We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“POOR SERVICE, UNDERSTAFFED AND RUDE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elk View Inn
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“POOR SERVICE, UNDERSTAFFED AND RUDE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Service is horrible. The resteraunt had one waitress to manage the whole thing. Ended up leaving before our kids even got there whole meal. No towels in the pool, called to get some and were told housekeeping was gone and we were just out of luck ( at 5:30) told to use our room towels. We did and called in the morning for more room towels. ( never got those either) Our sink was torn apart in our room. Game room was a joke. Asked the front desk for the equipment to play air hockey and was informed it was stolen. WOrst part is that when we checked out and they asked how our stay is, we voiced our concerns and all the front desk said was " Oh" No apology, nothing!! We asked if the Bear Lodge Resort was run the same way and they replied " Yes, same owners" STAY CLEAR!!

Room Tip: People up and down the hallways all hours of the nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    20
    7
    7
    16
See reviews for
23
28
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Now if this Hotel (this is no resort) was located in Downtown Denver I would be far more critical of the flaws but it is located on top of the beautiful Big Horn Mountains and a good hour and half drive down the mountain from the closest city of any size. Yes there are dead moths, bird poop, and some dirt but what do you expect in the mountains.

My overall impression was good but the rooms are a little dark, the walls are thin, and there is a lack of decent tv stations to watch while it is pouring rain. On the upside there is a pool table, a hot tub, and a decent pool.

The food was good but a limited menu. Expect to spend $10+ per person. The bar had good prices on draft beer (Moose Drool for $3.50 during happy hour/$4.00 the rest of the time). Buying a six pack to take back to the room can get expensive!

If you are planning on four wheeling this is a prime location. They rent four wheelers and if you have your own you don't have to trailer your atv you can leave from the hotel and drive about 2 miles to the trail head. (even if not street legal there are trails running along the highway)If you want to trailer your atv there are lots and lots of great trails to ride on once you spend a couple of days exploring the ones close to the hotel.

The reason you go to a place like this is to enjoy the outdoors and have someplace to sleep and shower after a long and dirty day in the woods. It accomplished both of these requirements!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarGuyWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial WY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I recently made a reservation at Elk View Inn which I then had to cancel. When I tried to cancel, I was told that they had a 14 days cancellation policy and, thus, would charge for the night which I had reserved. I protested, since I had not been informed about this when making the original reservations. They charged my credit card nevertheless. I am currently disputing the charge.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights. When we arrived there was no sign as to where you go to check inn. There is a building in the front and the lodge in a rear building. We went to the lodge first but it had no check in. When we went into the front door of the lodge there was bird poop all over the deck leading into the entrance. It was disgusting. So we went to the other building and found that is where the check in was. The room was not very clean and there was a burnt out bulb in the bathroom and also burnt out light bulbs in the hallway leading to our room. I don't think we would ever return to this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobTMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

There aren't many lodging options up in the Big Horns, so this place should be judged by the competition and in view of the remote location. We stayed here July 16, 2012, after leaving early from our reservation at nearby Bear Lodge in disgust (see my review of that property.) These two lodges - about a mile apart - are actually owned by the same people, but they are quite different. The most obvious difference is the staff - at Elk View the staff is attentive, polite, courteous and helpful. The entire facility is quite up-to-date and competitive with motels in more urban settings. The restaurant setting and menu is rewarding (even for vegetarians like us - we were very pleased with the chef's work). My only complaints are that they don't have a guest laundry, and no wifi in the rooms - it is only available in the restaurant. It costs a bit more than Bear Lodge, but it is worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jiminptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody wyoming
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is an amazing place! Nice people, nice up to date cabins. Comfortable beds.. This is a great spot for a couples getaway to spend timeint he Big Horns summer or winter.

Room Tip: Take a picnic lunch and head to the streams close by and do some site seeing, moose, deer and elk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellyneff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We somewhat liked the place but far from worth the price. I wouldn't even write this review but the receptionist, a girl named Franeine seemed a bit coocoo.for cocopops She kept calling my husband Joey and thinking he was hiding something from her. it freaked us out and my husband told her his name and did not understand what the heck she was talking about but she went on to say she will find it in the room!!!!!!! SHE HAS KEYS! We left rather quickly and she called me a (bad word i not allowed to say here) It was so unreal and crazy we couldnt help but laugh although we will never return or recommend the place. they should really screen people better and I understand crazies are people too I wouldn't let them talk to customers like that. I hope she finds what shes lookin for before she scares everyone off or gets punched in the nose for messin with someones man and callin women things she shouldnt ..lol

Room Tip: a room with a inside lock!! LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deedra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
19.9 mi away
Ranchester Western Motel
Ranchester Western Motel
#1 of 1 in Ranchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Elk View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk View Inn

Property: Elk View Inn
Address: 4622 W Hwy 14, Dayton, WY 82836
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Elk View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk View Inn Wyoming/Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing