We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilet Barely Flushed”

Carter Mountain Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carter Mountain Motel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Look, I don't mind paying $100 for a motel room with two beds if there's $100 worth of value associated with the room. Unfortunately, the Carter Mountain Motel seems to be just one more example of what's gone so terribly wrong with the hospitality industry in the greater Yellowstone-Teton region.

Let's begin with the bathoom. We could forgive the fact that the bathroom was exceptionally tiny. Imagine our surprise, however, when we read the small sign on the wall next to the toilet warning the guest to hold the handle on the toilet down for a minimum of 8 to 12 seconds to "assure an adequate flush." Well, in our experience, it really didn't matter how long we held the handle down. The toilet flow still seemed quite inadequate. Apparently, the motel management recognized this, too, because they provided a plunger for the guest to use in case of a plugged toilet. Ok, maybe it's just me, but I don't feel I should be wacked for $100 a night if I'm going to have to spend part of the evening using a plunger to unplug my motel room's toilet. Talk about audacity.

Ok, let's move on to the subject of sleep. Imagine how you would feel if you were forced to sleep next to the roar of a jet aircraft. Well, try sleeping next to the Carter Mountain Motel's air conditioning unit. If you turn it off, you bake in the heat of a typical Cody, Wyoming summer. If you turn it on, you might want to consider ear plugs because our unit was so loud I think I now should consider a hearing aid.

You know, years ago, one could travel with one's family to the Yellowstone-Teton family and pay for motels and meals for a reasonable price. Now, I'm inclined to believe that is no longer true. Families of modest means really don't have as many options when traveling to this area these days. After this most recent vacation, we're to the point where we're going to cross the Yellowstone-Teton region off our list of favorite leisure destinations. Some of you who own/manage the hospitality industry businesses in this area ought to be ashamed of yourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TufCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2008

This is an older two story motel and is located just far enough away from the "downtown" that you have to drive. There is no pool. No continential breakfast. Now that being said, let me give why we rated it above average. It was pet friendly! It was quiet, as were the other guests (and this happened to be a bike ralley week). Rooms had little touches of home. Patchwork style beddspreads, TV, coffeemaker, etc all held within an entertainment center. Flower holders on the wall. Justs gave the inviting apprerance of entering a bedroom not a motel room. Owners live on property and run motel themselves. Let my grandson play with their cockatiel. They do have several family cabins, but was not inside to know if they contain kitchetntes. Reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JaaJaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Great accommodations! WIFI; cable TV; clean, equipped kitchenette-type room with 2 full size beds plus a hide-a-bed couch. Friendly help and a cockatoo in the lobby. Walking distance to the grocery. Worked well for our Yellowstone vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tgburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We were looking for an inexpensive and convenient place to stay while visiting and turing Yellowstone and northwest Wyoming. This fit the bill.

Please understand that this is not a modern hotel. The bathroom was tiny. The lighting in the room was not good. The parking lot is tight. However, in an area where you are only going to be in your room to sleep, the place is fine. The beds were comfortable. The water pressure was great. The TV reception and channel selection were wonderful. The balcony was a noice place to sit after dark or early in the morning. The woman who owns the motel was friendly and helpful. The room was far less expensive than anything else in the area even if it was on the small size.

There is so much to do in Cody that you are not going to be in your room and don't need an expensive place to stay. This place is a good option.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RomeListener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

We stay at so many motels that are staffed by "workers". They have no
pride in their workplace. It's just a job and usually you are treated
like just another customer. That's why, when going to THIS motel, you
can't help but notice the huge contrast between the big chain motels and the rare mom and pop motels. This is what a dream motel should be
like. I was immediately struck by all the flowers decorating the place. Having done some gardening, I knew this was no simple task. So
I headed right into the parking area and knew THIS was the place I REALLY wanted to stay at. It was the work of someone who loves gardening as much as I do. As it turns out, the owner spends a lot of
time on it. Yes, the owner and his family live there! Ken, Fran and their kids. It's like visiting family. They are warm and friendly and
their pet cockatoo will even come to say hello to you. Must be seen to be believed! We stayed there for only one night as we were quickly
passing through the area. We had the two separate bedrooms and kitchen and it was like visiting someone's home. The rooms were decorated without the usual motel furniture. From the chairs to the throw rugs, this stuff obviously wasn't ordered from some motel wholesale catalog! Fran decorates the rooms while Ken does the garden. Angel, the cockatoo, keeps an eye in the office, I guess. There was absolutely nothing negative I could see there and wish all motels were like this one! The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom
was as nice as I would expect. The kitchen was like someone left THEIR kitchen to us. Nothing miniature. All full sized like at home. It was clean and well stocked with dishes, etc. When we left, we made sure we left it as clean as when we arrived... as we would have if we visited family or friends. It was so different that I hesitate calling it a motel! And I wouldn't hesitate coming back if we only traveled in that area more often! It's located within walking distance to a large supermarket and restaurants and there are tourist
attractions nearby which would make this location perfect for anyone's stay. Very highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank C_Slim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodhirider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamers wat verder van de doorgaande weg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.8 mi away
Beartooth Inn of Cody
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
1 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#11 of 29 in Cody
354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Mountain Motel

Address: 1701 Central Ave, Cody, WY 82414-4313
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing