We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but basic”
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Bear Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Like the others have said. It was clean but very basic. We moved to this motel after having an awful experience at MOOSE CREEK LODGE and SUITES. The folks here were very friendly and helpful, price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

We are basic we will shout that from the porch, but I wish you checked couple more boxes maybe next time Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 597 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

When we arrived I was told we had been upgraded to the larger 'town home' .... Had to drive BACK thru town and sure enough, we were in a larger place ... Right behind Albertsons. Nothing fancy at all. Clean. Kids seemed to enjoy it. Bed was way too soft and both bedrooms were upstairs and floors creaked big time. Would not recommend to friends or family.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

I hope if we get a rating this low they needed more amenities we offer a service to upgrade guests that don't want to be here just thanks again Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our stay at the Big Bear Motel was okay. The room was very clean and so-so comfortable, but that was it. The room was fine if you just want a place to sleep, just don't expect all the bells and whistles because they are not there! Obviously this is a motel, so there wasn't any shampoo, hairdryers, etc., so be prepared with your own if you plan to stay there. This is just a very basic, old room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNBelle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us, Jody and I take your vacation stay very serious, we enjoy every guest at every level. All of our rooms have full bathroom tubs with showers, full cable tv with free HBO wifi, coffee in office in the morning, biggest outdoor pool in Cody, 32 of our rooms have been built within the last 2 years and our other 28 have been updated. We do offer hairdryers for the room coffee makers for the room and extra pillows for the traveler who need them. See ya soon Bill and Jody Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We didn't have plans on where to stay when we got to Cody, but we'd read about this place and decided to give it a try. It's a place to sleep, what else can I say. The rooms are older and dated and a bit musty. Kind of bare-bones, if you will. But for about $50 a night, it's a super price in Cody! The guy at the front desk let us look at the room before deciding to take it. They do not provide shampoo but they do provide soap.

Our room had both a fridge and microwave. The fridge was great for cooling our drinks for the next day when we were going to be driving through Yellowstone. No breakfast, but the Our Place diner is right across the highway. Not wow, not bad, but a clean place to sleep at a cheap price. As others have said, it is far out from the city center - so if you plan to do a lot in Cody maybe it's not ideal.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have fridge and microwave - be sure to ask when you reserve and check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trav-Bug222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thanks for the review we love our Yellowstone travelers and hope everyone has a opportunity to see our first National park in there lifetime as we and many others can't get enough of the beauty that is within Bill and Jody owners Big Bear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Big Bear Motel has a definite feel of the old west. The room we were assigned was recently updated. We liked the cleanliness of our room, plenty of hot water, refrigerator, microwave, television and wifi. Wifi connections are provided, but are a bit sketchy. We like to have a strong signal for uploading photos and material to our 2 Moving the Chi web site, so we sacrificed a strong signal for a good night's rest in a comfortable room for a reasonable price.

Breakfast is not included, but I believe they offer coffee in the lobby (not a coffee drinker). We were told the Our Place restaurant across the street was the place for breakfast. We didn't try it, but the parking area was alway full.

This a motel with outdoor entrances to your room and has a dirt versus a paved parking area. Like I said to begin with, a feel of the old west. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2MTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Well I hope we are living up to what we are trying to do as clean friendly is what we are all about thanks Bill and Jody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean, seemed new or recently remodeled, excellent location. Decoration of the rooms could be better to achieve the lodge look they seem to want (must change or eliminate the bedspreads and the parrot pictures). We could walk to the rodeo. they have a show every night in Cody . Can't complain for $99,

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thanks for the nice review we always enjoy our guests from walks of life Bill and Jody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were driving out of Yellowstone (east entrance) and it was getting late. I found Big Bear on Trip Adviser and saw the good reviews, plus it is pet friendly! After ringing the doorbell (it was 11:30 pm) the manager promptly checked us in. We got a great rate. This motor court style motel reminded me of my childhood. Big u shaped lot with rooms where you pull your car right in front of your door. Large pool in the middle with a big bear statue in front. If you want a fancy place to stay go somewhere else. But if you want charming, quiet, clean, friendly and a good value, stay here! Let's keep the mom and pop owned properties in business!!!

Room Tip: We arrived too late to eat anywhere. The owner suggested going to Wal Mart, which is right down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Well this is alittle to nice but we can get used to it Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
2.5 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8723
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: $74 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 66 rooms on property along with 2 Vacation rentals located in Cody. We are walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo (just a 5 minute walk away). The Old Trail Town is just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Center of The West is located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were completely renovated in recent years with multiple bed setups including 2 Handicap rooms and 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings . Each of our rooms have cable television, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. Come experience the west at the best place to stay in Cody, Big Bear Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing