We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent snowmobiling”
Review of Bear Lodge Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Lodge Resort
Minneso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent snowmobiling”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Arrowhead lodge. The service that we received from Arrowhead and Bear lodge was excellent. The food was great. The employees were awesome. Going back again I next year. This is the place to stay if your going snowmobiling in the Big Horns. All the trails are outside the door of your room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    20
    19
    27
See reviews for
33
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shell, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Bear Lodge Christmas Eve. Very friendly staff and wonderful food. The rooms weren't bran new but clean. Enjoyed a few good drinks in the lounge and went for a swim/hot tub before bed. Even saw 3 moose on the way up. I would recommend this lodge for a nice getaway from all the people.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

loved the old cabin feel of the lodge. the stuffed animals were incredible. The rooms where clean and comfortable. Bar tenders very friendly. food was average but good service. Nice to walk out back in the woods and enjoy the deer grazing in the fields. Would recommend this place if you want to be away from everything. Nothing else close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We checked in and were assigned our room. Not at all what we expected out of a lodge. The door locks did not work, the Tv did not work, and it was just the pits. We went to the front desk and requested another room which they gave us. It to was not in any better shape than the first room, although the Tv did work. If you wanted any ESPN channels you had to go to the bar. Of course that was done by design so you would be compelled to spend money their. I am not sure this establishment even deserves a terrible rating. It should be burned down with the fire department before it burns down by accident and people loose their lives.

Room Tip: Don't stop. Keep driving east or west regardless of the time of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Monte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dayton hotels

Surprise
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Every thing was perfect at Bear Lodge Resort from the time of making the reservation made 2/14/13 for two nights 8/16/13 and 8/17/13 to checkout on 8/18/13. We were checked in very nicely by John the clerk on duty. We stayed in 17A condo which was very nice. It was very clean. It has all the amenities we needed. They all appeared new and they all worked. It was very spacious. We were four fly fishermen there to fish the Tongue River for three days. There was plenty of room for all our stuff and fishing gear. The beds were comfortable and we got good nights of sleep. The location was nice and quiet. As for food everything was fine. The menu selection was very adequate for all meals. The prices were very reasonable. The food preparation was super. It was fast, served hot, and very tasty. We had two breakfasts, two dinners, one lunch, and two lunches to go with us fishing and we have no complaints. The service by the waitresses was very friendly and courteous. We asked for separate checks. We were told very nicely that they couldn't but that their system was set up to keep each order separate on one slip and the checkout clerk could break it down to separate credit cards and it did work out very nicely. Sam ( a female) waited on us a number of times and did a great job. Big Mike came to our table at each breakfast to tell us about his breakfast buffet, see how we were doing, and added some humor to the morning. Check out went smoothly. At check out we had lunch and lodging to pay. We wanted to split the bill four ways and put on separate credit cards and they were able to do it easily and willingly. The $10.00 deposit for keys was returned in cash very quickly. The four of us would stay here again without question. John Karsten

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We rented a cabin for two nights. The cabin itself was OK, beat up in spots. Full-size bed and bunks for the kids. There were table and chairs to eat from. We were told to use the bathroom behind the bar, which was a short walk from the cabin. The bathrooms/shower were fine. We cooked our own food at the cabin and was told to use another bathroom, near the hotel rooms, to clean our dishes. Bear Lodge itself needs work and cleaned up.There were piles of junk from old appliances, gas grills, gasoline pumps, vehicles and other pieces of equipment all over. We saw a pile of rock/gravel which I think is used to fill in the ruts and potholes in the complex. I remember a much nicer place many years prior. Our cabin had an occassional aroma of sewer, which was being worked on while we were there. We could watch the work from our cabin. The laundry room smelled like a cat litter box, not what you want while cleaning clothes. The washer/dryer are old. Indoor pool was fine. The surroundings are beautiful as it is close to fishing, hunting, and ATV trails. We had a piece of pie at the restaurant one evening. The pie is excellent. The staff was friendly, polite, helpful and genuine. Lots of people were there. I think Bear Lodge is a "guy's" place. What I mean is guys show up to fish/hunt/ride trails all day, then come back to eat, drink and talk. I think its demographic doesn't really care about appearance. They just want a place to escape. I did not see the hotel rooms but was told they were booked both nights. Bear Lodge and nearby Arrowhead are owned by the same people. I called Arrowhead in advance to make a reservation, but when we showed up at Arrowhead we were told our cabin was at Bear Lodge. That was not explained to me over the phone. The man at Arrowhead was polite explaining the set up. I guess if you call either one, they save a spot for you somewhere. We did drive through Arrowhead and it looked in better condition.

Room Tip: Don't expect much, but you should not have to pay much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnSWIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The service in the restaurant was not good on our trip. The room was ok. There are no places to hang your towels in the bathroom or to set anything down. Could use some maintenance. They also need to have more than one place to pay for things. We were there to ride atv's and we had to get permits at the same counter as where you check into your rooms and where people at the restaurant paid. SO very congested

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bear Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Lodge Resort

Property: Bear Lodge Resort
Address: US14A at Burgess Junction, PO Box 159, Dayton, WY 82836
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Dayton
Bear Lodge Resort Wyoming/Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing