyoming is located just one half mile off Interstate 25 at exit 140. One of the newest hotels close to the heart of downtown Douglas, sitting along the bank of the North Platte River with a beautiful scenic walking path and a pristine view of Laramie Peak. We are located directly across from the Army National Guard Armory. Also within walking distance are the Wyoming State Fair Park, Wyoming Pioneer Museum, and the Douglas Railroad Interpretive Center. Memorial Hospital of Converse County, Douglas Water Park located within Washington Park, and the Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy are a short distance away. Douglas is off the I- 25 corridor between Casper and Cheyenne, Ayres Natural Bridge, and Glendo Reservoir and along with many of the Mines and Railroad are all just a short drive away.This hotel will help you to relax in your own elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including microwave, refrigerator, HSIA, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. We can help maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our spa. Catch up on work in our business center. We even have the right space for your professional meeting. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast, and an elevator for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Douglas Hotel Douglas
Holiday Inn Douglas
Douglas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing