We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay for a night...”
Review of Sunrise Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Motor Inn
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Let me first say the couple now running the place seem to make every effort to make your stay pleasant. However, they are hampered by an 'old property' showing real signs of its age. The room, the bedding, towels, etc. were all clean enough but it just seemed that for maybe $20 more per night much finer and more modern lodging was available just down the street. The location is fine...close to all that is in Cody...especially the wonderful Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Ok for an overnight stop. The advertised WIFI was weak (at least in my room).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PelhamCSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice motor court property. New plush mattress in my King room. Good speed on internet as well. Great value for price. $49 low season.

Owner is Chinese and a very nice fellow. Gave us complimentary passes for the Buffalo Bill Historical Center (not to be missed).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

You'll need two nights here to give you ample time to visit the Buffalo Bill Historical Center. The Center is next door to the motel. This is an older motel that has been completely refurbished. The only negative is a meager breakfast. But it has free wifi, and the Chinese owners are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Never stayed at a dirtier hotel ever, the bedding was dirty,the floor so gross it said no pets but there were several pets in room next to ours,should be cleaned up or shut down.the people needed to have someone check out there rooms before renting them out,the location is very good close to everything.

Room Tip: there are way better places to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PacificNorthwestRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

But most likely has what you need, one way or another. The building is a little old, probably from the 50s but the rooms were very clean. There's a nice shaded sitting area in the middle of the parking lot. The breakfast in the morning was simple but it had the essentials and there's a public microwave in the guest laundry room. The front desk was especially friendly and helpful when directing us to the attractions in town. Would recommend for budget conscious travellers as this place seems like the best value for pricey Cody.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were looking to stay at the Best Western Hotel by the name of the SUNSET Motor Inn. We mistakenly booked this place instead. It was a block away and it was quite obvious they chose this name so people like us would pick the wrong motel. We walked down to the SUNSET and it looked (at least from the outside) like a much nicer place. That being said, this was a decent place with very few frills. It is a block from the Buffalo Bill museum. The rooms are not very quiet - sound comes in the front door very easily. The towels in the bathroom are very thin and rough. The continental breakfast consisted of two types of cereal, Sunny Delight, coffee, hard boiled eggs, previously frozen glazed donuts and a couple types of bread, Needless to say, it left something to be desired. But, it was free, so...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZChefCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriseCindy, Manager at Sunrise Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

I would like to apologize for any confusion caused by the similarity between our names, however I assure you the names were not created with any ulterior motives. The reason why these names are quite similar is because originally both of these properties were owned by the descendants of Bill Cody himself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This little place is a good value in pricy Cody, Wyoming. It is less than a block away from the Buffalo Bill Historical Complex. There are places to eat within walking distance or a very short drive. My friend and I had two queen beds in separated by a bathroom, sort of jack-and-jill style. It was perfect for a little break for both of us. There is a nice covered sitting area with tables in the front of the motel. The room has a 'fridge and was very clean. Although the place looks dated from the outside, who cares? We both slept well, although one night my friend could hear heavy snores from the room next to hers. The only drawback was the towels. They must have put extra effort into finding these large sheets of white sandpaper. But what is 1 minute of rough drying compared to everything else offered here? Stay here anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgsg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.5 mi away
Big Bear Motel
Big Bear Motel
#13 of 29 in Cody
602 reviews
17.1 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Inn
44.3 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motor Inn

Address: 1407 8th St, Cody, WY 82414-4131
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: $47 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunrise Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrise Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Motor Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing