We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small town - excellent options”

The Depot Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Small town - excellent options”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Depot was very begrudgingly "recommended" by someone in town when asked where a good lunch might be found (since the best place in town was closed that day). The recommendation went something like "It's not to bad" - which really didn't inspire confidence!! Based on that - we were very surprised, the place was quite good. We were just looking for burgers, your typical American lunch and got excellent, hand formed burgers which had great flavor and were a nice size. The restaurant is in the retired railroad depot, which (disappointingly) has been renovated to the point of no longer being recognizable as such. However, it was very clean and the service was exceptional small town America friendly!! Passing through Douglas, Wyoming - this is a great place to get away from the fast food chains. Ohhh - by the way - we came back again three days later - and it was totally consistent with our first experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peachtree287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    68
    23
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Service and food great!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Made to order food with friendly and helpful wait staff. Restaurant was clean and had good natural light with large windows. They have two outdoor patios in order to serve more people during good weather and busy times. The food portions were generous and very tasty! Great menu chooses and variety. I am gluten free and found several things to choose from. They were knowledgable about their ingredients and that means a lot to a person with food allergies. The restaurant sits along the railroad tracks.....this the name. The back patio has a high wall to protect the patrons from the sounds and wind of the occasional passing train. Very authentic feel! I enjoyed a well priced and tasty ribeye and my hubby loved the grilled chicken burger with maple glazed sweet potato fries.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyndilulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food bad service...”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Love the salad bar lots of choices, but service is lacking... Would like it if waitress would be helpful instead of of just plopping down food and never coming back to check up on us. This wasn't the first time with this one waitress....

Helpful?
Thank wskigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“worth looking for”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We read other reviews of the Depot on Tripadvisor and and decided to give it a try on our way back home from a trip. The place is really cute and unique and appears to be very well maintained. They weren't playing the usual awful country music you get in rural WY restaurants, so that was nice plus too. We wanted something quick and light to eat and we settled on the salad and soup bar. We were really happy with it! There is not a lot of variety but what is there is high quality and freshly prepared. They have a big selection of bottled and on tap beer as well, including many microbrewery selections form Wyoming. Everything coming out of the kitchen to other tables looked good and the wait staff was super friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back with more of an appetite! This fun little place is a nice surprise in Douglas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goatpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assiniboia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not bad for a small town”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stopped for lunch and chose the 'soup and salad bar'. The salad selection was very good but the loaded baked potato soup was soooo salty I couldn't eat it. I told the hostess (another waitress??) at the cash register but she just said it was her favourite and she didn't think it was salty. What can one do? I would have given a higher rating except for the soup and the snippy hostess. Some of the other orders looked quite good but who knows about the salt!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfwanfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Depot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Depot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing