We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best hotel in the world but it is clean and convenient!”
Review of Sunrise Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Motor Inn
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed July 31, 2010

this hotel is a little bit older but for the price it gets the job done and had a nice comfy bed!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pressey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 182 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

The room was too small, the place was noisy, the bed is not comfortable, and the shower water temp. regulator was not working . Avoid

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank graywolfwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I chose this hotel because other hotels in Cody were outlandishly expensive ($180 for a Super 8 - a Super 8!) and it had some decent reviews. It is a "Mom and Pop" one-story hotel where you park right in front of your room. The prices are high due to its proximity to Yellowstone. The average part of the hotel is that it is older but was clean, air conditioned and had most of the amenities that chain hotels offer (with the exception of shampoo and an alarm clock) including, WiFi, iron, hair dyer. My daughter, who is used to staying in the hotel brands listed below, was a little creeped out by the "older" nature of this "Mom and Pop", but she came around. The Sunrise offers a reasonable breakfast consisting of cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, muffins, juice, and coffee, but not on a par with the variety offered in the hotels below. On a trip where we stayed in Hampton Inn, Fairfield Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Hilton Garden Inn, and Best Western hotels, the Sunset had the most plush towels and the most comfortable bed. Go figure.

On another note, getting Cody from I-90 using Highway 14 was a real piece of work; I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oskarduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We arrived in Cody later than we expected due to crossing the mountains. When we arrive in Cody we tried multiple times to contact the hotel and received no answer. Assuming that they were no longer open we checked into another hotel - even this hotel tried to contact them with no success. When we returned home and found that this hotel had charged us for not staying with them they treated us terribly, made untrue accusations and were most difficult to work with. I would NEVER recommend this hotel without having even stayed there - customer service speaks loud and clear and this customer service is begging people to stay away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank 123456Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

I booked this Motel due to its location. Cody is the only town near Yellowstone National Parks east Entrance.

Its not a bad place to stay, but if you are expecting great ammenities and service, then find a more expensive place.

Its a mom and pop Motel...not a national chain with loads of money. However, the staff was polite and friendly.

We stayed there for three days, four nights. I would say that its more of a transitional place to stay. Most of the people we met, simply chose this motel as a place to rest as they continued their journey to Yellowstone or elsewhere.

The plus side is that its only 52 miles to Yellowstone from this hotel, and its in Cody so there are restaurants, bars, gas and shops within walking distance of this motel.

The places closer to the park, and in the park are more expensive, and less convenient...unless you want to eat hot dogs and burgers everynight.

One bit of advice, bring your own shampoo. This motel does not give complimentary bottle of hair soap.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtkpiesquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This hotel is a little older located near the center of old Cody. One floor level. Clean rooms, nice bed, real clean bath, coffee pot and fridge in room. Not a five star but a real good value. The check out time seemed a little early (10am) but most people probably get an early start in this town. Breakfast food, Rolls bagels etc. free in the office in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normalfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Overall the place is clean and neat however the rooms are very small. The heated pool was clean but I did not use it.

The rooms had a noisy ventilation system and which kept making strange noises all night. The doors are not sealed tightly and you can hear conversations outside the room just like you are standing there. If these rooms are used in colder weather I don't know how they keep the rooms heated with the air blowing in.

The continental breakfast is very limited and the only choice you have was instant oatmeal, doughnuts, juice and coffee. There is no place to sit to eat so you have to eat in your room.

One plus for this place is it is next door to the Wild Bill Cody Museum. We did not have time to tour the facility but it looked very interesting when we walked around it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.4 mi away
A Wyoming Inn
A Wyoming Inn
#23 of 29 in Cody
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
1.7 mi away
Beartooth Inn of Cody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kings Inn Cody Hotel
Kings Inn Cody Hotel
#17 of 29 in Cody
204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motor Inn

Address: 1407 8th Street, Cody, WY 82414-4131
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunrise Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sunrise Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Motor Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing