We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weak management...............”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cody Cowboy Village
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

When we arrived our room was not ready. When they checked us in they stuck us all the way in the back for no reason. We completely unpacked and went to museum for the day. When we got to room, we were tired and exhausted. Then we found soiled dirty sheets, the whole area outside smelled like a sewer treatment plant was close by and they said they had WI-FI, but i absolutely could not get any Internet access. Called them and they gave me excuses about bad weather, said i could change rooms. Who wants to move all their stuff after unpacking and walking all day...... Paid in the morning and checked out, had to wait for receipt cause their computer was not working properly.... Conclusion ??????? Weak management, would never recommend this place. Should have paid the extra money and gone to Holiday Inn, it was'nt that much more...............A. H. Long Beach, Ca :-( :-( :-(

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Airbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

- Really (really!!) clean rooms, clean bedding, clean bathroom
- Front desk staff is super helpful and knowledgable, the girl gave us a map of Yellowstone with all of her recommendations of stuff to make sure to see, and we followed this map the entire time...had a great time in the park and saw everything we needed to, thanks to her guidance.
(also followed her suggestion to eat dinner at The Proud Cut, located right on the main drag. She didn't steer us wrong there, either. Best meal of the *entire* trip at The Proud Cut)
- I really liked that you can park right in front of your porch, made loading and unloading so easy
- Quiet, although we did hear some kind of animal bellowing during the night (sounded like a moose or elk or something?) but it wasn't a big deal.
- Still on the main road, but not located right in the thick of the tourist strip, I thought the location was great, because it was easy to find your way back and to get in and out.
- Breakfast was basic, exactly what you would expect.
I would definitely stay here again, just longer next time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aces W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I wish we had more time to spend in Cody and I highly recommend this place! Clean, Nice big room and very friendly, helpful staff. Very homey and beautiful view of the mountains. Breakfast is ok - nothing special - but everything else is worth the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

On April 29th we got a phone call from our dad saying he had a stroke we live in Washington so we packed our bags and left right away when we got to Idaho I called Petra the manager of Cody Cowboy Village and asked if we could stay there for the week. Cody Cowboy Village had not opened up yet for the season but she said YES I will give you a room. When we arrived we got to stay in the same cabin we did in 2010 and we loved it.We love this place so much it is our home away from home. Petra is the best Manager I have ever met she is awesome and will take care of you no matter what. Sense we live 15 hours away with not so healthy parents she told us to call her anytime we want and she will make sure there is a room for us. Petra you are the BEST :) the room are spotless, the beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept in and we love the shower. We will be coming back to Wyoming in October and we come back 2 times a year and we will ALWAYS stay here. Thank you so much Petra.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lowe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Rooms were immaculate, nicely decorated and the staff is great. Petra, the manager, is the best I have ever met. She is definitely there to make sure your stay is a good experience. Helped unload our bags, explained our suite and we were also there when Matthew F had his tire changed. I believe the season was just opening but the windows of the log cabin sparkled inside and out and this is a very dry and dusty area. One hour drive to Yellowstone and just on the edge of Cody.
You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: We had a cabin in the rear and did upgrade to a suite that we really enjoyed. They do allow pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fable16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This place is clean, comfortable and spacious. The best part was the staff – when I got a flat tire, they helped me change it and directed me to the tire spot in town to have my original tire fixed and ready to go. I was back on the road in less than an hour. You can’t find service like that in most place. This is a must stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

It was a very quiet night at the Cody Cowboy. The lof cabin rooms are duplexes. I was hoping for a neighbor to see how noise carried through logs, but it was a slow night there. The bed and pilows were comfortable and the shower hot. The only drawbacks were no computer desk to go with the free WiFi and lack of a safe. The free breakfast was a bit sparse with hardboiled eggs and some muffins. No toast!

Petra the manager was very helpful and full of advice on local attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,076 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cody Cowboy Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cody Cowboy Village

Address: 203 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cody
#3 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range: $117 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cody Cowboy Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located at the east entrance to Yellowstone park. Facility has the "best Beds in the West." These beds are triple sheeted with very high thread count linens. Limited dog rooms, must call ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cody Cowboy Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cody Cowboy Village Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing