We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quiet, Comfy, and Guarded by a Bear!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Bear Motel
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Cody
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet, Comfy, and Guarded by a Bear!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

After exploring Yellowstone all day, I really just wanted to go to sleep! And that is exactly what I got to do. A very nice staff member checked me in, directed me to my room (with it's cute bear decor) and I slept like a baby. Comfortable bed, hot shower, microwave in the room, very reasonable price. Yes, there is even a huge bear out front (fake, of course) to guard visitors (and show them the way to the motel). I had breakfast across the street the next morning at the suggestion of the motel staff, and it was quite good. Right on the freeway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
We have added more attraction to our place with many photo opts 5 carved baers 2 very large Buffaloes one white the other brown a very large rearing horse come snap a few Bill Big Bear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    194
    110
    32
    28
See reviews for
159
179
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We chose this motel because there are very few hotels in Cody that take a dog. I was very disappointed. The reviews on TA were so positive that I expected more. I guess the people who did those reviews are used to staying in motels of this type. Everything was very clean, the staff was helpful and friendly but the room was very dated and old feeling. And the guy who took our phone reservation messed up so we didn't get the king bed that we asked for. I have been spoiled by hotels that have more to offer for the same price. And considering that there was just coffee in the morning we must have been mostly paying for the location near Yellowstone.

Room Tip: The motel is right on the hwy but all the rooms should be quiet at night as there won't be anyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust_3351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks for the review its great to here from our guests, I have a hard time understanding complaints about our rates when there come with a reservation that they booked online we are a seasonal town with a 100 day season, great area to stay when touring yellowstone Bill and Jody Holly owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in the four bedroom modular that is about 6 miles away from the main facility. It was very roomy and nice as my husband and I were staying with three of my husbands relatives who are all single/widowed. My husband and I had our own room and everyone else had their own rooms so that was nice for a good price. It was a quite large, older property on 2 acres, but very clean with 2 nice large bathrooms.
My biggest complaint is that the window coverings were mismatched and very sheer. My 84 year old mother in law needed nap and it was afternoon so it was too sunny and light for her to nap. Also if planning a longer stay the bedrooms are sparsely furnished with no dressers-just basically a bed and bedside table. The living and dining rooms were well furnished very comfortable, and the beds were clean and comfortable. Also there was a satellite TV. We weren't there to watch TV, but after staying in Yellowstone for 3 nights with no TV we had not had a chance to watch any news, sports etc...so it was nice.
The best thing about being out there was the night sky, it was amazing for someone from Florida. I had not been to that area in many years and forgot how beautiful and different it is. We have great beaches but don't get to see the big sky that bright. One other thing was the kitchen did not have any paper towels, or dish towels but that wasn't a big deal for one night. Also would be nice to have some hangers in the closets. Overall I would recommend it for a family and/or group and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Come to Cody see the gun fight go to the rodeo swim in our big heated pool always working to make our place better. Our future son in law is making a big difference with helping us out Great Job Jake Bill and Jody owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here during our trip to Wyoming.

The young man in charge was very helpful. He gave us a quiet room on the upstairs floor and advised us not to use the swimming pool as it was full of dust!

The room was clean (nice student cleaner) and we were offered a small fridge after I'd said how surprised I was that no fridge was in the room. The walls were thin and the sounds from both sides could easily be heard. However, with earplugs, we had little problem. There was no facility for breakfast, but we knew this before booking.

I'd class it slightly above "average": nowhere near as nice as most of the other motels we stayed in during our 3 week holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor, well back from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hello it was great having join our family for a night, We do have some wind at times although we do keep our heated pool up and running the whole summer for all to enjoy largest one outdoor in Cody Wy with Bear Mural on bottom getting ridin by a cowboy local artist. Thanks Bill Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nothing great about the room , we stayed one night first floor. The door was really hard to open and lock. Smell and flies everywhere in the room. It's just too bad that Cody cowboy village next to this place was fully booked. They have much better review and I don't know why people said this place is good. Maybe the guy gave us worst room. I should mentioned that I read good review from Tripadvisor so I booked here. I mentioned that when we stayed in Jackson Hole, WY and they gave me a very nice room and very good customer services.

Room Tip: Tell the guy that you read good review in tripadvisor, he may give you a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebitlittlemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hey Thanks for the review its is true that Cody Wy does have a fly season late in the year sept to be exact till the first good frost that includes the hotel motels resturants and the $200.00 a night lodging we do our best to kept it at bay its a shame some times guests leave the doors open visiting there friendly neighbors and dont tell us thanks again Bill Holly Owner Big Bear Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

After a great 2 nights in Yellowstone we stopped here. A ground floor room, one level so no overhead noise. Wi fi was patchy, but TV , bed and shower were all good. A very effective fridge too! Used great laundry service for $4, ice was free ( re previous comment) except for giant bags! Good coffee in the morning, we slept well with a/ c off and enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneCowdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thanks for the review we always enjoy or guests and the feedback as well hope to see ya in the Yellowstone area again soon Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The room we had at the second floor was pretty big and partly new , but we found stains both on the blankets and the towels. There was no fridge or microwave available. The use of the ice machine was with fee. On the other hand, the staff was really friendly and helpful, the place is really nice and very close to the rodeo arena. I think that the motel is not that bad but the room rates are really too high for what you get.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Silvia_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Well I guess sometimes are guest confused and just won't ask, as this is the case the ice signs states to fill you cooler for a fee yes this is a service we offer that works great when persons will just read. [All ice for room is free] If there was a problem with a linen I would have liked to know on finding to make your stay as pleasurable as we can. The Big Bear is our life and take it very serious to get complaints of this small magnitude is rough. Bill @ the Big Bear Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#4 of 27 in Cody
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#11 of 27 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Property: Big Bear Motel
Address: 139 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8723
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 60 rooms on property along with 2 Vacation rentals located in Cody. We are walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo (just a 5 minute walk away). The Old Trail Town is just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Center of The West is located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were completely renovated in recent years with multiple bed setups including 2 Handicap rooms and 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings . Each of our rooms have cable television, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. Come experience the west at the best place to stay in Cody, Big Bear Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing