We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

Museum of the Plains Indian
Ranked #7 of 56 things to do in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Well done, with taste and compassion for the Native American! Learned quite a few things about how the Indians lived!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitetrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    28
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Museum of Plains Indians”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was some of the best displays of Indian culture that I think I've ever saw. Beautifully done and thoughtfully presented from content to color to lighting. Everyone should see this!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Kentucky
Level Contributor
200 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great information and great display of Indian Artifacts”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is located at the Wild Bill Cody museum it covers the Plains Indians, along with Yellowstone, Wild Bill Cody, Firearms and so much more. All of it was great and our Government did the Indians so wrong. We owe so much to our Native Americans.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jmnteddyLakeCity_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was part of the Buffalo Bill complex and where I spent the most time. The exhibits were beautiful and touched on the culture of the Plains Indians. It was also poignant with the changes that were forced on them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanD3722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Indian museum”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great history lesson on how the west was actually acquired. Had a large amount of history that I had forgotten or was never taught that really makes you think.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Plains Indian also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Plains Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing