We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
2
3
3
0
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
3
3
0
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 13 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2016

Campground area is nice enough so RV or tent is fine. The "cabins" are not clean, not modern, not rustic but are just plain nasty. Duck tape patching wall holes, sheet rock missing or damaged in some areas, carpet not even stapled down, beds are ancient, flimsy and noisy. The nice couple that run the place are, well, nice but clearly unable to keep up with the facility or, even, themselves. I booked because the reviews for this place were better than the next town over. This review is meant to be honest and accurate so you don't find out the way I did.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dourdeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2016

A very quaint location with service similar to what "your grandparents had" - expect a campground along the Tongue River, near the city park, it offers great views, a good campsite and the hometown feel.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2015

We traveled from Arizona to Wyoming with this place in mind for our final destination! Just as the pictures show, the cabins are older but clean and fully functioning. We had a large fifth wheel and were able to park pretty close to the water. One drawback was the ground was pretty unleveled and it took a good driver to get in and out of the spot. the two main RV pull through spots were level and had all the hook ups, but we wanted to be close to water. the park is pretty well kept except the porch of the host house, and there is the city park right next door for the kids to play. The hosst were nice and very accommodating, the bathrooms were clean. This little camp ground is quaint and quiet, if you are looking for the spotless KOA its not for you. but if you want a great little place to rest your bones, with down to earth people this is for you!

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2015

We passed through and stopped for the night on The Great American Walkabout. The owners met us and were pretty friendly, we spent some time talking and they had some great stories. Apparently Peter Fonda stops here regularly. He still loves to go on long drives on his motorcycle, and stops off here quite often. The surrounding area is stunning. In the Shadow of the Bighorn mountain range, and not far from the Black Hills, the countryside is gorgeous. Camping really is the way to go around here. They have Cabins as well, but we camped out.

The grounds were well maintained and the facilities were clean. There was plenty of space and we felt totally alone. Couldn't think of a better place to stop by in this area, especially on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkabout2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

we got into Dayton, WY at midnight, planning to drive another 2 hours to Greybull. We were just plain exhausted. We called the Foothills--at midnight--and the couple who own the place answered. They set us up in cabin number 8: two bed rooms, one worn a comfy queen bed and a twin roll away, the other with two twin beds, a kitchenette and a bathroom. The rooms were clean, beds clean, barroom clean with a brand new shower. Hot, hot water and lots of it. The place is old, but it is comfortable. We are traveling with three adult daughters and three grandchildren. I find the place cozy and comfortable. Completely recommend, we'll be staying here again on our way to theTetons next year!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Misty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews