We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fishing stay out of Cody” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sunset Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Amarillo, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fishing stay out of Cody”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My brother and I planned our fishing trip to include the Cody area and to stay at the Sunset Inn. This location was ideal for all that Cody offered in the way of attractions and great fly fishing waters in and around Cody. The hotel was located near the museum which is one of the very best that I have ever seen. The restaurant that is a part of the hotel offered great meals and service. We were pleased with the hotel and our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    249
    117
    53
    18
See reviews for
256
273
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This Best Western was clean and satisfactory. It was better than some "Plus" Best Westerns I've stayed in. The rooms were comfortable, clean and reasonably spacious. After several days of travel I really appreciated the nice laundry room - it had about ten washers and dryers, a CLEAN folding table, change machine and laundry products in stock. The hotel doesn't look fancy from the outside but the rooms were good, the service nice and parking excellent. Good location within Cody.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank califbikegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipman, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The room was large and was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. It had a refridgerator and microwave. After bringing the luggage in the room, we removed our shoes and walked inside in our socked feet. Then we noticed our socks were black on the bottom! The floor was filthy!!! When we check out I told the staff about it and all they said was it was from the drive!? That's the only explanation. So they knew this and said nothing? (Not very professional.) If they knew this I feel they should said something about it when we checked in. Hopefully we can get the stain out!!! Seams like they really did not care. I wonder if they would walk around in there in their socked feet. (Is their own home like this! This dirty?)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuz1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very comfortable bed, quiet location, spacious room, and good free breakfast. Very good location near the Buffalo Bill Museum. I highly recommend it. It has everything you could want - indoor & outdoor pools, fitness center, laundry facility.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GenieBIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were traveling on our motorcycle from Oklahoma to Yellowstone. This hotel/motel is about 60 miles outside the east entrance to Yellowstone. We loved that we could park right in front of our room. The room was about $150 per night. It was very clean and had a fridge and microwave in the room. We missed the free breakfast so I am not sure what was included. We used the laundry. $1.25 to wash and $1.00 to dry. They had a large Jacuzzi in the pool area. They also had an in door and out door pools.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oknhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, NJ, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The air conditioner unit in our 2 rooms smelled like someone urinated in it....the best they could do is install a room deodorizer that smelled like mint. It minimally masked the odor. They need to change these filters periodically! Otherwise the room was clean, not large but ok for two people for one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We decided to stay at the Best Western in Cody for a 2 day mini vacation while in the area. The best thing about this motel is the drive up to the door units, the large parking spaces and the size of the rooms. The staff leaves a bit to be desired, and overall didn't make us feel all that welcome, but we needed a place to stay, we weren't looking for more friends. The rate is a bit high for the rooms, but in Cody, WY during the summer, all rooms are pretty pricey. I understand they will be closing this motel in the fall - not sure if it's to refurbish, or to close it entirely, as there is a new Best Western in Cody, almost directly across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Phoenix_AZShredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.5 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 26 in Cody
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#11 of 26 in Cody
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
1.1 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sunset Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Sunset Inn
Address: 1601 8th Street, Cody, WY 82414-4134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sunset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Motor Hotel Cody
Best Western Sunset Hotel
Best Western Cody
Cody Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing