We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't confuse this hotel.”
Review of Sunrise Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunrise Motor Inn
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were looking to stay at the Best Western Hotel by the name of the SUNSET Motor Inn. We mistakenly booked this place instead. It was a block away and it was quite obvious they chose this name so people like us would pick the wrong motel. We walked down to the SUNSET and it looked (at least from the outside) like a much nicer place. That being said, this was a decent place with very few frills. It is a block from the Buffalo Bill museum. The rooms are not very quiet - sound comes in the front door very easily. The towels in the bathroom are very thin and rough. The continental breakfast consisted of two types of cereal, Sunny Delight, coffee, hard boiled eggs, previously frozen glazed donuts and a couple types of bread, Needless to say, it left something to be desired. But, it was free, so...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZChefCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriseCindy, Manager at Sunrise Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

I would like to apologize for any confusion caused by the similarity between our names, however I assure you the names were not created with any ulterior motives. The reason why these names are quite similar is because originally both of these properties were owned by the descendants of Bill Cody himself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Sunrise Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 180 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

This little place is a good value in pricy Cody, Wyoming. It is less than a block away from the Buffalo Bill Historical Complex. There are places to eat within walking distance or a very short drive. My friend and I had two queen beds in separated by a bathroom, sort of jack-and-jill style. It was perfect for a little break for both of us. There is a nice covered sitting area with tables in the front of the motel. The room has a 'fridge and was very clean. Although the place looks dated from the outside, who cares? We both slept well, although one night my friend could hear heavy snores from the room next to hers. The only drawback was the towels. They must have put extra effort into finding these large sheets of white sandpaper. But what is 1 minute of rough drying compared to everything else offered here? Stay here anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgsg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Pros: The location- It is walking distance to Cody, Wy attractions and 50 miles from the east gate of Yellowstone National Park. TV-basic cable including local news, which I find enjoyable.
Cleanliness-No smoke smell, but kind of stale. The towels and sheets were clean, floor clean, bathroom clean. Quiet place to stay despite being full.

Cons: The man and lady working the front desk were very grumpy during check in. He did seem happier later during check out. The room smelled stale. The plumbing was interesting - toilets took several times to flush. Needs a paint job. Mattresses very hard (but new according to sign). The price was high for the type of place, but cheaper then comparable chains.

Overall this is a great place if you need a shower and to sleep. If you are planning to spend your days sight seeing and only rest here, then it is a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-SD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

All hotels in Cody are overpriced, so this one was in line with the average for this town.
Very old, has been painted and updated a bit. Appears to be family owned and operated.
Breakfast is basic continental breakfast, very small breakfast area. Front desk is not open
until 7:00, which is a problem if you want to get an early start. Has a nice covered sitting area in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were a group of motorcyclists and stayed for three nights. The rooms are nice - new beds - we were told. It was comfortable. No issure with the mechanicals of the rooms. The pool felt a little cool when you entered but once you got used to it it was great. The sitting area in the courtyard was especially nice for our group to sit and discuss the next day's activities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thor47-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Toilet over flowed. Hotel has plumbing problems. Called manager at 7:10 am again at 8:00. Was told someone would come to help. They never came. Checked out of hotel and manager walked away and left son at the desk to answer problems. Which they only said problems w pipes. Very rude and guest service was non- existent. Basically they take your money and run. Beware!!!!! Very disappointing. Will not return nor recommend.

Room Tip: Beware and stay away
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

We had somewhat of an emergency that morning that needed the immediate attention of everyone on staff at the time. It is our responsibility to provide ample service to all of our guests and because of that emergency we were unable to, for that I apologize. I would like to note that this unfortunate circumstance has been happily resolved on a personal basis between this guest and the manager of this establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The title says it all... if you want to save a few bucks and don't mind just the basics, this is for you... room was clean, pool was fine.... got a huge room, 3 queen beds and a sofa bed for 140 bucks... works for me when traveling with 6 kids....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.5 mi away
A Wyoming Inn
A Wyoming Inn
#23 of 29 in Cody
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
1.7 mi away
Beartooth Inn of Cody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kings Inn Cody Hotel
Kings Inn Cody Hotel
#17 of 29 in Cody
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motor Inn

Address: 1407 8th Street, Cody, WY 82414-4131
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: $74 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunrise Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sunrise Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Motor Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing