We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What the USA is all about, beautiful country and friendly people”
Review of Bear Lodge Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Lodge Resort
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed at Bear Lodge for 3 days but visited, dined and enjoyed their other two lodges; Elk View Inn and Arrowhead. Everyone was so nice it made for a fun trip of good food, good night life and day beauty . We, for the first time in our lives (we are 68 & 70), rode the lodges ATVs (brand new ones) and saw the magicical beauty of the Big Horn National forest. It made our trip covering 25 states these past two months well worth it. We were very pleased with our room and the decor in the lodges and found the restaurant service and quality of food excellant. We, as I stated, traveled 10,810 miles and visited 25 states. Our goal is to return to this Lodge as soon as time permits. Anyone not enjoying the stay at this mountain location was looking for the wrong things in life.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiefwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Bear Lodge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2010

We had a great week at the Bear Lodge Resort; but in this perfectly situated resort in the pristine WY high country, they cater to the noisiest clientele. Expect consistent noise from ATV's and motorcycles. The duplex we rented was a good news/bad news story-one side nicely furnished, adequately equipped and functional; the other unit had folding chairs, mold under the sink. Minor issues with appliances. Half the staff friendly and helpful, the other half must have hated their jobs. But, even with all that, we'd stay there again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MakiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

A run down resort in the beautiful Big Horn Mountains. If you are looking for any sort of friendliness or effeciency this is not the place! We were not greeted by the desk clerk then treated rudely. The bartenders chat with other guests and never once looked our way. The restraunt unfortunately was no better. This resort was affiliated with the other 2 resorts in this part of the mountains. We visited each of them and to our dismay received the same attitude. A highly disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovessnow_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

I have stayed at the Bear Lodge Resort five times in the past four years and every time it becomes more and more enjoyable. It is a rare combination of rustic charm and modern comforts in the high mountains of Wyoming.

My last trip (early November 2009) I found the room clean, the mattress firm, the food excellent, the drinks strong and the hot tub, well, hot. Best of all the staff knows me now and seeing them is like visiting family (with out the drama of relatives).

If you are a snowsports fanatic then the nine month long snow season can't be beat for this location.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noahpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

This was a great hotel for accessing the Beartooth mountains. We only stopped off for the one night but will definitely be returning to the Beartooths for a full holiday. We stayed in the rooms next to the bar and restaurant which were well equipped,a good size and had a good view. The restaurant meal was excellent, with the chef coming out to check how we liked our steaks cooked. A great atmospehere, with fellow guests chatting,being friendly, and giving ideas where to visit. If you want to be up in the mountains this is the place to be. Would love to come back in mid summer for the wild flowers.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlowerHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This resort is rustic, located in a beautiful area, and is a great place to travel from for fishing, scenic outlooks, and relaxing on the deck overlooking mountain meadows. Rooms are sparse, but ample, clean, and all fixtures worked well. Food and drinks very good, service relaxed and friendly. This is a place to go to unwind and relax, not for seeking to be entertained by "night life". No cell phone service, but resort wide WiFi available.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We were looking for something different and we found a great place in the Bighorn Mountains. If you like to ride ATV's in the wilderness, take one along, or a snowmobile in the winter. The staff is great. Pat makes the best bloody mary, and Big Mike the best omelet. I can't remember the chef's name, but if you like soup, he makes all his own from scratch--from pumpkin-apple to tomato basil. Hang around the lodge for a day and unwind. We stayed in the motel portion, with large clean comfortable rooms. There are also rustic cabins set back in the woods. This is a great place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wizardofid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bear Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Lodge Resort

Address: US14A At Burgess Junction, PO Box 159, Dayton, WY 82836
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Dayton
Price Range: $82 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Dayton
Bear Lodge Resort Wyoming/Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing