We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with this motor inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sunset Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
278 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Happy with this motor inn”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

When we pulled up, I questioned how this was going to be and I was pleasantly surprised. This an older properly, in process of remodeling. It is one level, so you can park right out side your door. They have nice grounds, with in & out pools (out wasn't open for season yet), laundry room. Two sinks in bathroom area, one in with toilet & tub, the other outside that area.
Quiet area, a bit off the hub bub of downtown.
Our refrigerator wasn't working and the nice young maintenance man came right away and put in a new one (with his cute little son).
"Ivy's", across and down the block at the other BW, is a nice more upscale place for dinner.
If you want good & value, this is it. If your prefer more upscale, go to the other BW.
Nice basic rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of property, away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twominks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you did not let your first feeling detour you from our motel. We do hear from many guests that when they find out we are a motor inn they sometimes question themselves and their booking. However, after they arrive at their room they are very happy with their decision. Our grounds are quite large and beautiful. Many guests say they remind them more of a resort. It is great that you liked them as well. It also makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your room and liked the new remodel of our bathrooms. We have had great feedback from our guests since reopening this season with our new bathrooms. We appreciate you also reviewing The 8th Street at our sister property down the street at the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites. Thank you for staying and dining with us. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    302
    131
    57
    21
See reviews for
292
342
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I would definitely recommend this staying at this hotel, It was a great location, the rooms appeared to be newly remodeled . The front desk staff was very helpful, both checking in as well as our. The breakfast was very good, with a great selection of hot and cold food. The coffee was fresh and hot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank penny o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy to hear that you would recommend staying at our motel to others. We receive many fantastic comments on how great our coffee is from guests. We keep it hot and available to all our guests 24 hours a day. We know how important coffee is! Our front desk staff is very knowledgeable and it is great to hear how nice and helpful they were when you were checking in and out. We hope that you will return to Cody and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We really enjoyed staying at this site. They had just remodeled the rooms & they were very sharp-looking & comfortable. The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was nice. Housekeeping went out of their way to ensure that we had fresh linens, empty garbages, etc. All of the staff was very friendly. I would recommend this site to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank beddot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our entire staff works very hard to be sure that each guest has a positive experience. We are glad that we were able to provide this to you. It is also nice to hear that you liked how we remodeled our bathrooms! We worked hard all winter to be sure that when our guests saw our new bathrooms they would be able to see how sharp looking they were. We try to think of every detail that a guest may want to make their stay feel like home. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hotel is spread out so getting certain places required a little effort but overall the Motel was very well cared for and clean. We would certainly stay there again. Staff was very nice but it did bother me that they were too insistent on getting the room key back and became a bit defensive. First motel on our trip that were that insistent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 406clintm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel. Our staff works very hard to be sure that our rooms and the grounds are all sparkling clean and in working order. We are a green hotel and we do recycle our keys and do ask for them back at check out. It is nice to know that you would stay with us again if you were ever in the area. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was an awesome place to stay! We were on our honeymoon.we felt this place was very clean,very updated,they were updating many rooms around the complex.nice tv,WiFi,comfortable bed and easy location.staff was pleasant.they have pool,and on site laundry,in room coffee.we would recommend it.

Room Tip: We liked far corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review of our property! It is always nice to hear when our guests take advantage of our many amenities and facilities. We are so happy that we were able to help make your honeymoon a special time for you. We hope to see you again in the near future. Maybe we can help make more great memories for you on an anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,360 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I'd give this a solid good. The room itself was nicer than I expected.

The shower was stone clad and a definite step up from the average plastic bathrooms.

The bed, pillows, shower, towels were okay, with bulk toiletries in the shower.

The room held a TV, microwave, fridge, coffee, luggage rack and the clock radio has an iPod AUX connection.

The onsite parking in front of your room, motel style was free.

The buffet breakfast was average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

After spending the day at Yellowstone Park we didn't want to travel too much further on our cross country trip so Cody looked like a good stop. We needed a pet friendly hotel and this one fit the bill (though the price of $25 was higher than Hotels.com stated and I believe is too pricey). Other than that, the place was a nice place to stay. The room was clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities you needed. The breakfast was average. The location was great because it was close to the highway and also had many restaurants near by to go to for supper. There s also a laundry facility for guests which came in handy. I would stay there again if I didn't have a pet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.6 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#11 of 29 in Cody
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunset Inn

Property: Best Western Sunset Inn
Address: 1601 8th St, Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Motor Hotel Cody
Best Western Sunset Hotel
Best Western Cody
Cody Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing