We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Cody”
Review of Sunrise Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Motor Inn
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I found this motel a very good value for the price. Certainly nothing fancy, but very clean and comfortable. Lots of families. Laundry, pool, WiFi, breakfast, comfortable beds, all the necessities. Just be careful of the hot water. Heats up very fast. I would stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaT_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 183 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

The visitor centre said there were no no 'budget' hotels in the area, but when we stopped in we found a $99 room as opposed to well over $100. It was a short walk to town, had a covered picnic area for where we sat while doing laundry after a swim in the private pool behind the building.

Room Tip: If you don't mind being just a bit off the beaten track, this is a great place to stay. All roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Incredible value for the dollar! Their rates were the best I could find anywhere in town. It's not brand new, but considering their excellent rates, I wouldn't expect to see anything more...
*Clean rooms
*Excellent service
*WiFi worked great!!
*Spacious
*Comfortable beds
My new "go to" place in Cody!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Themossyoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is an old motor court motel. Park right in front of your door. Some of the cheapest rooms in the Cody area. The rooms are large and dated but comepletely functional. Bathroom was really small as they were in that day, but again perfectly functional. Good refrigerator in the room. Motorcycle friendly property. Within walking distance of the Cody museums and a bit more of walk to the downtown area. The front desk gave me a card for the local taxi which was all flat rates and had a great driver. I would certainly stay here again as it was a great value in Cody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiefMikeLebanon_Ore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Sunrise Motor Inn is an older facility with small rooms. The room rate was reasonable, clean, mattress was comfortable (and new according to the marquee); however, the pillows were the smallest and thinnest I've come across! Sierra Trading Post is directly across the street and downtown is within easy walking distance as is the Buffalo Bill Center. Our room was near the street and noise was an issue so we kept the windows closed and the air conditioner on all night. We stayed toward the end of the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally and there was a lot of bike traffic and noise but this is a major road. Sitting outdoors was not a good option due to the traffic noise. We did not try the free breakfast which as available. I would consider staying there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Consider a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in Cody for 3 nights to allow us to tour Yellowstone National Park and the local sites. We met the most wonderful people and the staff were excellent. Their prices were the best in the area. The center courtyard is very open and large to allow fellow travellers time to meet, greet and even share some great times together. Our room was comfortable and clean. They had a small pool in the back courtyard to allow those some time for that refreshing dip. The breakfast was a good continental breakfast which everyone there agreed was very good.
We highly recommend this to those who tour and travel throughout the day and need a place to just relax and unwind without the high cost. A big thank you to the owners who made sure all the guests there were taken care of. They were fantastic!

Room Tip: A room farther away from the main road will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here for a night while the bikes were coming through here on their way to sturgis. Never again. Should have known I was in trouble when they said to park in whatever spot was available. Bikes were parked in 90 percent of the spots. Hello, there were many more bikes than rooms. Need to make sure others have place to park too.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank slb3334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.5 mi away
Big Bear Motel
Big Bear Motel
#13 of 29 in Cody
602 reviews
17.1 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Inn
44.3 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motor Inn

Address: 1407 8th St, Cody, WY 82414-4131
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: $47 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunrise Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrise Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Motor Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing