We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cute, clean motor court” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cody Cowboy Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cody Cowboy Village
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Cute, clean motor court”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great throwback to the old motor court days. The log cabin units seperated by parking areas, reminds me of the original motor courts from the early days of travel. These units are very clean and well maintained. They appear to be fairly new or recently renovated. The staff was friendly and very helpful, and the breakfast was more than adequate. I prefer exterior door motels on roadtrips and staying at locally owned places. We would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uncle_stu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    262
    53
    15
    8
See reviews for
432
502
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Cody was our one night stop on the way to South Dakota Black Hills from Yellowstone. Booked on line and all my queries were answered promptly by e-mails. The hotel is situated about 5-10 minutes drive from the main town but very close to the Nite Rodeo and there are plenty of eating options nearby. This is actually a complex of log cabins just off the highway so do not expect a great deal of scenery, peace and seclusion. But saying so there was hardly any traffic noise and we slept peacefully.
The cabins are arranged in a crescentic fashion around the main reception. The cabins at the back facing the open field have more privacy. There are quite a few cabins but it did not feel too crowded. Plenty of parking right next to my cabin.
There is a large hot tub ( not a pool) in the middle of the complex. You may feel uneasy about being overlooked. I didn't go in for a soak but our kids loved it. Little bunnies hopping around the tub !!!
Petra at the reception was very helpful and check in and check out were smooth.
Breakfast is included and served in the reception area. It's not something to get excited about but the simple and ample food was totally adequate to start our day without going out looking for food.
Now the best bit of CCV is the log cabin. Looked like an authentic log cabin and no fake panelling. Our 2 bed room cabin/Luxury suite was very spacious!! What a change after spending 10 nights in Xanterra properties in Yellowstone !!
The bed was a proper king size one and amazingly comfortable. We loved the décor, tastefully done with Cowboy artefacts. I fell in love with the cowboy lamp and actually went looking for it in Cody but sadly it was sold out. The kids had plenty of spaces in the living area and a TV of their own. Bathroom was reasonable size with decent shower pressure and plenty of towels. A small fridge and a microwave were very handy.
A small porch with hanging flowers and couple of chairs outside to socialise.
I felt the description and photos of the suites in CCV website were genuine and not hyped up.

We walked to the Rodeo and the Old Town trail. Didn't go for the Country Music Song and Dinner but some of the other guests bought the combo tickets at a reduced price from Petra and they seemed to be happy afterwards.
Petra recommended some shops in the town and we spent several hours there. Buffalo Bill museum is within a few minutes drive and is certainly worth seeing.

This was a perfect stopover for us out of Yellowstone. Yes this was more of a motel rather than a grand hotel but it was excellent value for money and I won't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Supratik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice, new, clean Log cabin, great stop on our way to Yellowstone. Log Cabins in the middle of an old west town, what more could you ask for. Be sure to check out the Buffalo Bill Cody Museum. Will stay again next time we are going that way. The cabin was very quiet and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Was one of our best stay. To live in a blockhouse was incredible. Very, very clean. Service was great. Got always helpful recommendations and we were home there.

Breakfast was also good.

Thank you so much for the good time.
Karin and Felix

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed there in June 2012. Friendly staff and very accomodating. Cabin was very clean, decorated wonderfully, and just fun! Continental breakfast had a great selection and was fresh.We will definately be back....

Room Tip: Highly recommend any of the cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent 2 nights here & had a great stay. We had a table & chairs on our porch where we were enjoying a bottle of wine & the hostess on duty brought us 2 glass wine glasses to use rather than the plastic ones we were using. She was very friendly & helped us with advise on dinner options downtown. It was convenient being able to unpack the car right by the door. A unique place to stay. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont MI
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The rooms are clean, well furnished, attrative; the beds are firm and comfortable; the staff is courteous; the untis are reasonably private; the shower was high and strong, the TV was tiny; I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 26 in Cody
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sunset Inn
2.0 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#11 of 26 in Cody
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cody Cowboy Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cody Cowboy Village

Property: Cody Cowboy Village
Address: 203 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cody
#3 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cody Cowboy Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located at the east entrance to Yellowstone park. Facility has the "best Beds in the West." These beds are triple sheeted with very high thread count linens. Limited dog rooms, must call ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cody Cowboy Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cody Cowboy Village Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing