We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Locale and People”
Review of 7D Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
7D Ranch
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“World Class Locale and People”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We just finished our second stay at the 7D; one week in 2010 with extended family and a half week just now with two teen boys and one (male) adult. The 7D is a great destination with a high employee/guest ratio (about 1/1), deep area knowledge, excellent staff, and a willingness to fit activities (fly fishing, hiking, riding, skeet shooting, dancing, evenings with cowboy poets, trail brunch, or horseback expeditions) to visitor's preferences.

The property has been in the same family for 3 generations, and they have a deep knowledge of the place they live and work in. Management is willing to hire great local guides and talented wranglers to help you realize your Wyoming dream, and, more importantly, they will do what is needed to make each visit as amazing as possible.

While the tariff may seem high, I can guarantee that after a visit here you'll be thinking about how you can come back by again; incredible location, deep roots to the area, and dedicated, personable staff make the difference between a 'dud(e) ranch' and a fond family memory.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owenWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
119
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Groveland, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My Mom has always wanted to bring her grandkids to a dude ranch. So we researched Wyoming and Montana and found 7D. What a treasure! My Mom, my Husband our 3 daughters ages 11, 9 and 2. and my Brother and his daughter 11 had a great time! We really can't say enough about this wonderful place. The whole staff was very friendly, outgoing and very knowledgeable about the area. The cabins were rustic, clean and comfortable. The food delicious. The scenery spectacular. All the programs, horseriding, hiking, lawn games, campfires and fishing to name a few were great fun. You could do as much or as little as you wanted. The childrens program was great, The kids wranglers kept the kids busy and having fun. I also used the babysitting program a couple of times for my 2yr old and she didn't even know I was gone she loved it. On our way home the kids were already asking when are we going back. We will definitely go back to the 7d Ranch and highly recommend this ranch to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCJMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2011

One of the best vacations you could hope for. Small ranch, located in a beautiful setting, the Sunlight Basin. You are treated like a guest--even better than a valued customer. Great food, horses, scenery, and there is bike riding, skeet shooting, hiking, brunch rides and just about anything else you want. We can tell you there is a strong suction in the Sunlight which pulls you back year after year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobJaedicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We recently stayed at the 7D near Cody, Wyoming. It has a gorgeous setting, wonderful staff, and lots of fun things to do. It is a perfect blend of relaxation and enough activities to keep you as busy as you want to be. We loved having no cell phone or TV!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennismomAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

7D Ranch were extremely flexible to fit in with our tight schedule. We stayed for 3 nights with our 2 young children and were treated with excellent service. The food was well prepared, tasty and plentiful. The accomodation was comfortable clean and beautiful in a rustic way.
You cannot beat the atmosphere supplied by Nature in this area of Wyoming, and the views from Horseback are something to experience. We arrived just before lunch, they had a Wrangler waiting who gave us individual instructions then took us for our first ride. They had dedicated wranglers to teach and ride with our 6 & 11 year old beginner riders, which allowed us parents to go off on more challenging rides.
Each evening they put on entertainment, wether it was dancing or cowboy singing, and the stars at night were a sight to see with clear skies.
Thanks 7D, we wish we could come back next year but Australia is waiting for our return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edhill-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2011

June 22, 2011

We just completed another week’s stay with my youngest son, his wife and three children at the 7D Guest Ranch out of Cody, Wyoming.

This is the third set of grandkids we have taken there, and I have stayed there many times over approximately the last 10 years. It has a great setting in a historic atmosphere!

Meade and Andrea Dominick are the current managers of the family ranch, and we have become personal friends. I have horse-packed with them for several years, and sheep-hunted with Meade about 5 years ago getting a good Bighorn ram. Although we have been to a number of good guest ranches in Wyoming and Montana, this is one of the top ones. The 7D food is good, the staff is friendly and out-going, and in my opinion, has probably the best children’s program of any of the guest ranches that I am familiar with.

John F. Cross, Sr.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baker028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2011

July 2010. Parents (61 and 65) Kids (26 and 29). We had been talking about a horse pack trip for 15 years. Alexandra had been to the Sunlight Basin way back as a little kid and could still remember the scenery. So we connected with 7D (Meade and Andrea Dominick). They designed our own trip, with the sports barely outnumbering the guides/wranglers 4-3. We spent a day of orientation (both heads and butts) at the ranch. Neat cabins with woodstoves. I could have stayed there for the whole week, but for the enticement of the adjoining North Absoroka Wilderness backcountry. Matched with mounts. "Give me Dopey, the one with the automatic transmission and a built in stereo." Met the guides. "Why the .44s in shoulder holsters?" "To annoy the bears." (Actually it is hard to sneak up on a bear or anything else with 19 animals in train. We saw lots of bear sign, but no gaping jaws.) 5 nights in true wilderness, saw only one person, working trail maintenance. There is nothing like this backcountry anywhere else in the lower 48. Wildflowers, wild beasties (including bighorn sheep), and good weather. The ranch facilities, the food, the guides, and the scenery all spectacular. This ain't cheap, folks, you can lie on a beach somewhere for less, but it is remarkably reasonable for such a quality complex product. It produced memories of the best sort.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamAdvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cody hotels
27.5 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
28.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
22.6 mi away
Creekside Lodge at Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
27.5 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
19.0 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7D Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7D Ranch

Property: 7D Ranch
Address: 7D Ranch Ln, Box 100, Cody, WY 82414-9657
Location: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Cody
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
7d Ranch Hotel Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing