We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True family vacation”
Review of 7D Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
7D Ranch
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True family vacation”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

First time at 7D ranch and it was incredible. The kids program (we have 4 kids - 8,6,4 and 9 months) was fantastic (They have babysitting for 9month old). Each day they were led on an adventure on and off the property. For the adults, you can take a casual horse back ride up mountains to stunning views, hike steep vertical to mountain lakes rarely visited or descend into canyons to fish idyllic mountain streams with large cut-throat and rainbow trout. Each day begins and ends with an intimate family-style meal where we shared stories and planned for the next day.
All made possible by a casual yet professional staff that aims to customize each day to your liking.
Hope to be back for many more years!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
119
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cockeysville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were a family of 14, and everyone of us had the time of our lives.The 7d is located in the Sunlight Basin, a truly beautiful spot.The ranch is run by the Domenick family, and they make sure that everyones needs are met during their stay. Riding, incredible fishing and invigorating hikes.The staff is so friendly and truly cares about making your stay an unforgettable experience.We all want to return to this wonderful spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family and I, a party of 10, ranging in ages from 7 to 74, went on a five day pack trip up Dead Indian Creek in July 2012. The excursion was organized by the 7D Ranch. We camped beside the creek, nearly 10 miles to the main road to Cody Wyoming and conducted day trip on horse and mule back from our camp site. Our excursions on horseback took us to 8,000 feet. During our stay, we did not see another visitor to the national park and forest area, nor did we spot a trace of plastic or paper. We were in the most beautiful wilderness any of us had ever witnessed. 7D is amazing. The wranglers of whom we had four accompany us and the horses and mules which we rode and which carried our camping equipment were among the finest Western animals I have ridden and I have been on horseback regularly over the past 60 years. They were perfect for young children, five of whom were members of our party. The wranglers lead by Carol, were experts in training the young riders and were careful with us throughout the trip. There were no accidents -- only pleasure. The food was delicious and plentiful, even though it all had to be packed in. Our tents, bedding and campsite furniture were extremely comfortable and in top condition. The wranglers turned into our friends and filled the children with tales of hunts at high altitude and adventures in the Rockies. Each day was a new delight and adventure. When we departed all of us shed tears. I came away deeply impressed with the efficiency of 7D and the kindness of all the members of its team. The Dominick family has given many people great joy over the past decades. None had as a good time as my family and I did. Tales of our adventures are currently making the rounds of Paris, Edinburgh, Denver and New York. We would return anytime and would recommend enthusiastically the 7D to anyone looking for the best of adventures on horseback in America's most beautiful forests and mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The 7D is located in one of the most beautiful, sun filled valleys we've ever seen. Spectacular scenery surrounds the old, totally authentic ranch. Owned by the Domenick family for the past three generations, it is full of wonderful family history and is expertly managed by a welcoming, attentive and caring staff. Staff and guests interact and by the end of one week we felt we had made wonderful friends. Fresh, healthy, delicious food is served family style both indoors and outside. It's a very laid back, relaxed atmosphere with terrific 'service'. The Domenicks have thought of everything: used cowboy boots of all sizes and old cowboy hats are offered in case guests need them. My husband even found a pair of fishing shoes to use while at the ranch. Guests are allowed to use the washing machines and dryers which means you can come with very few clothes. Our one room log cabin with its screened porch was charming, the queen bed comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. Had it been cooler we would have lit our wood burning stove. Horseback riding is on excellent horses with guests assigned their own horse for the week. The riding trails go through spectacular countryside, each ride being more exciting and beautiful than the one before! Good horseback instruction is available to all ages; clearly safety is a high priority at the 7D. There is a daily children's riding program which our grandchildren loved. Hiking for every level of expertise is available; fishing right on the ranch property is very good and the fishing guides know the just where to find the fish. There are so many activities that it is impossible to do everything in one week. Our grandchildren loved the sense of independence and adventure at the ranch. They swam in the creek, experienced the Wikiup (sweat lodge) at night, rode horseback to a cook out breakfast, enjoyed line dancing and pingpong in the rec room and were introduced to skeet shooting. There is no TV and children did not seem to be glued to hand held internet devices! Too much to do and learn and they enjoyed meeting the other kids and playing with all the ranch dogs.
We all loved this wonderful ranch experience and will surely return one day....the sooner the better!

Room Tip: Call Andrea Domenick and talk to her about the accommodations. None of the cabins has A/C and I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Sunlight Basin has to be one of the most gorgeous spots in Wyoming. The 7D is nestled deep in the valley, surrounded by a beautiful, relaxing vista of mountains. Lodging is well-maintained and very comfortable. Many activities to choose from: riding, fishing, hiking, etc. The fishing in particular is easily accessible (walking distance) and varied (experienced guides will take you out to more challenging spots offering larger fish). There is a distinct family atmosphere and by the end of your time there, you will have gotten to know all the other guests quite well. The Dominick's management style is excellent and can be felt at all levels of interaction with the friendly and capable staff. Highly, highly recommended for anyone who wants an unforgettable dude ranch experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

As all of the other reviews have said, the 7D really is an amazing place. The managers and staff are brilliant and really make you feel welcome and at home, the scenery is stunning, and the food is phenomenal. The whole family were in tears when we had to say goodbye, and we are already in the process of booking up a cabin for 2013. This was our family's first ranch holiday, and we can definitely say that it will not be our last. Highly highly reccommend the 7D!

Room Tip: We stayed in Antler and 2nd Twin, both had their own unique charm. Whichever cabin you book, you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I travel frequently to beach resorts, but nothing compares to the 7D Ranch for a fantastic family setting. The kids were cared for and treated like royalty. They have activities for all ages to enjoy. The staff at 7D Ranch go out of their way to customize each family. The ranch surrounded by high mountains is so beautiful and the staff caters to your activities of interest. The food was family style and terrific. I would strongly recommend 7D Ranch to any family looking for a relaxing vacation away from the busy life. Fishing, hiking, horseback riding, relaxing, games, and memories.

Room Tip: The cabins give you a majestic view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
28.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
28.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
22.6 mi away
Creekside Lodge at Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
27.5 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
19.0 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7D Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7D Ranch

Property: 7D Ranch
Address: 7D Ranch Ln, Box 100, Cody, WY 82414-9657
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
7d Ranch Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing