We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other choices may be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Douglas
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This property is being repaired. It isn't a major disruptive remodeling, but there are some inconveniences.

The staff is excellent...very attentive and responsive.

The room was clean and large enough.

Hot breakfast items were fresh.

The price is out of line for the quality of the property. The same person owns this hotel and the Sleep Inn across the parking lot. Rates are very different.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear wwsharp,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am happy to know you found our staff to be excellent and the breakfast served lived up to standards. However, I'd like to apologize that the ambiance of the property inconvenienced you. We are excited to show you what we have done and I sincerely hope the next time you are in the area you give us another chance of hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stop in Douglas, Wyoming, while staying at the Holiday Inn Express. Ian was working the front desk and was very helpful with an outstanding referral for dinner. The indoor pool is very nice and the room was spotless. The complimentary breakfast had everything that the average traveler would need to include eggs, sausage, cereals, and pancakes. We have found a great stopover spot as we travel between Colorado and Montana.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place looks fairly new and the rooms and rates were okay. It wasn't too busy so there were plenty of choices available. Staff seemed a bit distracted and maybe not overly professional but they got the job done. We had a nice overnight and the free breakfast was probably the best on our trip. The pancake machine (first time I ever used one of these) was cool and made some mighty tasty cakes! Not much to do around this town but we were just passing through anyhow

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our rooms were great, and for the most part the staff was wonderful. We had to stay there for tournament playing. Our teams stayed there as well. Loved that we were able to do the laundry for our teams on site. The days staff was very courteous and understanding. However, the evening desk clerk was not as friendly. While we understand we are not the only customers staying in the facility, there should be some patience and understanding when you have a group of kids this size staying in one motel, and they decide to hit the pool. The desk clerk was very irritated that there was noise in the pool area. She stated there were long term guests directly across from the pool and we would disturb them. I dont think the wisest choice is to put long term guests who need rest directly across from a pool. There is going to be a noise issue . After I spoke with one of the long term guests and apologized for our noise, he told me that he did not complain and he thought it was not bad at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sengel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This was a great place to stop wih my kids and dog. It had a great breakfast, running trail, and a beautiful view. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. The trail along the Platte River was a great way for us to stretch our legs and exercise our dog.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I recently passed through Douglas and stayed at the Holiday Inn. For the most part it was a great: My room was fantastic, the breakfast staff was amazing and during the day the staff members in the lobby were great. However everything seemed to change once night fell. I came back to the hotel rather late and tried calling down to the front desk for a wake up call. After not receiving an answer, I headed down to the front desk and figured I'd wait for the night clerk. Much to my surprise and chagrin the gentleman (Nick if his name plaque has any value) was sleeping on the couch in the lobby. In much frustration I stormed back to my room. Morning came and I expected things to go back to the same good flow as before. Again I was let down as the same clerk who I had found sleeping in the lobby the night before was letting off a mouth that would even put a sailors mother to shame. I can see why they put him as a night clerk due to his lack of respect and responsibility, however he is still a representation of the Holiday Inn and even though the majority of the stay was great, He ruined what had seemed to be a promising trip. Sadly I can not say I will be staying at this Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braehead26, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Randy S.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and the compliments you gave us. We are terribly sorry that any part of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Douglas was unsatisfactory. Training our staff to provide the upmost quality of customer service is a top priority. For our management team, It is extremely helpful when patrons of our hotel any issues to us in person or with a review. Without your feedback, we might have not been aware of this issue with our night front desk clerk. Again, we want to apologize that you had to be a patron subject to unacceptable staff behavior. Due to your review we have taken actions to seriously reprimand the employee on duty the night of your stay. Additionally, we have notified all of our clerks of this instance and ensured that we have a no tolerance towards the type of behavior you experienced.

We ask that you please contact our management to discuss your issue, so we can ensure that we address it appropriately. Please call us at 307.358.4500 to discuss.

Best Regards,

Holiday Inn Express Douglas Management Team=

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 with 3 adults and 2 kids. The "Kid Suite" is a great option. The main bedroom has a king bed, reading chair/ottoman, and 2 desks plus microwave and mini-fridge. Then there is a second bedroom with two twin beds, specifically decorated for kids. We added a roll-away bed to the room for the 3rd adult. Being able to have lights on in the parents' bedroom after the kids go to bed is such a treat!!!! The upgrade price to go from a normal room to the Kid Suite wasn't much ($30?) - way cheaper than adding a second room.

The swimming pool was an excellent temperature - warm enough to spend time playing in it without freezing.

The Yellowstone River is right out the door of this hotel - kids spent hours playing in and near the river - digging in the sandbar, wading, skipping rocks, etc. There's also a playground a block away.

In general, I was shocked at the room prices all over Douglas, but the Kid Suite made it very comfortable to fit all 5 of us in a single room.

Room Tip: I believe there are only two kid suites.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoPeltier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Douglas
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Douglas
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Labonte
Hotel Labonte
#4 of 9 in Douglas
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
First Interstate Inn
First Interstate Inn
#7 of 9 in Douglas
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Douglas
Super 8 Douglas
#5 of 9 in Douglas
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Douglas

Address: 900 W Yellowstone Hwy, Douglas, WY 82633-2367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: $117 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Douglas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Douglas, Wyoming is located just one half mile off Interstate 25 at exit 140. One of the newest hotels close to the heart of downtown Douglas, sitting along the bank of the North Platte River with a beautiful scenic walking path and a pristine view of Laramie Peak. We are located directly across from the Army National Guard Armory. Also within walking distance are the Wyoming State Fair Park, Wyoming Pioneer Museum, and the Douglas Railroad Interpretive Center. Memorial Hospital of Converse County, Douglas Water Park located within Washington Park, and the Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy are a short distance away. Douglas is off the I- 25 corridor between Casper and Cheyenne, Ayres Natural Bridge, and Glendo Reservoir and along with many of the Mines and Railroad are all just a short drive away.This hotel will help you to relax in your own elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including microwave, refrigerator, HSIA, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. We can help maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our spa. Catch up on work in our business center. We even have the right space for your professional meeting. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast, and an elevator for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Douglas Hotel Douglas
Holiday Inn Douglas
Douglas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing