We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Head Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$210
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
$171
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cody Legacy Inn(Cody)(Great Value!)
$168
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Yellowstone Valley Inn(Wapiti)(Great Value!)
$184
$164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Bear Motel(Cody)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Sunset Inn(Cody)(Great Value!)
$160
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$225
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$311
$263
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
73
29
10
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
29
10
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast entrancenice cabinstep back in timepleasant staywould definitely stay here againvisiting yellowstonedebbierendezvousmileshorsesparktrailridebearsporchadorable
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 142 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2015

We made a reservation request for this hotel for a one night stay in August. As we didn't get a confirmation, we cancelled the next day in the morning. We received a confirmation the same day we cancelled but in the evening. The hotel had charged the full amount of the deposit. After complaining by email, Debbie refunded part of the deposit but retained 50 dollars. We argued once more by email that we had cancelled the reservation before the booking was confirmed and requested a full refund of the deposit. We have been ignored and the hotel has retained 50 dollars of our money. We have had no replies from Debbie to our complaining emails except for the one telling us they were partly refunding the deposit they had taken. They have ignored all subsequent communication.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2015

My husband and I originally booked lodging at the property next door, but due to a family emergency that lodge was partially closed, so we chose to move to the Elephant Head Lodge. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Elephant Head Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. We were warmly welcomed by the owner who showed us our cabin prior to booking our stay. The log cabin was built in 1913, but was very clean, fresh, and cozy, although small.

The night we arrived we enjoyed an outstanding dinner in the restaurant. Interestingly, we ran into a woman a few nights after we left the lodge, who lives near the lodge, and said the Elephant Head Lodge Restaurant is her very favorite place to go out to dinner. No surprise! My husband and I will definitely be back to Yellowstone and will stay at the Elephant Head Lodge again.

The only disadvantage to this property is that they don't have horses available. The owner was very gracious to book a dinner ride for us at a neighboring ranch ,so we were able to enjoy the whole Wyoming experience! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2016

It is always a pleasure to share our hidden treasure of a location here at the Elephant Head Lodge. It was nice to meet you and hope our paths cross again some time. We like to help our guests have a wonderful stay while enjoying our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2015

We visited Elephant Head during our trip to Yellowstone. Our cabin was clean and cozy...nothing fancy but we wanted the cabin experience. The restaurant food was good...but very pricey compared to other lodges in the area. The staff was very friendly and willing to do whatever they could to make our stay fun and enjoyable. There's no cell service, but there was a telephone available for guest use. There isn't any Wi-Fi available to the guests, although there was a small computer we could use in the lodge. There just wasn't much to do. There was a small playground and games available in the lodge, but, in spite of what the brochure and signs advertised, there were no horses or trail riding at this lodge. So there really isn't much for young children to do. We enjoyed sitting at the bar and talking to the other guests and various staff members. However, the lodge is severely understaffed to be able to clean cabins, do maintenance work, operate a bar, and run a restaurant. Many times the person cleaning our cabin also served us our meals and helped prepare them. The staff turnover appeared to be high and this is not a sign that the business is thriving. Considering how much we paid for the cabin...and not having any extras except for lodging, it would seem that management could afford to hire more staff. Those working while we were there were doing an outstanding job, considering the circumstances. The cabin cleaners had to carry all their supplies up the fairly steep inclines as a cart would not be able to navigate through the ruts. (Other places we stayed had golf carts or "Gators" for the staff to use.) I was also quite uncomfortable, as a paying guest, to hear unnecessary criticism by the manager to members of the staff. This place has so much potential and I loved the cabins and personable and helpful staff. It's just fairly overpriced compared to other lodges in the area and the extras that they offer.

Room Tip: Was only in one small cabin which I found clean and cozy.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingSoul70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015

Really disappointed with this place. It looked good online, and it looks good when you drive up, but the cabins are not clean. Our cabin had dirt and dust from the floors to the windows to the counters and bathroom. A simple wipe down with a cleaner and rag would have corrected a lot of the issues, so it was apparent that housekeeping didn't spend much time in our cabin the last several weeks. My wife didn't want to stay but it was so late we didn't have a choice. The owner personally walked us into our cabin and showed us every area of it. We couldn't believe that she felt OK presenting renters a cabin in that condition. And we paid over $350 a night to stay there. We were OK with the quilts on the beds having holes and the mattresses having lumps, but the dust and mold were what bothered us. There are just too many other options around that area to choose a place like this. We wanted a rustic cabin in the woods, This wasn't just rustic. It was unsanitary. I can't believe that anyone would give Elephant Head Lodge a positive review unless it was just too dark inside their cabin to see well!

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

EHL is not your typical manicured, sterile, corporate vision of a nice place to stay. If you want that place, stay in the city. If you want beautiful scenery, warm, friendly people, then come stay at EHL. We've been there 3 times in the past 4 years and will keep going. The charm of the place, not to mention the beauty of the Shoshone National Forest makes this place a fantastic place for a getaway. Debbie is a gracious hostess and her and her staff are friendly and attentive.

We've seen deer, bison and bears either in the front yard or right across the street!

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07EHL, Owner at Elephant Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2016

Yes, this is a place to come if you want away from the city and a busy life-style, and want to enjoy what the area has to offer. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews