We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was an exellent representation of Plains Indians”

Museum of the Plains Indian
Ranked #8 of 57 things to do in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montrose, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This was an exellent representation of Plains Indians”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

All of the display items were fabulous and we learned a lot. It is sad what we did to the Indians but the museum was nicely done and beautiful artifacts.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    28
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A really impressive museum!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Northern Plains tribes such as the Lakota, Crow, Arapaho, Shoshone, Cheyenne are the primary focus of the museum. The displays and artifacts tell the story of the lives of the Plains Indians, their traditions, cultures, and how the artifacts fit into their daily lives. This is the best museum on the Plains Indians I have ever seen. You won't be disappointed, unless of course you don't stop in.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“superb exhibit”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The museum was so well laid out with fantastic collections of bead work , war bonnets,art work etc. A very informative and visually pleasing museum.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best I have seen so far”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

the only reason i didn't rate excellent, was that i wanted less roominess in this area and more pieces. However, that said, it was, hands down, the best representation of the plains Indians I have ever seen, including east coast BIG museums. Everything was honest, raw and to my wife, heart-wrenching. As I said, there is more the museum has not on display due to making the museum "feel" more spacious which annoys me. I would have loved to see as many head dresses of each tribe as possible.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank too_stubborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri, United States
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wow, fantastic place!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

This museum has a breath taking display of crafts of the planes Indians. Very many beautiful and interesting things on display. It sure brought out the boy in me. I was dreaming of adopted pony racking across the planes chasing after the heard of buffalo!

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Plains Indian also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Plains Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing