We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horseback Riding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a large group, first large group ride of the season they told us. We paid for a two hour ride, but got so much more! We had two helpers, a young former solider and a young lady both of whom were wonderful! We were expecting a "nose to butt" ride, but got the true horse riding experience! The horses all had personality and beauty. We were amazed! The staff even allowed us to set up camp for a late lunch on the grounds! Grilling in the forest only added to our fabulous day. Thank you for making this the top trip activity of several of the kids and adults in our group!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank HuskerAlum1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 353 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We took what was going to be a 2 hour horseback ride but it turned out to be much more. As horse owners we were overly impressed with the knowledge and friendliness of our wrangler David S. At the campfire Indiana Mike made a wonderful ribeye dinner. Bounty Hunter and Mrs. Jo joined us at dinner and they helped make this a most enjoyable experience.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Susan N Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

It was what exactly what we were looking for, cabin/lodge wilderness environment with a very friendly and helpful staff. Good central location to explore Shoshone National Forest, Yellowstone Park and Cody Wyoming. Lots of stuff do do in the vicinity. We only ate at the restaurant for dinner, very good - unbelievable prime rib! The area is gorgeous, took two horseback rides and the wranglers were great, highly recommended even for beginners. Three wranglers for the breakfast ride (large group of 10) and Dave for the afternoon ride (just my family) - really enjoyed them all!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We did not stay at the lodge, but rather visited to go on a ride. Our wrangler, Dave was an excellent guide and was knowledgeable about the area and the horses. Dave was constantly showing us where the bear evidence was and pointing out the wildlife we saw along the way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is an excellent place to stay. Only 4 miles outside the east entrance of Yellowstone. Forty-five minutes to Cody. Relaxing rockers on the porch, great horseback riding and excellent food.
Cabins are clean and staff is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay! Lovely little cabins. Steps away from horseback riding in the mountains with friendly knowledgeable guides. Went on both the dinner and breakfast rides. Had delicious meals on both trips. So close to Yellowstone, plenty to do for kids and adults. Wonderful experience can't wait go back again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank JMRiggs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This place is amazing. Great value, staff is pleasant and make you feel like a part of the family. Food was great, and only 2 miles from the entrance of Yellowstone. We will definitely go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlaleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cody
42.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
42.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
23.3 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.6 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#11 of 29 in Cody
354 reviews
41.2 mi away
Big Bear Motel
Big Bear Motel
#13 of 29 in Cody
603 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch

Address: 349 N Fork Hwy, Cody, WY 82414-7875
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Price Range: $100 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch Hotel Cody
Shoshone Lodge And Guest Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing