We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to visit! ”
Review of Bill Cody Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bill Cody Ranch
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My family and I have stayed at Bill Cody ranch on many separate occasions. We enjoy it so much we keep going back year after year. The trails up the canyon are beautiful. Whether you hike up it or enjoy a two hour horseback ride it is breathtaking and totally worth doing. The owners and staff are nice and friendly and always make us feel welcome. S'mores around the campfire are always fun, and hikes up the mountain behind the lodge are fun and worth the view. It is a pleasure to stay here and I highly recommend it for families!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Bill Cody Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

We thought we'd never find the place - its a long way out of Cody (26 miles)! I think I had misunderstood and expected to stay on a working ranch.

The cabins are very nicely appointed and comfortable. The chamber maids did a rather perfunctory job - we stayed 2 nights but the waste bins were never emptied.

We ate in the main lodge the first night (our package was 2 nights, 1 breakfast, 1 dinner, 1 trail ride). Be warned, there's no laundry - one of the reviews had implied there was, but its a reciprocal arrangement with a joint 3 miles down the road!

Dinner and breakfast were ok, nothing sparkling but there's not much else around unless you are going into town.

We did a 4 hour trail ride one day, which was great fun if quite hard for beginning riders! Jordan took us out, and handled our concerns and incompetencies very skilfully. We drove to the trailhead, then rode along the trail by the river and had lunch. At several points we saw deer. It was a very enjoyable day.

They have a cookout and campfire if the weather is kind but it was very drizzly when we were there (the trail ride was nearly cancelled and had to start late) so we didn't see that.

We also went into town for the Rodeo in Cody, which is well worth seeing. But wrap up warm - those metal seats strike cold!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our family of four (mom, dad, two older teenagers) thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff and owners were wonderful and made us feel right at home. We arrived late our first night, but loved the sound of the creek and the wind rustling around us, and we opened our screened windows and enjoyed the fresh air. No internet except at the main sitting area, and no cell reception, which the kids had to adjust to. But then we found ourselves walking around, playing checkers, and reading our books. Very peaceful. We booked the 2 hour horseback ride and it was really great. The wranglers were knowledgeable and friendly, and even loaned us a few cowboy hats! That night we drove into Cody for dinner and the rodeo, and we were sorry that we missed the nightly bonfire and s'mores at the ranch, that sounded like fun. The draw here is the beauty of the setting nestled inside the trees, the fresh air, the friendly folks, and the creek ambling down the middle of the property. The cabins are clean and cozy - a bit rustic but not shabby. The only thing to mention is that when I read "ranch" I pictured wide open spaces - and it's absolutely beautiful, but it's a smaller area than I anticipated. That wasn't really a negative for me, it just surprised me a bit, but I adjusted quickly and feel in love with the place. Oh, and there is also a game room which we didn't see until we were checking out, and that would have been fun for the kids. We liked the location too, which allowed us to visit Cody, but also only be about 30 miles from the east entrance to Yellowstone where we headed after we checked out. Final thought - many of the ranches only take visitors for a week - Bill Cody had a two day minimum, which gave us a nice western cabin and horseback experience, but we visited other areas during our 8-day stay. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We booked the two bedroom cabin; it worked well for our family of four. There is a door on one bedro...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We only stopped in for a 2 hour trail ride. The staff and guides were wonderful and the calm, level headed, and sure footed horses were fantastic! We are somewhat experienced riders with horses at home so sometimes it's hard to really enjoy "deadhead trail horses" but we really enjoyed this, and there is no better way to see those views than on horseback! The well groomed trails were anything but boring! We traveled by motorhome, but wished we would have stayed a night or two here, it looks like a fun place. We absolutely recommend this place to anyone staying in the area or just passing through!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank MandyS2979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I could not have asked for a more fun filled, enjoyable vacation than at Bill Cody Ranch. Facilities were outstanding and staff at ranch were very helpful and friendly. There is a lot of family fun activities at the ranch and within 30 min. driving time. We will definitely be returning. Only complaint I have is that we did not allow ourselves more time there. Thanks again Bill Cody Ranch for an amazing time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed 3 days at Bill Cody Ranch and already thinking about planning return trip. Horseback ride was spectacular - not just a boring ride on flat ground. You went through streams, up mountains, and the sites were fantastic. ALL the staff was warm and friendly. They all seem genuinely happy to be working there. Location is perfect to Cody and Yellowstone. The food was good. The beds were INCREDIBLE! Overall, the best lodging and activities on our 9 day stay in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We wanted to experience a real ranch after visiting Yellowstone Park and this was the place. The lodge itself originally belonged to Bill Cody (hence the name). It is in a very beautiful setting nestled in the woods between two high ridges with a stream that runs down to the Shoshone River. Our cabin (the Buckeroo B) was very spacious with a king sized bed, large bathroom, large closet, and large covered porch...all right next to the nightly campfire. The staff were incredible. Jenny was so friendly and efficient with handling our accommodations. All the girls in the kitchen and dining room were great. We really enjoyed our happy hour in the small Saddlesore Saloon each afternoon with Amelia - what a charmer! And our four hour horse back ride into the mountains was a blast with Chantz as our guide. And all this is held together by the owners - Ronnie and Toni Stuard, who are very friendly and take what they do there very seriously. It really shows - well done!!

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlieF51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
24.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
22.5 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#4 of 29 in Cody
1,060 reviews
25.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
24.0 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
22.6 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bill Cody Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bill Cody Ranch

Address: 2604 Yellowstone Hwy, Cody, WY 82414
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cody
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Hotel Class:3 star — Bill Cody Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest ranch located in the Shoshone National Forest between Cody, WY and the East Entrance of Yellowstone. Lodging, trail Rides, and dining available to guests and to the public. Est. 1925. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bill Cody Ranch Hotel Cody
Bill Cody Hotel
Bill Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing