We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Red Canyon Wild Mustang Tour
Ranked #4 of 25 Outdoor Activities in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Cody, Wyoming's Red Canyon Wild Mustang Tour is considered the premier Wild Mustang tour in America today... To stand in the open prairie and observe the true behavior of a wild mustang in its natural habitat is an experience you will never forget!"~ Ken Martin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Not knowing what to expect - we were so impressed with this tour. Ken, the owner, has such a vast knowledge of these mustangs. His love of these animals and their safety is very evident. He provided binoculars for those that needed them. We were able to take wonderful national geographic photos of both the Mustangs & antelope. The icing on the cake was Ken's mascot, Cody. These animals are healthy and need to be protected from capture & sales. This is our country's heritage and we need to work to preserve them. Highly recommend this fantastic tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Bettye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    9
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must do in Cody, WY”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This 2.5 hour tour is a must do while you are in Cody. The guides are wonderful and very knowledgeable about the horses. We saw one herd in the distance that wasn't close enough to one of the dirt roads/paths that vehicles are allowed on to, then got very close to a trio of stallions coming up from a watering hole. We also saw antelope and beautiful scenery. Well worth the time and money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a great tour! Just a couple hours long and you get great photos of the horses in their natural habitat. The tour van leaves from downtown Cody and you're out on the range in about 20 min. We were lucky to see quite a few horses plus a prong horn antelope came up to check us out. Really cool!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CinaCorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Icons of the west”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Have taken 3 tours with RCWMT. Two were awesome photo opportunities, while one of the tours the mustangs were at quite a distance...But thats how it goes with wildlife, there are never any guarantees! The horses themselves are spectacular. If you are like me you probably picture mustangs as small, skinny, scrawny horses, but nothing could be further from the truth. These horses are huge, muscular, and dripping with attitude. Watch carefully as skirmishes between stallions are sure to appear, but they end as quickly as they begin. The sight of horses rearing with manes and hooves flying is a sight you wont soon forget.

Ken the owner is an excellent guide. He does everything he possibly can to make each trip memorable. His passion, love, and respect for these wild horses is very evident. He seems very knowledgeable, not just about the horses but also the area they inhabit, and local history.

I look forward to many more tours with Red Canyon, and with a little luck... many more fantastic sightings of these icons of the west.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank missmywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menominee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must Do!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Was the most exciting thing I have done while shooting with my camera. Will do this again. The ride out to the herd was in a yellow bus. Rough riding but worth the trip out. Once we hit the first herd it was all worth the bumps and bouncing Lots of fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Canyon Wild Mustang Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing