We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sunlight basin bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 7D Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
7D Ranch
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
hood river
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sunlight basin bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

What a place, what a trip- such an amazing vacation. the staff at the 7D was just great- we loved our stay. They took good care of us- from the meals, to the fun activities, the riding, the accommodation. Couldn't have asked for a better experience! Can't wait to come back! We are hooked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lib t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Little did we know when my husband and I reached the summit of Dead Indian Pass that we were about to embark on one of the finest vacations we have ever experienced. Upon descending into Sunlight Basin and arriving at the 7D Ranch we were greeted everywhere by friendly wranglers, staff, dogs, and horses! From the cabin, which was charming and comfy both inside and outside, to the fabulous meals, we were pleased with everything and were eager to begin each day anew. We rode horses as often as we chose and never rode the same trail twice. We were truly entertained by stories from wranglers who led each trail ride with confidence and understanding of different riding levels. Fishing, hiking, the Cody Rodeo finals, a day at Yellowstone all rounded our our stay. The 7D is unforgettable!!

Room Tip: All cabins have anything you might need as well as wood stoves for chilly nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DudetteConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The 7d is by far the best Ranch experience we have had in our 20 years of visiting wilderness and horseback riding Ranches.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We visited the ranch with our 4 children Ages 5-18 in August 2011. Only one of us had significant experience as a rider but the wranglers matched us to an appropriate horse and we all felt comfortable riding. The trail rides were of varying length and had spectacular scenery. We went fly fishing, hiking and even sledding on a nearby mountain as well. Andrea and Meade were very accommodating hosts who wanted to make sure you were having a great experience tailored to your interests. We found the entire staff friendly and helpful. The accommodations were authentic but comfortable and the food was Very good too- they made special dishes for my daughter who is a vegetarian and my son who is a fussy eater. Overall, we had a great time and plan on going back in the future.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank redleg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

As the mother and planner of vacations for my family I will say this was by far the best family vacation we have ever taken. Reasons? 1. Mom gets a vacation too!!!! Our children were completely entertained the entire time. The kids wranglers are amazing and so fun. The ranch has pigs, goats, ranch dogs, horses, big lawns for fun games to make up, a creek for splashing around and "boat" races, and of course new friends to meet. But NO phones, video games (unless you bring them), or TV. 2. Relax, relax, relax!!!!! No stress at all. 3. Spectacular beauty all around you. 4. No thinking about meals!!!! 5. Wonderful hosts, wranglers, chefs....essentially everyone who works here is terrific! 6. Darling cabins to stay in. Comfortable and various sizes to fit your needs.
If you enjoy nature and horses...do yourself a favor and book this vacation for your family!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mammaplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is the perfect place to unplug and unwind and spend quality time with your family!

The staff was top notch, the meals were great and the ranch itself is situated in a beautiful, secluded area.

My 6-year old daughter loved the 7D and was on a horse every day of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carybran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

The 7D ranch is our family's favorite place to go- especially my kids. There is so much to tell you about the 7D it's a beautiful rustic family ranch now again run by desendants if the original Dewey Dominick family. Meade and Andrea Dominick have revitalized the traditions at the ranch after several years of non- family managers. The place is remote in the beautiful Sunlight Basin of Wyoming, the staff is fabulous and includes a return to former traditions at the ranch and a fabulous corral boss, Jeff. The kids wrangler, responsible for guiding children on the myriad trail rides around the ranch, Chelsea is fabulous. The other wranglers including Carol, Chris, Valerie, Josh and Chris Dominick were superb, and really know horses. As a result they are much more relaxed than the inexperienced wranglers of previous years. If you are looking for a chic spa resort, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for rustic comfort, campfires, s'mores, and a family atmosphere with warmth and love and lots of outdoor activities for you and your parents and your kids, look no further. This is the best guest ranch in Wyoming.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brrvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
27.5 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
28.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
28.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
22.6 mi away
Creekside Lodge at Yellowstone
28.5 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7D Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7D Ranch

Property: 7D Ranch
Address: 7D Ranch Ln, Box 100, Cody, WY 82414-9657
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
7d Ranch Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing