We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change of pace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cody Cowboy Village
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice log cabin feel. The western theme interior was just right, not tacky. Good size hot tub. Minimal landscape yes, but the rooms were a great size and most of all very QUIET. Continental breakfast was minimal, same as a Holiday Inn Express. Great stop for entering the east Yellowstone entrance. We would definately stay there again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,297)
There are newer reviews for Cody Cowboy Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We opted to stay here because it was close to everything but not right in the middle of it all. We were very pleased with our cabin. I believe it was about $10 more to get the 2 queen suite (a stand alone cabin) when they applied my AAA. We had two queens in a room with a door that opens to the vanity area. This led into the living area with couch, chair, table for 4, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker is available if you request. There is one bathroom off the vanity area. I would suggest the suite since the duplex cabins would probably be rather small in my opinion. I just prefer more privacy and quiet...I was able to get both. I requested a cabin near the back as other reviewers suggested and I was very please with what we received. We were able to look sit on our porch and see the hills behind the property. (Cabins along the interior would probably only have a view of the vehicles parked in front of the cabins or the central pool area???) We didn't visit the pool area, but it LOOKED a little bit small? Again, I didn't really look, so be sure to ask when you contact them. I can't say enough about the cleanliness, the courteous service, comfy beds and just overall relaxing atmosphere we experienced during our overnight stay. I was very pleased with this stay and I HOPE we get to visit again in the near future. It will be our first pick...definitely!

Room Tip: I like quiet and privacy....so I would ask for a room near the back of the property.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MREA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A great place to stay for a taste of the west! Our suite had a sitting room with tv, refrigerator, and microwave. We only stayed one night, but would have been satisfied staying many more. There were two queen beds in the bedroom, which were very comfortable. We loved the decor. It was clean. The rain shower head was very relaxing.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice..
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed one night at these cute log cabins while traveling thru Cody. The room was very large and the bed was super comfortable; I had the first good nights sleep (day 4 of our trip). The shower was small, but the awesome rain head shower made up for it. The room and bathroom were clean and aesthetically pleasing. Our cabin overlooked the hot tub area, and we could sit on the covered porch of our cabin and enjoy the morning. The hot tub area was nicely landscaped, though we didn't get in. The manager told us that they have a pool planned to go in this year. The continental breakfast was not over the top but good none the less; biscuits and gravy, cold cereal, toast/danish/muffins/, instant oatmeal, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, fruit.

I read other reviews mentioning the sulfur smell. We asked about that because my in-laws were in Cody in 2012 and they experienced very strong sulfur oder. We didn't have much of one at all. It's due to the DeMaris Spring. Depending on the weather (rainfall and wind), the smell can be strong or barely noticeable. So, it's not something going on with the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin by the hot tub.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Would have missed it because the sign was a bit hard to see, but we were glad we checked it out. Excellent value for these cozy cabins. They were spotless, the beds were great! It was nice and quiet, and the staff very friendly and obliging. Continental breakfast was all right for those who just need to kick start the day with something light and a good cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Here's the good: New, (built in 2006) clean and well maintained cabins. Good mattress and bedding. Small bathroom but has a openable window and good light. Nice staff and very helpful but someone needs to tell the man at the front counter (maybe the manager) that his voice is so loud that he is annoying. Now for the negative: Very poor internet connections; you have to go outside and then it's touch and go. They need a small desk in the room, besides the bed there is only one chair. Breakfast is extremely limited and very little seating in the dining area.Nice small heated pool but landscaping around pool is in bad need of clean up; lots of weeds Aside from the negatives, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I typically comment on things that either fail to meet or exceed the ratings I see on Trip Advisor (or Hotels.com). In this case, I was disappointed. First the things I liked – actual log cabins fairly new and clean, with very big and comfortable beds and pillows – always a good thing. But as the night wore on, we noticed a very persistent and disagreeable sewer odor in the room. It was difficult to keep the room cool with no continuous fan capability. Breakfast was continental and rather minimal. Front desk personnel didn’t seem too motivated. The grounds consisted of taking an acre, level it off, and drop a bunch of log cabins on it with no esthetic considerations (like grass, foliage). While I understand that a 4.7 rating in a larger city and Cody, Wyoming are two different things, Cowboy Village was nevertheless a disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnJurik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
0.2 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#4 of 29 in Cody
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cody Cowboy Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cody Cowboy Village

Address: 203 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cody
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cody
#3 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range: $117 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cody Cowboy Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located at the east entrance to Yellowstone park. Facility has the "best Beds in the West." These beds are triple sheeted with very high thread count linens. Limited dog rooms, must call ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Cody Cowboy Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cody Cowboy Village Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing