We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class western style Mexican food”

Zapata's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 88 Restaurants in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kerrville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First class western style Mexican food”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We visited Zapata's in Cody, Wy because the big steak houses on weekend were chock full. And it was a great boon! Fresh salsa made daily. We had chili rellenos made with Hatch chilis and flautas with chicken. All first class! Service was great, too. For a Texan, was like being a bit home on a long trip.

Helpful?
Thank Conner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    124
    74
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The food was very good but as a first timer to this restaurant it was confusing as to how to order and from whom

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank callbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Food was great here, but both my companions ordered blended margaritas with salt on the rim, but both got salty margaritas.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMDew1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service & salsa; Average food”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The service was excellent. Our young server was attentive and professional. The salsa was yummy!

Our meals were just okay. My husband and I both ordered burritos - I had chicken with a red sauce and my husband had beef with the sour cream sauce. My husband said the ground beef in his was kinda clumpy and the burrito didn't have much taste. My chicken burrito didn't have much flavor and the red sauce was very salty.

The kids had hard shell tacos and felt the same way.

We wouldn't recommend it for the food...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chino1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the South
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Salsa was the highlight”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stopped in for lunch with a group of 5 on the way home from Yellowstone. Overall a pretty good meal, though we had spotty service and the meal was a bit overpriced.

The star of the meal was the chips and salsa. Zapatas salsa is terrific, and in fact, we bought a pint to bring home. I had the 1886 Huevos Rancheros...no complaints...very good. Wife had the fajita salad which was decent but nothing special. Kids shared the nachos, which are huge, but again good but not remarkable.

Service was slow and our waiter made a mess of our order. The nachos were supposed to be cheese only, but he added pulled beef (which I paid for without complaint). Tacos were to be ground beef...again pulled beef. We order 1 nacho and 2 tacos....we got 2 nachos and 1 taco. He corrected that but seemed defensive and told us, "but I wrote down 2 nachos right here" referring to his order pad. I suspect this is a problem with this particular waiter and probably is not indicative of service at Zapatas overall.

Lunch ticket for family of 5, all drinking water with no appetizers, was approx. $50.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 515272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zapata's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zapata's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing