We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully Quaint”

Carter Mountain Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carter Mountain Motel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delightfully Quaint”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed 2 days earlier this month. The type of room we had reserved was unavailable due to another party staying over, so we were upgraded to a kitchenette. Room had 2 queens, one in second bedroom with own tv. Kitchen area had full size fridge, stove and little microwave. Turned out quite useful. Bathroom is small, as all were when this motel was built, but had recently been updated.
This was one of the best deals money wise you could've wanted for the area, especially, since they are "pet friendly" There is a park about block away and a grassy area across the parking lot you can take your pets.
Also, non-smoking anywhere in bldg, which for non smokers is wonderful. No stale aftersmell left over.

Approximately one blk away is a large grocery, Tully's coffee, plus a great soup, sub and coffee shop. This motel is also, located 1 blk from one of the best public libraries I've ever entered.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I happened to have been referred there when I couldnt afford the sky high prices of cody village hotels. I was afraid of what I would find since they were "cheaper", but as soon as I arrived there I could feel the friendly warmth of the owners.. and this was at 11:30pm when I showed up there. The prices were the best in town. the rooms warm and cozy [and I dont mean small] and the couple that owned /ran it were like family by the time I was there a day. I will go back there if I get another vacation. Being in Cody, wy and meeting the Carter's have made me want to retire there if I can.

Room Tip: all seemed equaly good.. warm and cozy with great comforters instead of bedspreads
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane12401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel is quaint. The rooms are clean. The rates are very reasonable. It has free wifi as well! You can easily walk to the main part of town from here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Crook, SD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This family friendly motel openly welcomes pets and pet owners. In a town known for "no pets allowed" this is now our first and only choice of lodging. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GenCrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Durham USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here before heading into Yellowstone NP. Very good value and wonderful staff! Would recommend this to anyone traveling in the Cody area!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTravelingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were spending a week in the Black Hills for our anniversary, and decided instead of driving straight through on our way home, we should try to get a room in Cody. I checked all around the internet for an affordable room, with only 2 weeks notice. I emailed my reservation, and then called the owner to confirm the room, all sight unseen. When we arrived, we were so pleasantly surprised. The owners were so friendly, and helpful. The room felt like a very comfortable bedroom, instead of a motel room. The price is right, and the occommodations were excellent. We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: try not to get a bottom floor room near the wooden stairs.. it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GG411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We only stayed for 1 night on our way from Yellowstone to Deadwood but would have liked to stay much longer. Location was great, our room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, great shower, and nicely decorated. Very quite and great for sleeping. The owner was very friendly and helpful, always available to answer any questions. If we are ever back in Cody we would love to stay at The Carter Mountain Motel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rawnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.1 mi away
A Wyoming Inn
A Wyoming Inn
#20 of 29 in Cody
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beartooth Inn of Cody
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
0.3 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#10 of 29 in Cody
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Mountain Motel

Property: Carter Mountain Motel
Address: 1701 Central Ave, Cody, WY 82414-4313
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing