We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for breakfast”
Review of The Irma

The Irma
Ranked #7 of 87 Restaurants in Cody
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A "don't miss" for breakfast in all the Rocky Mountains. Lots of locals eat here and you'll get a wonderful eye full.

The food is terrific and the buffet will fill any appetite.

Dinner and lunch are well worth it too! We visit Cody several times a year for many years and simply will not miss the Irma!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justabite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    346
    181
    69
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Check out this hotel”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

After seeing Buffalo Bill's museum we went there to look around and get a bite to eat. What a cool historical place all in itself.The animal mounts throughout are really cool.Food was good service was friendly and also good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smithracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Endless cup of coffee”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

You cannot visit Cody without stopping at the Irma. Get a real taste of this Western town and walk where Buffalo Bill walked!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DocBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Eh! Cool room, middling food, service was just okay. The place is very period-correct, but in the end, it's a restaurant serving decent food...no more.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foodie47Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Ho-hum experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Okay, I understand all the history behind the Irma so I was quite disappointed when we dined there. Unfortunately, we opted for the buffet and had a choice of fish (dry and lukewarm), curry (borderline tasteless), noodle (ho-hum), meatballs (okay) and an assortment of salads and vegies.
The few waiting staff were brusque, no doubt because of the demands from all the tourists - like us - dining there.
At one point, a woman collapsed near the toilets and none of the staff responded. Eventually, my wife - a nurse - and another diner helped comfort her, checking all the vital signs as she seemed quite "out of it".
At their insistence, a staff member finally rang for an ambulance as the woman slowly came around.
The Irma's surrounds are fairly impressive; it has retained its historic flavour but the ambience could be so much better with more memorabilia, better dining furniture - something that provides the wow factor, that this IS a place which is an important part of western folklore.
It just looks tired and I fear this complacency will cost the owners in the long run. Cody is a terrific town - great shops, great restaurants and an amazing museum.
The Irma has so much potential but needs a revamp - desperately.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelonghaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Irma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing