We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient to Yellowstone National Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Convenient to Yellowstone National Park”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in a cabin at Shoshone Lodge for two nights. The cabin was a little awkward in its layout but only resided there to sleep so it was fine. The staff was exceptionally friendly. Due to road construction, we were running late getting back to our cabin and had very limited phone service. When we arrived, we went to the lodge and the kitchen was closed. However, staff went out of their way to feed us a dinner. The breakfast served here is unbelievably good and varied. The dining area is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ankiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    66
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
137
128
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My mom and I were on a road trip from South Dakota to Arizona and on our way we passed through Wyoming to stay in Cody. When we were leaving we wanted to be sure we could drive through Yellowstone National Park. While driving on our way to Yellowstone, we were looking for a place to stay and came across the Shoshone Lodge. We saw it and figured we might as well check it out, it ended up being the best decision we could have made, Our stay at Shoshone ended up being our favorite part of our whole road trip. When we pulled in, there was beautiful green grass and towering green trees. The cabins were scattered all around. We had only planned on staying one night but ended up extending our stay because we enjoyed it so much. Throughout our stay, we met some of the nicest and most welcoming people. They make you feel so comfortable and are all so friendly. Every night they would start a bonfire where all the cabin residents are invited to come out and roast marsh mellows. They have the most amazing breakfast and mouth watering dinners. Everything about this place was so amazing and made us want to go back immediately but I must say, the absolute best part of the entire experience was the horse back riding. They take you on the most beautiful trails through the mountains and I highly recommend it if you choose you stay. You will most definitely not regret it. All in all, the Shoshone lodge will not disappoint. My mom and I are still planning our trip back there, I highly recommend you stay! (:

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kenzi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Better late than never with this review as we stayed at the end of June! We had one of the more basic cabins for our last night before returning to San Francisco but could not have been more happy with our choice. It is a place you want to stay in and explore or take advantage of the riding that is available at this ranch. Much more time was needed to appreciate what it had to offer.

Our cabin was everything we had hoped for in the area and seemed to be a real taste of the experience we expected before we left England. Good hospitality from the staff, a nice warm and friendly cabin with an excellent bed and with everything we could possibly need for one nights stay and an excellent restaurant in which to dine in the evening with great steaks and good choice of menu. And when that was over, a welcoming area with open fire to enjoy a late night drink with other residents (which we did!!) And of course, there were the views and walks all around. We did not see any bears whilst in the area but plenty of other wildlife.
We were just so sad to leave so quickly. Still there is always next time!

Room Tip: If our cabin was the most basic (not in our opinion and I am fussy), then the others must be really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorkeyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at Shoshone. The location and atmosphere is wonderful. The food in the restaurant is excellent and very reasonably priced. Service was also great. The cabin we stayed in was a little cramped but we were really only there to sleep. The laundry facilities were excellent. My daughter and i enjoyed a 1 hour horse ride and they were very accommodating as we were about 1/2 hr late.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat_L_973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We could stay only one night but I wanted to stay longer. The cabins are so cute and the two our party had were clean and comfortable with a moose lodge decor. The grounds are wooded and scenic, a very relaxing atmosphere. The food in the resturant was also very good. This is a place I would like to visit again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank peglegdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was our fifth time staying at Shoshone Lodge and each time we stay, we enjoy it more and more and find it harder to leave with each visit. The staff there are truly wonderful people and we always receive a warm welcome.

You really are up in the mountains here and the location cannot be beaten. All the cabins we have stayed in have been charming, cosy with a western rustic style. They are very clean and the beds are really comfortable. We have stayed in Clearwater Cabin on two of our visits and it is also equipped with a kitchen which was very useful.

Free wifi is available in the lodge and we were also able to get it in our cabin which was great for keeping in touch with family back home.

The lodge restaurant has a great atmosphere. We ate here for breakfast and dinner most nights and the food was consistently good, as was the service. After dinner it was lovely to sit on the porch rockers or inside the lodge and chat. They also light a campfire to sit around which is fun.

We enjoy staying outside of the park and enjoy the drive back to the Lodge. On a few occasions we have seen grizzly bears, moose and other wildlife en-route and it is great to stay in a quiet mountain environment.

Shoshone lodge is extremely well run and I cannot say enough about how brilliant the staff are there. Suffice it to say that as soon as we come home, we start talking about how we can come back again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mummabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, CA
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We finally found our iconic, rustic Big Sky Country cabin at the Shoshone Lodge. Darling room, very clean. Staff extremely courteous and helpful. Stayed two nights and glad we did. First night there was a group of 35 taking up much of the restaurant and big tables had been moved into the common area. By the next day they were gone so we were able to enjoy wine/beer and reading/knitting/conversing with other guests by the fire. Made up for some of the more humdrum motels we stayed at elsewhere on the trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieKay530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cody
23.3 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,050 reviews
42.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
42.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
4.8 mi away
Creekside Lodge at Yellowstone
41.2 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch

Property: Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch
Address: 349 North Fork Hwy, Cody, WY 82414-7875
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch Hotel Cody
Shoshone Lodge And Guest Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing