We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personable and homey”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elephant Head Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Cody B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We arrived during the Gunbarrel Range fire which was intimidating to us, but Debbie and Kevin (owners) put us at cautious ease. It was obvious that this was simply one of the outdoor challenges that people who live on the range in this area deal with all the time. Like the possibility of tornadoes in Kansas, earthquakes in California, or hurricanes in Florida, you prepare and go on with your life. We felt very secure, that Debbie and Kevin were "on top of it" and continually informed.
Our cabin was quaint, rustic, tiny, and very comfortable and clean. There was wonderful cross ventilation and breezes. The only negative could have been the water pressure in the shower, but you don't go to a rustic cabin for a spa experience.
We had breakfast and 2 dinners at the lodge. All the food was delicious. The waitstaff is young, earnest, and very knowledgable about the area.
The location was nearly as close to the east gate of Yellowstone as you can be without being in the park itself. We drove in each day, and to Grand Teton Park, and returned to our cabin each night. We found it to be a very convenient location.
It was wonderful to meet and deal with the very genuine staff and owners who could not have been more helpful or accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liam_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 141 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2008

The Elephant Head Lodge was amazing. It is set in the Absaroka Mountains which were absolutely beautiful, despite the forest fire not to far away. The owners were gracious hosts, and more than willing to sit down for a chat. The cabin we stayed in was exactly what we were looking for: a rustic, historic, cozy log cabin in the mountains. The steaks were delicious, and cooked to perfection. Overall, a great place that we will be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famdamilyspokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

One of the worst hotel experiences of my life. Filthy does not begin to cover it. when we checked in our bathroom had hair in the tub, yuck! I informed the innkeeper who seemed to question this by saying "I cleaned the room myself". I guess her definition of clean is different than the dictionary's.

The towels were threadbare and stained. the drapes were musty and dingy. The floors were dusty. The sheets were stained and the bedspreads were about 50 years old.

We were also victims of the no-kitchen policy due to some electrical problem.

We left early and had to pay for the night we did not use. What a rip-off. Stay away...

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Clan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed here last month thinking it would be convenient to have an on site restuarant and our kids were looking forward to the evening campfires. When we got there,we were informed the kitchen was closed due to "electrical problems" and they were unwilling to build a campfire due to "can't find a staff member." They said we could'nt do it ourselves because of liability. Also, the sheets were stained. We were definatley disappointed in our visit.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelerOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We enjoyed our stay here, the stable chalet was a very nice accommodation for a family of six and could have slept an additional two others. The kitchen was well stocked and although the refrigerator did not work, we were immediately provided with a small replacement. The Chalet was in great shape, looked new and clean.

My children enjoyed visiting and watching the horses right outside our rooms. If you do not want to watch horses this is not the cabin for you. We also had a nice trail ride one morning and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The water pressure was great and we had enough hot water for all of us to take showers, no problem. We had power the entire time, but they had no power before we came and their dinning room was closed for our entire stay. We would have rated this higher if we had the dinning room every night. We were directed to drive to the Shoshone Lodge for meals and we really enjoyed the meals and hospitality there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mugspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Date: July 26,2008 I had booked this place myself I felt I had done my homework, on where to stay when going to visit Yellowstone. It looked nice, clean,horseback riding, and dining on the property. My husband,myself and our  25 year old daughter, we had booked  cabin#2, the Chisolm.We arrived to complete mayhem, no one in the office to greet new guests, some guy sitting in what should be the bar area but looks like their living room/ workout room. Finally the daughter comes to the counter  greets us and takes us to show us our cabin. It was so tiny!!! We couldn't have brought our luggage in from the car unless we set it one the bed with us!  The room smelled like mildew, dark and damp.  This was one of the darkest , ugly hotel rooms I,ve seen! The beautiful scenery outside but you couldn't see it. We went back into the lounge areaafter all this traveling to have a cold drink and ask about what time the restaurant opened  this is the oddest setup for a lounge area. it looks like their living room, storage bins stacked all over workout equipment in the middle of the floor  and a bar with  4 stools. We were then told the dining room is closed down because of electric problems, so we should just eat down the road a few miles. We were pretty upset you pay $165.00 per night for accomadations that they don't even have. We decided to ask for our money back and find somewhere else to stay. We got most of our money back after my husband told Debbie it was false advertising they aren't providing cozy, modern cabins or on premise dining. After some disagrement Debbie gave us almost all of our money back, There were another couple right behind us trying to get their money back also.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judiann26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We booked the Derringer cabin for 2 nights not realizing it was located just a few feet from the kitchen, had no parking space close by and was probably the least desirable cabin on the property yet cost the same as the others it's size. We had to park on the edge of hill away from the cabin, were awakened by boxes being torn down and garbage pick up first night, again awakened by the staff members talking right outside the door the next morning. We knew the cabin was small from the picture, but the mirrors were all set for people 4 ft tall. The horses had not yet been conditioned for riding, the grounds had not been mowed (weeds were very high) so you could not walk the grounds or sit in the gazebo and the morning we checked out the power went out in our cabin and all they offered were excuses. The only good thing to say is that the on-property restaraunt had very friendly people (both the cook and staff) and the homemade bread was delicious. This place doesnt have a lot to offer if you are just looking for a place to stay to visit the park. The web site makes it seem much more than it is.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okbyila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
36.9 mi away
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
1.6 mi away
Creekside Lodge at Yellowstone
35.3 mi away
K3 Guest Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35 mi away
Big Bear Motel
Big Bear Motel
#13 of 29 in Cody
602 reviews
19.4 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Inn
41.3 mi away
Monster Lake Ranch
Monster Lake Ranch
#13 of 30 in Cody
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Head Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Head Lodge

Address: 1170 N Fork Hwy, 1170 North Fork Hwy, Cody, WY 82414-7879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cody
Price Range: $137 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Head Lodge is a small AAA log-cabin mountain resort located just 11.7 miles East of Yellowstone National Park and 40 miles west of Cody, WY. The lodge and most of our cabins are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It gets its name from a rock formation overlooking it. The Lodge, Restaurant, and the "Trapper" cabin were built in 1910 by Buffalo Bill Cody's niece, Josephine Thurston, and her husband Harry W. Thurston. Harry chose the site for its dependable water for early travelers to Yellowstone - and for trappers and Indians. Our small lodge is a wonderful base for touring the Yellowstone National Park, Cody, and the Shoshone National Forest. It is a great place for horseback riding, relaxing, fishing, hiking, and viewing wildlife, as well as good homecooked meals, with homemade bread, soups, and desserts, as well as famous homemade cinnamon rolls. Cabin rates vary depending on size (house 2-8 people per cabin)& accommodations (some with kitchenettes). High season rates Memorial-Labor Day $153-356/night. Low season rates May & September until early October $137-320/night. All with bath(s) & non-smoking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elephant Head Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing