We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, exactlyt what we needed”
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Big Bear Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Big Bear for 3 night in January while Ice Climbing in the near by South Fork.
Stayed in a second story room with 2 queen beds. The room was clean and comfortable. Large enough for us to get our gear out and sorted, included a table and chairs, micro, and Mini fridge.

Check in was easy and we got some friendly advice on where to eat.

Recommend this place highly for those looking for a nice room at a good rate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riverpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

I give this guest a A+++++ it only makes sense to pay it forward Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Big Bear Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 586 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We loved the Big Bear Motel. The cabin was beatiful, big and completely furnished: TV, AC, fridge and coffee machine. Nice and clean bathroom, and a big swimming pool just outside the room.
The staff was helpful and gentle, suggesting us an excellent reataurant for dinner.
The motel is very close to the city centre, if you want tho see Buffalo Bill gunfire at Irma Hotel, and to the amazing Rodeo, an unforgettable american experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giovanni_Benassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

We are the RODEO capital of the world were else can you see a rodeo every night for the whole summer thats 6/1 to 8/31 what a deal Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We were on our way to the Yellowstone National Park and needed to stop to sleep. We drove for 8 hours and ready for some rest. We stopped at this hotel because it was affordable for $49/night. We got a king bed and it was ok. It wasn't super comfy but since we were tired, we couldn't really tell and we still got some good rest. The bathroom was clean but the towels were really thin. Out in the parking lot was a foul smell. We believed it was the nearby river/lake turning but it smelled like sewer. The smell never left. It was there when we checked in and was there when we checked out the following morning. Overall, we still had a nice stay and it served the purpose for a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHOW-ME-VACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Stop here, look in a room we have so many different types we love to show them off Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Loved this motel the owners and the location was excellent. Great value and pool if you want to relax. We walked to the rodeo and cassies only a few minutes walk. We walked down town but for some it could be a long walk 3 miles (we noticed not too many people walk in the USA). Lovely large room with big bed and fridge in room, great air con, large flatscreen tv. Would recommend to stay here, we spent 3 nights and loved every minute of it.
Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for large bed with fridge in room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MemphisCaulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

What a nice review thanks for the time Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We got a cabin in the newly renevated area on the end which was excellent - great size bedroom with flatscreen TV and large bed. We asked for a fridge and got this in the room, no problem - separate hall and bathroom.
The area is an excellent place to stay in Cody if you want to experience the rodeo and the old western saloon - Cassies which is just across the road and excellent for food. There is a breakfast cafe straight across the road with great menu and coffee for 25c!
Great owners in this motel and they house horses for the rodeo and we saw a few cowboys there too that were in the rodeo the night before.
We would recommend you to stay here, we spent 3 nights which was the longest stay of our 3 week journey. Great pool outside if you just want to relax. We walked to the nite rodeo and to Cassies only a few minutes. We walked down town but this may be a long walk for some it was aprox 3 miles.

Room Tip: Ask for larger bed with a fridge in the room in the new end.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MemphisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Come to Cody see the rodeo eat the best steak you have ever had at Cassies and come back again the next year it happens all the time Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here based on Trip advisor reviews. If you are budget minded this is great, but don't write picky reviews and cut this family run hotel down. They give you a clean bed and bath. They are a very friendly family. We checked in September, so our rate was $65. I closed my eyes and slept good and left for Yellowstone the next morning. The pool looked nice, but too cool for us to enjoy. We asked for a microwave and coffee pot and both were graciously delivered.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Well we think of our place as a great value for Cody as we only have a 100 day season thanks Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Cody can be quite expensive. This motel's room were quite reasonably priced in comparison. The rooms were nicely decorated western style and very clean. There were pegs for hanging clothes but not hangers, so you might want to bring a few of your own. If you are planning on visiting the Buffalo Bill Museum, it is just a 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thanks for the 4 stars we are striving for 5 so watch out Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
2.5 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8723
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: $94 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 66 rooms on property along with 2 Vacation rentals located in Cody. We are walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo (just a 5 minute walk away). The Old Trail Town is just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Center of The West is located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were completely renovated in recent years with multiple bed setups including 2 Handicap rooms and 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings . Each of our rooms have cable television, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. Come experience the west at the best place to stay in Cody, Big Bear Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing