We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Sunset Inn
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Alright.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Usual Best Western standards. One of the biggest Best Westerns we have stayed in. Only downside is the breakfast area is way too small for the size of the property, so have to wait for a table, eat in the lobby area or weather permitting eat outside. Apart from that small gripe a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all work hard as a team to make sure each guest has a positive experience. I am sorry you had to wait for a place to sit in our lobby for breakfast. I hope that you enjoyed all that we had to offer and other than the small seating area, the rest of your breakfast was wonderful. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    345
    140
    62
    25
See reviews for
344
368
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA USA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent two nights at this motel, which is almost next door to the Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Our guest room was nicely furnished with a desk, chair, comfy bed, good pillows and good linens. We also had a microwave and a minifridge in the room. Nice! The complimentary breakfast is just OK. We paid $139.50 a night, which is not a great bargain but fair for high season.

During our stay, the hotel was having a problem getting WiFi to some of the guest rooms; if you stay there, ask for a room that receives the signal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnzie513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Like many of our guests, we are glad that you like how perfect our location is. Thank you for your compliments on how nice our rooms are. We are glad that you enjoyed them and found them very comfortable. We hope that the next time you travel through Cody you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have traveled all through the WEST and Alberta Canada this year and have found Best Westerns ... the very best places to stay.
Be careful about the times that breakfasts are served, as some BW, after Labor Day cut short the Breakfast time by an hour and stop serving at 9 am. That fact SHOULD be posted in the BW directory that is in the room but was not posted in our room directory. When we complained we did get a voucher for 20% off at a local restaurant.
If you are in Billings Montana and have kids, they will LOVE the POOL. Also, ABBEY M. at the desk is a gem. Best Westerns always have Laundry facilities available, so you can do your own wash. GREAT ON A TRIP!!!

Room Tip: If you have a REWARDS CARD, always ask if there is a MANAGER'S Special PRICE. It will be cheapie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for being a loyal Best Western guest! We all appreciate you staying with us and giving us such a great review. I am glad that you find all Best Westerns to be great places and where you prefer to stay. Even though each is independently owned and operated, every single one is commited to giving each guest the best possible experience we can. I am happy that you loved our motel as well as one in Billings. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Started our Yellowstone trip in Cody. The hotel was clean and comfortable, but small room and bath. Location was convenient to Buffalo Bill Historical Center. The management was kind enough to let us have a late checkout, which we appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgileTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you loved how clean and comfortable our romms are. It is wonderful to know that we could accomodate you and give you the later check out that you requested. We all try very hard to accomodate all of our guests requests to the best of our ability. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This friendly, well-located, clean and large property is just the ticket if you are in the Cody area and want to tour on your bikes. We toured 2 days into Yellowstone, up one of the prettiest roads we have seen in years, and also rode the Beartooth and went to Buffalo. This hotel is perfectly situated to do all that, and offers many amenities in the bargain. The pool was clean, refreshing and full of friendly folks. The room was kept spotlessly clean and the property itself is very well kept. We appreciated the breakfast discount at the Sunset Restaurant as well (separate review!). We stayed 4 days there and would return again tomorrow. In fact, we will make Cody (and this Best Western) part of our future travels to the area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the pool and rear of the property for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKinNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for the great review and taking time to let us know how we are doing! We are so glad that you had such a great trip in and around the Cody area. This area is a beautiful and it we are glad that you loved visiting here and plan on returning in the future. It is wonderful to hear that you took advantage of our amenities that we offer at our property and that you also ate at our restaurant, The Sunset House. Our staff works very hard to ensure that each of our guests has a positive experience. We are so glad that we could provide that to you. Please be sure to give us a call when you are planning your return to Cody. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

More of a motel but clean and comfortable, found rooms were a bit dark as small windows. Ok as a pass through. Staff helpful and beds comfy. Breakfast was basic. Pools looked nice and clean although we didn't use. Ideally located to Buffalo Bill Historical Museum. Parking right outside your room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tilley057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We are happy that you found our beds to be comfortable and our rooms clean. We agree that our location is a perfect spot in Cody and glad that you felt the same. Please be sure to call us before your next trip to Cody and we would be happy to help you book your stay with us again.
~Thank you,
Susie Hartwig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was great they have an outdoor abd indoor pool also hot tub facilities were great as usual rode our bikes up thru red lodge and back into cody beautiful road trip
Will go back again next year don't eat at the Mexican restaurant in downtown Cody ugggg

Room Tip: Be specific on where u want room like by the pool etc. definitely be a member for points
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harmony39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in making sure all of our rooms are clean and comfortable for each guest. I am happy you noticed. I am also pleased that you were able to use our pools and our hot tub. They are a great way to relax after a long day of traveling on a bike. Glad you liked them. I am very sorry you did not have as positive of an experience at one of the restaurants in town. Maybe next time they will be better or you can find something more to your liking. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.6 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,043 reviews
1.1 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
1.0 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunset Inn

Property: Best Western Sunset Inn
Address: 1601 8th St, Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Motor Hotel Cody
Best Western Sunset Hotel
Best Western Cody
Cody Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing