We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$158
$144
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$215
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Bear Motel(Cody)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cody Legacy Inn(Cody)(Great Value!)
$149
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Valley Inn(Wapiti)(Great Value!)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Western Rose Motel(Cody)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$235
$209
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
73
31
10
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
31
10
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast entrancenice cabinfront porchpleasant staywould definitely stay here againvisiting yellowstonedebbierendezvousmileshorsesparktrailbearsrideadorable
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 144 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

When we first checked in, the realization of no cell service, no tv was scary! Ultimately, so wonderful to be able to unplug and enjoy our surroundings and each other. The cabins were nice and comfortable. The dining room was awesome both for breakfast and dinner ( they also packed us a sack lunch for our day in the park). Will come back.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MissyMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

We offer that true vacation away from the busy life-styles out there. We love to care for our guests. Thanks for coming, and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

We had spent a long day at Yellowstone fighting traffic and crowds and hadn't yet booked a place. From 4 pm on, we had no cell service. We were also traveling with our dog. We left the park around 8 pm and saw a lodge with a vacancy sign. They were full after all but called places down the road until they found a place with one cabin left. It was small but adorable. Original log cabin built by Wild Bill Cody's niece. Her husband knew the land was fed by a fresh spring, still in use. Quaint, cute and comfortable. Shower is great (no low flow here). No cell service, internet or TV. Sat on the deck and watched the stars. Food in the dining room was good, basic homemade fare (get the steak!) and staff very helpful and friendly. Famous for their cinnamon rolls although we didn't have. Full-service bar open until 10. Owner lives and works on the property.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Bobbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

We are a hidden treasure with the beauty of peace and quiet away from the crowds. Glad you enjoyed us and hope our paths meet again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

This was a great place to stay! We did not make lodging plans before our trip and luckily they had 1 cabin available. It was pricier than we were hoping, but I think it was reasonable for prices we found for cabins in the area and we got the great cabin experience we wanted. The cabin was too large for just 3 of us, but it was the only thing available in the area without having to drive much further away from Yellowstone. It also had a restaurant that was good. They even stayed open for us after they closed because we arrived as they were closing and we would have had to drive who knows how far to get dinner. Very friendly staff! We stayed in the Wrangler Cabin. It had lots of sleeping room and would be great for a family to stay in. Only downside, there is no cell phone service in the area. They have a landline that can be used if necessary. It would have been nice to have some internet because we didn't have phone service all day, but it is also nice to unplug.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

We do have a computer available for that basic internetting needed. Yes we get to unplug from the hassle of the outside world and are able to offer a true vacation. Hope to see you again sometime - thanks for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Our stay was amazing! The staff greeted us with smiles upon our arrival! The wind whistling through the quaking aspens, the quiet retreat, the fishing and eating our catch, the "Goldilocks and 3 bears" style cabin was a dream...rustic and just perfect! This east entrance to the park is most impressive and being 11 miles from that entrance was amazing. I miss it already! We stayed in #12, the homesteader.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Thanks for the kind words. We do have a special place here. Glad we could share it. Hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Lobo and the cottage was clean and quant. There was not much to choose from because of location and minimal restaurants so we chose this lodge because they served dinner and breakfast. Upon arrival they were not serving dinner and the breakfast was continental but you still had to pay $8. There was no wifi, phone service, or electronics in the room (phone, tv, or microwave.). It would have been nice to know these things prior to arrival especially either the price of the room being fairly steep. With that being said, the staff was very friendly and the room was very clean and functional.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Sorry if we were not serving dinner when you got here - but I believe in taking care of my employees and they need time off too. The continental breakfast was a choice of a $6 or $8 choice depending on the food offering. We wanted to offer something for our guests, but allow employees time off. Otherwise we generally offer cold and hot breakfast items off the menu. Technology options are advertised as to our offerings, unless you are shopping off the road last minute and not checking/asking upon arrival when you are informed of our offerings. We supply our guests that true get-away from technology for that dream vacation. We take pride in caring for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews