We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Rates are reasonable”
Review of Cody Legacy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cody Legacy Inn
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
rapid city, sd
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Winter Rates are reasonable”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in the "Indian Wars" suite with my son, his friend, and our daughter. This room is not in the main hotel. It is across the parking lot in a series of cabin/mobile home type rooms. The winter rate on this room was $99, and that is about how much I would want to pay for it. The bedroom with the two queen beds in it was very large and spacious, which was nice, and it had a sliding door with a small deck which had a table and two chairs on it. The bathroom was overly large actually. It had a jacuzzi tub and a stall shower, which I appreciated (I hate trying to take showers in a jacuzzi tub and having to climb in over the high sides!) and also a large mirror/sink/counter top area. There was a huge amount of empty floor space in the bathroom. They would have been better to use some of that space--and the space in the bedroom--- in the main living area of the suite, which is quite tiny. It has a small table with two chairs, a sofa bed, a coffee table, microwave/fridge/sink corner, and a bureau with a TV in it. We wanted to eat dinner and play board games in there, and it was very cramped. We had to drag the coffee table over to the dinner table and two people had to sit on that with pillows to make it work. Also, after we opened the sofa bed, it was a pain the the butt to squeeze by the bureau to get to the bathroom. This is advertised as a family suite, but to spend any real family time in it was difficult unless you sat on the beds in the bedroom. Also, just some FYI things: the pool is outdoors and closed during winter. There are no elevators in the main hotel. The breakfast is minimal (bagels, toast, english muffins and fruit). If you stay in one of the suites like we did, you will have to walk across the parking lot to get breakfast, or go outside to get ice/vending machine access. Not a big deal in the summer, but could be a deal breaker in the winter. All in all, the staff was very nice, the location was really easy to find, and though next to a busy road was pretty quiet. The beds were comfortable, and the room was clean. I would stay again in the winter, but not sure I would want to pay the summer rates, which tend to be about 50% more than the winter ones.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building if you want to avoid going outside to get ice, use the vending machines, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    144
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
144
101
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
KY
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here one night passing through on our way to Yellowstone.

We stayed in a family suite and it was nicely sized for our family of 4. It had a kitchenette and large bathroom with a double sink (always a plus!) Plenty of room. It was also nice being able to pull our van right to the door, rather than carrying luggage through the hotel. It is a former house, divided into 2 suites.

The kids slept in the king bed in the living room and we slept in the very uncomfortable queen bed in the bedroom. It was the worst bed of our 11 different places on this trip. It sagged (and sounded) like it was on ropes or something. My husband, who never complains to staff, mentioned it to the desk clerk when checking out and she was very uninterested.

The night staff lady, however, was fantastic. We had a late arrival and spoke to her a few times on our way through the (dark!!) canyon and she was very friendly, accommodating, and warned us to drive carefully and watch for wildlife on the road.

We did not eat, or even see, the breakfast. The area looked very small, and we assumed we could do just as well with our oatmeal packs and bread and our kitchenette.

We would probably stay here again if we needed to overnight in Cody since it was a good value and we liked the layout of the room for our family, but we would inquire about the bed and hope it had been replaced or maybe request the other suite (if possible).

Oh, the internet connection was pretty weak over in this separate building. We had to sit in the parking lot by the main lobby to connect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank picturemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night. It has an outdoor pool and hot tub. The lobby is nicely decorated with old pictures and memories of Buffalo Bill and the early days of Cody. The rooms where little small but clean. At night it was a little too loud for us, a street nearby and other guest's activities.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogue River, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The place is built to look like a mountain lodge, but the rooms are pretty barebones, and small. There is no computer work station. Had to work off the corner table, and there was no convenient power outlet. The breakfast was far more sparse than most places we've stayed. Our bedside lamps did not work; the coffee maker had to be replaced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarence z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here on our way out of yellowstone for 2 nights. It was a nice hotel and good value. It's modern so the rooms are very well equipped and decorated. The bed was massive and especially comfy! The hotel has a lot of character and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night only, staff were very friendly, told us the best places to eat, the room was spacious, nice tv, very comfy bed, clean sheets, used the pool and hot tub , very nice, breakfast in the morning was good also, overall a lovely place to stay, would highly recommend

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DebAndy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We arrived in Cody and made our way to the Cody Legacy for a 2 night stay. There is an old part and a new part to this hotel. I do not know what the older part was like but the new building was very nice and clean on the inside. Bonnie was at the front desk and gave us a very warm welcome. We had reserved a king bed. We were told upon arrival that all king bedrooms were on the 2nd floor. There was not an elevator ,so we had to carry our luggage up the stairs. I do not think that there was anyone working there that could have carried the luggage up for us. Once in the room it was very nice. Bed was comfortable, hotel was very quiet all night long.Went down to breakfast the next morning and was not very impressed with the food that was offered with their buffet. We decided that the next morning we would eat breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you don't or can't carry luggage up stairs you might think about another hotel. If you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cody Legacy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cody Legacy Inn

Property: Cody Legacy Inn
Address: 1801 Mountain View Dr, Cody, WY 82414-4801
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cody
#9 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cody Legacy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2006. Modern Lodge Atmosphere ~ Plush, new accommodations. In the tradition of Buffalo Bill, our Cody family is dedicated to providing a unique western experience during your stay in historic Cody, Wyoming. Free wireless internet, guest computer, continental breakfast, seasonal outdoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna, guest laundry. AAA, AARP, Senior, Military discounts. Children Stay Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cody Legacy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cody Legacy Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing