We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping on the Job.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Douglas
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sleeping on the Job.”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I recently passed through Douglas and stayed at the Holiday Inn. For the most part it was a great: My room was fantastic, the breakfast staff was amazing and during the day the staff members in the lobby were great. However everything seemed to change once night fell. I came back to the hotel rather late and tried calling down to the front desk for a wake up call. After not receiving an answer, I headed down to the front desk and figured I'd wait for the night clerk. Much to my surprise and chagrin the gentleman (Nick if his name plaque has any value) was sleeping on the couch in the lobby. In much frustration I stormed back to my room. Morning came and I expected things to go back to the same good flow as before. Again I was let down as the same clerk who I had found sleeping in the lobby the night before was letting off a mouth that would even put a sailors mother to shame. I can see why they put him as a night clerk due to his lack of respect and responsibility, however he is still a representation of the Holiday Inn and even though the majority of the stay was great, He ruined what had seemed to be a promising trip. Sadly I can not say I will be staying at this Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braehead26, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Douglas, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Randy S.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and the compliments you gave us. We are terribly sorry that any part of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Douglas was unsatisfactory. Training our staff to provide the upmost quality of customer service is a top priority. For our management team, It is extremely helpful when patrons of our hotel any issues to us in person or with a review. Without your feedback, we might have not been aware of this issue with our night front desk clerk. Again, we want to apologize that you had to be a patron subject to unacceptable staff behavior. Due to your review we have taken actions to seriously reprimand the employee on duty the night of your stay. Additionally, we have notified all of our clerks of this instance and ensured that we have a no tolerance towards the type of behavior you experienced.

We ask that you please contact our management to discuss your issue, so we can ensure that we address it appropriately. Please call us at 307.358.4500 to discuss.

Best Regards,

Holiday Inn Express Douglas Management Team=
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    31
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
24
3
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 with 3 adults and 2 kids. The "Kid Suite" is a great option. The main bedroom has a king bed, reading chair/ottoman, and 2 desks plus microwave and mini-fridge. Then there is a second bedroom with two twin beds, specifically decorated for kids. We added a roll-away bed to the room for the 3rd adult. Being able to have lights on in the parents' bedroom after the kids go to bed is such a treat!!!! The upgrade price to go from a normal room to the Kid Suite wasn't much ($30?) - way cheaper than adding a second room.

The swimming pool was an excellent temperature - warm enough to spend time playing in it without freezing.

The Yellowstone River is right out the door of this hotel - kids spent hours playing in and near the river - digging in the sandbar, wading, skipping rocks, etc. There's also a playground a block away.

In general, I was shocked at the room prices all over Douglas, but the Kid Suite made it very comfortable to fit all 5 of us in a single room.

Room Tip: I believe there are only two kid suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoPeltier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel is very clean, above average for Wyoming. What makes this place a great place to stay? The employees are awesome! I have treated me like family. They are good people who would do anything to make you feel at home. They go out of their way to help you anyway they can.
I have left things in my room that really would have cost me financially. They have mailed and/or held my personal items at the front desk.

If you want a safe and clean place to stay, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: For the best internet connectivity try to get in the middle of hotel. Pleasure only? The suite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I travel for work...ALOT! But it was great to find a hotel that I would be comfortable in; especially In Wyoming. (I'm from Texas @ 50ft. MSL) Everyone on staff was so courteous and welcoming; especially the front desk team!!! Last last room I had was upgraded with a new and much more comfortable mattress. They have a great listing of cable channels available. The ONLY issue I had was the computer and printer in the business center; it needs just a tad bit updating. There is a nice indoor pool and fairly decent gym. There is a local grocery store and Safeway in town if you prefer to buy groceries intsead of fast food. Overall I had a wonderful stay in the state of Wyoming (when it didn't snow) as well as the Holiday Inn Express. I highly recommend for your stay in Douglas!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a couch for more room. Also, rooms that face south offer views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Clean rooms typical of most Holiday Inns. If you stay on the side close to the main road it is quite noisy from the vehicles on the road. If you are sensitive to noise get a room away from the road. The price seemed high even with a corporate rate probably due to oilfield workers filling up the rooms. If it were not for noise I'd rate it higher.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Upon arrival they had our reservation quick and ready for check in. The rooms are nice, and the price is fair with discount. Good sized and quiet room, but the bed and pillow comfort level could be improved upon. Breakfast was above average for this type of motel. I would recommend to others if you qualify for a discount, and would stay again in the future. I feel the regular price for a room is too high, and would look elsewhere if not for the discount I received.

Room Tip: A room at either end is quiet. Ask to qualify for a discount, as regular price is a little steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N7JHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Co
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed overnight on our way back from visiting family. The hotel is new and clean. Our room was very spacious w/king bed and desk plus sofabed with coffee table and square dinette-type table. It had a TV, small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, wet bar and just enough outlets to plug in our electronics. Free internet access. The room was quiet, no noise from outside or other rooms. When we checked in at 9pm, the ac had been running and the temp was down to 65 degrees, a little cool for us. Self-serve breakfast buffet included hot entree (omelet, bacon), cereals, rolls & muffins, toast, fruit, yogurt, juices and coffee. Staff was friendly and cordial and gave excellent recommendation for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Douglas
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Douglas
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Labonte
Hotel Labonte
#4 of 9 in Douglas
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
First Interstate Inn
First Interstate Inn
#6 of 9 in Douglas
38 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Douglas

Property: Holiday Inn Express Douglas
Address: 900 W Yellowstone Hwy, Douglas, WY 82633-2367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Douglas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Douglas, Wyoming is located just one half mile off Interstate 25 at exit 140. One of the newest hotels close to the heart of downtown Douglas, sitting along the bank of the North Platte River with a beautiful scenic walking path and a pristine view of Laramie Peak. We are located directly across from the Army National Guard Armory. Also within walking distance are the Wyoming State Fair Park, Wyoming Pioneer Museum, and the Douglas Railroad Interpretive Center. Memorial Hospital of Converse County, Douglas Water Park located within Washington Park, and the Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy are a short distance away. Douglas is off the I- 25 corridor between Casper and Cheyenne, Ayres Natural Bridge, and Glendo Reservoir and along with many of the Mines and Railroad are all just a short drive away.This hotel will help you to relax in your own elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including microwave, refrigerator, HSIA, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. We can help maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our spa. Catch up on work in our business center. We even have the right space for your professional meeting. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast, and an elevator for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Douglas Hotel Douglas
Holiday Inn Douglas
Douglas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing