We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a night.”
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Bear Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Traveling on a motorcycle. Would stay there again. Quick service. Good place to eat across the street. Seemed that all the rooms rented out for the night. Close to going into Yellowstone.
Saw that a church group also stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spots51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thanks for the review look forward when you come back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 597 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed on the second floor, which were the newest rooms. Very clean, but spartan. No phone, no fridge, no microwave, no coffee pot. None of which were a problem based on the money we saved compared to other Cody hotels. The location was great. We had breakfast across the street at a great little mom and pop place (cash only). The rodeo is so close you can hear it at night. The pool was clean and refreshing. I got the impression prices are negotiable if you arrive late in the evening and rooms are available. We received a AAA discount. While there another person asked about room rates and was quoted well above the AAA price. When he went to his car to check with the rest of his group, the clerk eventually followed and seemed to be working something out.

Bottom line, clean, quiet, safe, and cheap in a town where cheap is not usually available,

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor rooms. You will have to carry bags up steep stairs, but the rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Even with our 32 new rooms we figured out to keep the same low prices thanks Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile


We stayed in room 11 recently. The motel is a basic one, but one of the better priced ones in town. You can also do your laundry there for $4. We planned on going to a rodeo but a storm blew in. We ended up staying in the room and watching the Olympics. A larger television would have been nice.

I would stay there again if i make it back to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRIZZLY98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

You really need two days to see what you need to see come for the museum and the rodeo lots of other things as well we even have our own wild mustang herd here check them out Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were looking for a pet friendly place in Cody for a few nights. Most places in cody were well over $150 a night in July. The room was clean but very outdated, the carpet was hard to tell if if was clean or not it was very old. It looked like there were some newer room but they must put the pets in the old parts. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Towerdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

And we don't state that we are a high end motel I hope he can find a place that fits there needs next time Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Numerous rooms. Clean. Towels need to be replaced. Too far to walk to center of town. Had dinner at Cassie's which is walking distance. Food was good and great atmosphere. Breakfast across the street was very good and convenient. Chairs outside each room. Nice pool. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DW54016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Come again and join the fun at the Big Bear free pony ride in cart with this mention Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Was told about this hotel from a desk clerk at another hotel, and when we pulled up, we thought it was going to be a bad experience, but it was far from it! We were told to ask for a room with a view of the canyon and the clerk gladly gave it to us! The view was amazing! Horses were right near our room and that was a great taste of home! The pool was great and my daughter was absolutely amazed with the baby rabbits running around. Only 5 minutes from thw "valley" leading to yellowstone and very quiet! Will stay here on our way out of Yellowstone!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmackvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

So are some of our guests, kept up the good work out there

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here after spending the day in Yellowstone. We made the reservation in advance and we should be arriving before 6PM. Because of the scenic byway Chief Joseph we did not make it in time but that was not a problem. We got a double queen room, very spacious, basic and clean. We had some fun about the shower curtain with the moose and bear. The guy at the reception told us that this rooms were opened in 2011. We had dinner in Cody (not so great by the way) but the atmosphere of the charming town is great. You certainly should see it. Cowboys everywhere!
Back at the hotel we sat outside in the great Adirondack chairs and had a drink with a view of the Yellowstone Mountains.

Room Tip: we had a room on the second floor, so no floors above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thanks for the kind words hope you can make it again soon Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
2.5 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8723
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: $74 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 66 rooms on property along with 2 Vacation rentals located in Cody. We are walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo (just a 5 minute walk away). The Old Trail Town is just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Center of The West is located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were completely renovated in recent years with multiple bed setups including 2 Handicap rooms and 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings . Each of our rooms have cable television, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. Come experience the west at the best place to stay in Cody, Big Bear Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing